Profile: GuiGuy

96

Exactly what was needed


Posted on 14 March 2019
100
Functionality
Very flexible, as it turned out. We have some specific needs to certain user groups. This extension accommodated them perfectly
100
Ease of use
Straight forward, although I neglected to set permissions on the categories. Once I was reminded about that it was seamless.
100
Support
Top notch. Very patient, helpful and quick to respond.
80
Documentation
Sufficient for my needs
100
Value for money
OK
I used this to: An industry association's website. We needed to have questions visible to "public" visitors, and the answers restricted to specific custom user groups. The extensions does that perfectly.
34

Sounds great, but couldn't get it to work


Posted on 09 March 2019
10
Functionality
Could not get it to work, due to issues on the instruction page
20
Ease of use
Simple enough to get through the basic installation, but integration could not be completed
60
Support
Github = PITA
80
Documentation
It's detailed enough but even after trying with different browsers I was unable to see or copy all of the required q-external-user php code
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Unable to get it going.
Owner's reply: Hi. Thanks for posting a review, even if it wasn't a good one. :-)

First thing to say is that this plugin was originally written for Q2A v1.7.x. I also submitted some changes to the Q2A core to allow native support for Joomla; these changes were incorporated in v1.8.0 of Q2A, so it is possible that you don't need the plugin at all if you are using an up-to-date version of Q2A.

The plugin does still work with 1.8, but obviously is less important. The key feature that the plugin is still useful for is mapping of Joomla access levels to Q2A. If you don't need this (ie if the defaults are sufficient), then you may not need the plugin at all.

If you're having trouble with the integration, I would suggest starting without the plugin, and get the native Q2A / Joomla integration working. That process is described in the Q2A documentation; if you have trouble with that, ask for support from Q2A. Once you've got that working, then add the plugin to get the additional features.
52

The makings of a great component!


Posted on 08 March 2019
60
Functionality
It seems fully featured, but is hampered by a number of non fatal bugs that make you restart from the component menu.
The rankings are PITA
80
Ease of use
yes. If it weren't for the bugs it'd be 5
60
Support
Untested -
60
Documentation
OK
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Still testing. Will probably use it if the bugs are fixed
Owner's reply: Without mentioning any error, without reporting in forum, without any mail to us you thought it correct to post a bad review for a free component. Wont you think of atleast giving a chance to correct error if any. I was expecting this review as some paid components are getting effected.
52

It did my head in


Posted on 16 December 2018
100
Functionality
Awesome. I only wish I could understand it
70
Ease of use
I'm not sure, but for best results I think you need to be a coding guru
80
Support
OK in the forums if you can talk and write at the level of an expert
10
Documentation
Fragmented. I found it impossible to find a meaningful glossary or getting started guide
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Sadly I had to give up. Every little thing I wanted to do require lots of searching. I would urge the developers to create a useful plain english getting started guide.
85

Ok, but.....


Posted on 31 August 2018
95
Functionality
Has a lot of features and functions, probably enough to meet most needs. Does a poor job of image rendering options.
50
Ease of use
Sort of OK. We struggled a bit against bugs, things not working, poor image editing/ rendering issues, serious update problems etc
95
Support
Quite good. Author responds promptly with solutions
95
Documentation
OK
90
Value for money
We're still thinking about that. It is priced at less than similar product alternatives but a lower prices sometimes suggest compromise.
I used this to: An specific industry business directory of some 500 entries, but uncertain whether we will stay with this product in the long run.
33

Pretty good, but....


Posted on 09 June 2018
80
Functionality
Probably has more functionality then I can see or work out
70
Ease of use
Probably would be easier with a getting started guide. I bought the extras that are supposed to make it easier to use but hasn't helped
10
Support
None that I can see other than the forum, but it won't send the registration email. No ticket system I can see for those of us that paid $
5
Documentation
It's an optional extra. Disappointing that there's not even a basic "getting started" guide for those who pay money.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: A website, but am now looking at another menu system that seems better documented and supported.
Owner's reply: Hi
just publish the module and it works. For the forum, it is opened to everyone and I have a contact page where you can find me directly if you have any problem.
It is a shame to see that you was not able to click on the contact page
CEd
45

It's OK but no drop down


Posted on 16 March 2018
65
Functionality
If you don't need a drop down menu it's OK
100
Ease of use
Seems OK if you only need a single row of buttons
57
Support
Forum only, AFAIK
5
Documentation
None I can find
-1
Value for money
I used this to: I dropped it. I was unable to get the drop down item to show. ll I got was a stupid horizontal scrollbar. I could not find any information or documentation to resolve the matter
39

Like the Big Mac, promises much, delivery is wanting..


Posted on 21 August 2017
20
Functionality
Seemed ok, but will only display two articles when there are many, and does not display articles from selected category, only those below.
91
Ease of use
Very intuitive. Well designed interface
10
Support
Awful; technical questions not answered in forums or pre sales. Cannot get clarification on tech matters when asking presale questions.
75
Documentation
Seems OK
-1
Value for money
I used this to: I don't. The free version seems to have flaws and I cannot get answers whether they are bugs or by design.
Owner's reply: The reviewer says:
***Seemed ok, but will only display two articles when there are many, and does not display articles from selected category, only those below.***

--- This is not true. The extension can display as many articles as the user wants, from any category, including parent or children categories.

The reviewer says:
***Support: Awful; technical questions not answered in forums or pre sales. Cannot get clarification on tech matters when asking presale questions.***

--- This is not true..
We never leave any request unanswered, even for this FREE extension. You can check that for yourself at:
https://www.minitek.gr/support/tickets/free-joomla-extensions/minitek-wall
95

Excellent extension


Posted on 11 February 2017
95
Functionality
Almost perfect. The only thing missing is that there are no user defined fields
90
Ease of use
There's a bit of a learning curve, but generally very comfortable for someone familiar with the Joomla backend.
100
Support
Excellent. I had an issue with a module due to an oversight on my part. Olivier sorted it out in no time.
90
Documentation
It's online and the pages are a bit "crowded", but it's workable.
100
Value for money
No argument. Worth every cent.
I used this to: We wanted a Business Directory derived from our existing Contacts table. This extension got us there in quick time.
Owner's reply: Thank you Alan for the review, I really appreciate it!
78

Great little plug in


Posted on 07 November 2016
100
Functionality
For what it is it is complete!
100
Ease of use
Too easy
100
Support
Never needed it
90
Documentation
OK. Better than some of the paid for stuff.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: Putting image galleries into articles.
DropEditor
Free

DropEditor

By JoomUnited
Editors
DropEditor brings to you and your users a unique experience in Joomla content edition. Whether you are an occasional or regular content redactor, DropEditor will save you a lot of time with unique inbuilt edition features. For example, it contains a column edition tool that let you create your own layout and using the template tool you can save and reuse it! You have also a really easy to use ima...
No extensions found