Profile: Andre Villeneuve

13

Can no longer log into site, can't register for support


Posted on 17 October 2018
20
Functionality
Encrypt worked well until now, but recently I updated the PHP version of my site to 7.1 and now I'm no longer to log in.
20
Ease of use
It worked well when it used to work, but no longer.
-1
Value for money
54

Good extension but greedy, shady business practices


Posted on 01 February 2017
90
Functionality
The extension works and offers good protection.
90
Ease of use
The extension is fairly straightforward to use
20
Support
Beware of shady business practices of this company: if you ask for a refund, even for a legitimate reason, they will charge a 10% fee.
60
Documentation
Difficult to log into site. Did not receive confirmation email after I created account and could not validate account or recover password.
12
Value for money
Policy of charging 10% fee of total price to process a refund is rapacious.
I used this to: Website protection
Owner's reply: Hello,

We're not sure how you came to the conclusion that our business practices are shady. Here's our Refund Policy, to which you've explicitly agreed to upon purchase:
https://www.rsjoomla.com/refund-policy.html
You've been our customer since 2011. These terms have been in place since then - we're guessing you wouldn't stay with a shady company for 6 years and we're pretty sure a shady company wouldn't show these charges upfront :)

As for your logging in troubles, as we've told you in the support system, you had 2 accounts: one that was active and another one that you've created in 2014. You've never activated that account.

RSFirewall! is without doubt a "must have" extension given the high number of attacks our customers are experiencing on a daily basis and our support team is ready and willing to help you with any issues, many times going above and beyond what's included in a traditional support subscription. It's how we differentiate ourselves from the competition.

It's a shame you've rated the "Support" part of our service just out of frustration concerning a refund request (which has been processed..) and didn't mention a thing about the times we've helped you.

Regards!
29

Causes lots of problems; breaks website


Posted on 19 November 2015
25
Ease of use
Complicated to use. Lots of options that are anything but intuitive.
50
Support
Developer provided help a few times but was unable to solve the problems.
40
Documentation
Complicated, not intuitive.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Trying to optimize site. Not sure why the reviews on this extension are so high as it has only caused problems on my website.
Owner's reply: "Not sure why the reviews on this extension are so high" Obviously everybody's experience was different from yours.

"Lots of options that are anything but intuitive." That is why there are six Automatic Settings that configure these settings for you automatically. In fact you are advised not to try and configure the granular settings manually unless you know what you are doing. They are actually hidden away in a collapsed section for this reason. You clearly have not read the documentation or instructions on how to use the plugin. That is why your experience is different from everyone else.

"Developer provided help a few times but was unable to solve the problems." I could find no support request from you. In any event, I have never received a support request that I was not able to resolve or indicate the reason for the trouble as long as the user provides the required information so I really doubt the veracity of this claim. Most support requests are due to improper use of the plugin or errors on the user's website.

"Documentation - Complicated, not intuitive." Well the other reviewers certainly don't agree so I don't think the problem here is the documentation.
50

Way too simple


Posted on 27 July 2015
50
Functionality
The extension doesn't offer the possibility to use the intro text as meta description; it skips it & goes straight to the 'read more' text.
100
Ease of use
It's certainly very easy to use.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: This lack of flexibility renders the extension of little value to me. A few extra basic options would make it much more useful.
40

Good extension but with a serious flaw


Posted on 31 August 2014
I used to love this extension, but recently a serious flaw has come to my attention: AidaNews is unable to create thumbnails for my articles as it is supposed to. Instead, it creates a generic thumbnail which it then stores in the cache for future use. It turns out that AidaNews is unable to read image files that have upper case characters. So I had to go through all my image files, change all the upper case letters to lower case, then go through all my articles and do the same, then go and delete all the cached thumbnails. Finally, after all this, the thumbnails appear properly. So be advised that the extension works well, but be prepared for headaches if your image file names have any capital letters in them!
20

Terrible: generates random, unpredictable results


Posted on 08 August 2014
I can't seem to get this plugin to work properly. It generates unpredictable results, seemingly resizing some images correctly while ignoring others, and rendering other images to a tiny size for no comprehensible reason.
Owner's reply: Unfortunately you were too lazy to look through the detailed documentation for the plugin. Your aggressive and demanding way of communicating on the support forum, as well as your unwillingness to provide the necessary information to solve the problem, do not leave me any chance to help you with the plugin.

0

40

Terrible extension: constant problems


Posted on 14 July 2014
10
Functionality
Constant problems with Hikashop: cart doesn't update, coupon doesn't apply, incompatible with cache, resulting in many angry customers.
20
Ease of use
Not particularly intuitive; a big learning curve.
80
Support
Support is usually responsive; but would be better to have a functional extension instead of constantly having to ask for help.
30
Documentation
Complicated and convoluted
60
Value for money
I used this to: Simple, small online shop selling downloadable files.
60

Very good but lacking in social platforms


Posted on 12 July 2014
Very nice extension but lacking in choice of social platforms. I personally would like to see a Blogger button. Some more icon formats would also be welcome.
No extensions found
No extensions found