Profile: Big_Tom

5

Backend looks great but zero frontend usability in free part of the package


Posted on 08 August 2016
5
Functionality
Backend looks very much usable,
Zero frontend functionality in the free version
12
Ease of use
Very poor documentation, no clarification anywhere around what requires paid version
5
Support
Bad - not even all questions in the support forums are readable unless you pay them
6
Documentation
Poor - solely written for the paid version which does not help at all.
-1
Value for money
I used this to: testing the uninstall function of Joomla...
Owner's reply: Dear Tom,

you say: "Zero frontend functionality in the free version"
My answer: We were emailing about this issue: you thought there is only a backend of the OSG Seminar Manager and no possibility to show events at the frontend.
You asked me: "The free download only gives you the component to do the administration of the content and one cleanup plugin. There is no function (module) included to display any content on the website."
I answered that you have to handle the frontend view via Joomla menu, not via module and I sent you this link to our documentation:
http://sman.osg-gmbh.de/en/documentation/frontend-views.html
At the documentation is explained exactly how to show events at the frontend (with the "free" version).
Maybe you didn't look at this documentation? I think it is a misunderstanding of the functionality of our component. If you want you can try again and see, that there is no problem to have a frontend view.

You say: "Very poor documentation, no clarification anywhere around what requires paid version"
My answer: I emailed to you that there is no need for a premium membership to use the component. And only some additional modules and plugins are available with a membership, but a frontend support doesn't depend on a membership.


You say: "Bad - not even all questions in the support forums are readable unless you pay them"
My answer: That is right. We offer an user to user forum and a premium forum. The access to the premium forum is for premium members only. The reason is, that we guarantee a user support from our experts - and this is not for free. This is a benefit for premium members.

You say: "Documentation - Poor - solely written for the paid version which does not help at all."
My answer: This I do not understand. Our documentation is written for the free component. Only some little parts pertain to modules and plugins of the additional extensions for the OSG seminar Manager (available with premium membership).

I think there is a big misunderstanding of our component. Perhaps are the premium membership and it's benefits not to understand at first glance. This we will try to improve.
No extensions found
No extensions found