Profile: Paul Hicks


Superb utility

Posted on 29 April 2016
The "sliders" extension provides sliders, and the "tabs" extension provides tabs. The two can be mixed together in the same content item.
Ease of use
I found it extremely easy to use - even down to customizing the colours.
I haven't needed to resort to anything but the standard documentation, but am well impressed with that.
The documentation is laid out well, simple and clear to read and understand, and with plenty of examples.
Value for money
I used this to: I've just used this extension to provide sliders and tabs for a portfolio of work for a client. I am well impressed with the number of features provided in the standard (free) version, and the pro version offers some neat, additional touches for more "bells and whistles".

A Flexible Friend

Posted on 11 March 2014
I've tried several similar packages but jDownloads is far and away the most flexible and easily configurable of them all. The only place in which it falls down slightly is in the searching. The standard package offers a search on only the title and description.

A drawback of all these packages is that each file (download) item can only be referenced by a single category. It's true that you can create loads of categories and sub-categories, but each file can only belong to one of them at a time.

Fortunately, jDownloads allows you to use several other fields - and even create custom fields. With a little research and effort, I found that I was able to expand the search routines to cover as many fields as I wanted. This makes it - for me - by far the best of the other packages on offer.

The English language is slightly curious at points but, coming from a non-English developer, it's understandable and perfectly forgiveable.

It also relies fairly heavily on tables for display purposes, but there is easy access to the relevant templates and nothing to stop you substituting some decent CSS formats instead.

Overall, if you're looking for a really thorough and flexible component, I would strongly recommend that you start with this!

A disappointment

Posted on 11 March 2014
If this product was not a commercial one, my rating would be higher, but when I've had to pay out up front, I expect a little more from an application.

I have used some of the competitors (Remository, PhocaDownload, and jDownloads) but none of them really met the demands of a new site that I am working on. After reading through the description and favourable reviews of Skyline, I thought that it might be worth trying for $25.

When I first installed it and ran it, the software reported an error. It was nothing serious - a deprecated command in one of the licence functions. I was able to find and fix this myself, but it wasn't a great start.

Overall, this component doesn't really offer anything more than any of its free competitors and certainly didn't meet the needs of the site that I'm trying to produce. I would caution anyone thinking of paying good money for this to have a serious look at one of the other packages first.

It seems that the service provided by Skyline is pretty good. I haven't bothered with it because I was able to fix the problem myself, but if you're not familiar with PHP, it may be worth paying something to get help when something goes wrong.

However, I've always found the non-commercial suppliers to be very helpful when there are problems so, for most people, I'm afraid I really wouldn't recommend paying for this package.
Owner's reply: Hello,

First of all, thank you so much for using our Downloads Pro.
However, I don't know what feature and how our component can't meet your expectations.
You said you read the description before buying so you could surely know what it can do, compared to free components that you've used.
Therefore, if the component doesn't offer anything more and meet your needs, how can you decide to buy it?
It would help us a lot if you contact us and answer these questions.

Thank you!

Good Basic Download Component

Posted on 10 August 2007
If you're not looking for anything too sophisticated, this component will be ideal. It installs cleanly and works smoothly. Be aware, however, that there is no documentation with the package. The Remository home site has some useful FAQs that you should look at if you're having problems and there are some basic guidelines on setting things up.

The package as it came wasn't quite what I wanted but, after hunting through the code, I was able to customise it to more or less what I'm after. The code itself has some useful comments in it but finding the files you need to amend is not so easy if you're not an experienced user. I also found that no one seems to have cracked the complexities of the user permissions. There are several queries posted on the Forum but not so many answers.

But the bottom line is that this is a useful component if you want a simple, straightforward download facility. If you want more than that, then be prepared to pay for it!
No extensions found
No extensions found