Profile: Dean Beedell

Rather an essential tool


Posted on 27 October 2012
Well-written essential tool for your Joomla 1.5 site. Provides a level of security at the backend administrator, denying access to bots/hackers trying to identify your site. Allows you to easily change the name of the database tables denying hackers access. For these functions alone it receives an excellent five star rating.

Tricky to implement, good captcha


Posted on 27 October 2012
The negatives first. Security Images - Tricky to implement as it requires lots of core hacks. Each time you upgrade Joomla, those hacks need to reapplied with new hacks suited to the new Joomla version. The captcha may often not show due to template overrides so after all the installation work the captchas may still not show. The captcha is no longer available for the administrator page so you can only have captcha on login/registration and contacts. The backend is a bit hard to comprehend and Walter's English translations need some assistance from a natural English speaker. It is also not easy to make all 3rd party components accept captcha, each requiring specific hacks to code. Support is not available for the older versions for security images. Walter's website is as confusing as the component backend. The documentation is thorough though confusing at times with unresolved ambiguities. Walter's components and acoutrements seems a little chaotic sometimes.



You have to be brave to attempt to install this for all the above reasons, but if you make the attempt, the end result might well be exactly what you want.



Good points - Good and configurable captcha. Walter does his best to handle innumerable forum support requests. The joomla 1.0 version provides captcha on the administrator back end as well as the front. The product works. Walter is trying very hard to provide a product, documentation and a support level that is better than most.



If older versions were better supported and the back end of Joomla 1.5 was better protected I would give this component an Excellent.
Owner's reply: Thanks for your feedbacks

>The negatives first. Security Images - Tricky to implement as it requires lots of core hacks.
>Each time you upgrade Joomla, those hacks need to reapplied with new hacks suited to the new
>Joomla version. The captcha may often not show due to template overrides so after all the
>installation work the captchas may still not show.

Was true in Joomla 1.0 and Joomla 1.5 and not anymore starting with securityimages 6.0 (J1.6 and upward till J2.5)

>The captcha is no longer available for
>the administrator page so you can only have captcha on login/registration and contacts.

True starting with Joomla 1.5 and this is due the way Joomla CMS handle sessions.
In Joomla 1.6 and up all forms created with Joomla native JField will be protected without any code changes.

>The backend is a bit hard to comprehend and Walter's English translations need some assistance
>from a natural English speaker.

Yes that true I suppose you are still using joomla 1.0, securityimages 3.x is from 2004. I try now for other
components cedtag, cedthumbnails and cedsmugmug to have a nice and modern administrator backend panel.

>It is also not easy to make all 3rd party components accept captcha, each requiring specific hacks to code.

Yes and No.... there is an API in securityimages 3.x, 4.x and 5.x but in Joomla 1.0/1.5 there was no way to
define customs events to let me plug 3rd party code in other 3rd party components.

>Support is not available for the older versions for security images.

Since July 22nd 2009: Joomla 1.0 has reached end-of-life. And so has also support for securityimages 3.x, 4.x ended.
Since Marc 30th 2012: Joomla 1.5 has reached end-of-life. And so has also support for securityimages 5.x ended
-> I may solve security issues through but certainly do not improve the code anymore.

>Walter's website is as confusing as the component backend.

I did improve the situation thanks to cedtag and reorganize the menu "Joomla" by extensions. You can use my contact section to provide me some feedbacks.
I will invest some time in the comming days to improve even more

>The documentation is thorough though confusing at times with unresolved ambiguities. Walter's components and acoutrements seems a little chaotic sometimes.

I will work on it this week as well.

>You have to be brave to attempt to install this for all the above reasons, but if you make the attempt, the end result might well be exactly what you want.

Securityimages6 just require you to install a plugin (Joomla 1.6 to Joomla 2.5)

>Good points - Good and configurable captcha. Walter does his best to handle innumerable forum support requests.
>The joomla 1.0 version provides captcha on the administrator back end as well as the front. The product works.
>Walter is trying very hard to provide a product, documentation and a support level that is better than most.

>If older versions were better supported and the back end of Joomla 1.5 was better protected I would give this component an Excellent.
BTW consider using htaccess for the admin area, solving a captcha wont help a lot since there is now good tool to reverse engineer the captcha.

Good component but abused by Spammers


Posted on 19 September 2012
This component is getting a good rating and would be an excellent as I have used it for years on all my Joomla 1.0/Joostina sites without a problem but it drops a notch due to a problem. My server has been getting a bad reputation as human spammers have been using this extension to spam others.



It is partly been due to having this extension installed and the fact that most spammers these days are humans and not bots. It is not really the fault of this extension it is simply due to the success of online captchas which have successfully prevented a lot of auto bots spamming. All the spammers are using humans now as they can easily bypass the captcha. To abuse this component all each spammer has to do is add a few email addresses and press send, each email appears to come from your site. The component can be configured to only send a standard message but that rather defeats the point. This problem also affects standard Joomla content which has an "email this" icon enabled.

End Result: A good component abused by spammers.
Owner's reply: Personally I've never had the problem you seem to be experiencing and I do not believe it is as prevalent as you describe either.

Even though you gave us 4 out 5 Stars, thanks for using your valuable review to point out a problem that is completely out of our control and NOT specific to this component!

How exactly does one go about fooling 'humans' from spamming anyway? Do you actually have a solution to this problem? If you do, you would be a millionaire pretty darn quick!

I guess maybe the only answer is to have absolutely NO on-line forms what-so-ever, including NO email addresses - that way you are guaranteed to never be spammed (nor contacted by your customers)!!

Thanks again ;o)

Has the same problem as some other plugins


Posted on 24 August 2012
Testing out of the box - The plugin installed was enabled and immediately started generating og tags as I expected it to. Unfortunately it has the same problem as some other plugins in that it does not create the correct "meta property" tags, instead creating "meta name" tags. Not the best experience for an out-of-the-box test. Needs some changes to replace the appropriate text on a page "after render".

creates meta name tags instead of meta property tags


Posted on 24 August 2012
Testing out of the box and the plugin installed was enabled and immediately started generating og tags. Unfortunately it does not create the correct "meta property" tags, instead creating "meta name" tags. Not the best experience for an out-of-the-box test. Needs some changes to replace the appropriate text on a page after render.
Owner's reply: This is incorrect. The plugin creates "meta property og" tags, as per the Open Graph specifications.

Broke my site


Posted on 24 August 2012
Testing out of the box did not go well. Installed, enabled and my site died immediately due to a PHP error. Removed the plugin, site worked again. Not the best experience for an out-of-the-box test.

Not bad - does the job


Posted on 24 August 2012
The plugin is easy to configure and use. The version I had stopped working due to a change at Facebook where a spurious 'width' parameter stopped the thing from working altogether leaving an empty space. I blame Facebook for this, not the dev. I fixed this myself by removing the offending code. I tried the dev's site but it is a little impenetrable if you can't understand Greek, even the translate button still gives you a page full of Greek. If not for these two problems it would have had a 4 star rating.

won't work anymore


Posted on 17 August 2012
I've used this plugin for years with the old google maps API no problems whatsoever. Since the new version of the plugin and since the old google mapsAPI has been deprecated I find that getting this plugin and the Google API information together are just far too complicated. I tried and tried and failed miserably to get this plugin to do anything at all, no errors but nothing. I do NOT blame the developer, I blame Google. Mr. Reumer gets four stars for the way the plugin has worked over the years. Loses one star for the way it interfaces with the new google map API.

I have simply abandoned Google maps.
Owner's reply: Thanks for the compliment for my plugin. I am sorry that it is not working on your website and you find it too complicated.
Please ask support at my website so I can have a try to solve the problem and discuss how we can simplify the usage.

Reviewing out-of the box


Posted on 07 March 2012
Very configurable indeed, unfortunately a few tag modules I tested just showed nothing, this was one of them. Others worked fine on my site so my choice was made by which module worked out-of-the-box. I chose the simple tags or the old zaragoza cloud module in the end and not this one.
Owner's reply: As you say this is a configurable product.
It puzzles me that you would value items which gave you no choices. Why would you want something that only represents someone elses priorities.

Having said that the configuration options are fairly straight forward. As you youself say very configurable.

nice little captcha


Posted on 06 October 2011
It installs seamlessly and creates a good captcha, no more to say! It is good.
Advanced Module Manager
Free

Advanced Module Manager

By Regular Labs
Modules Management
Advanced Module Manager - control your modules the way it should be. Advanced Module Manager is an extension that changes the way your Module manager works. It adds a multitude of functions, like:     ★ Many publishing assignments for your modules!         You can control publishing modules by (ALL / ANY):             ☆ Menu Item             ☆ Homepage            ...
No extensions found