Profile: Tom

100

Super extension.


Posted on 04 January 2015
100
Functionality
It works right out of the box
100
Ease of use
Very easy to use
100
Support
Excellent support, Maverick is the man!
100
Documentation
100
Value for money
This extension is worth every penny paid for it.
I used this to: My dog website. See it in action here http://www.doggyhigh.com/ask-seann.html (Seann is the site co-owner )
100

Great slider


Posted on 02 July 2014
Great extension and excellent support. Had some problems at the beginning but the developer was kind enough to fix the minor code bugs and walk me thru the setup.



Recommended.
60

Install with caution


Posted on 02 March 2014
I have mixed feeling about this extension but I guess the good outweighs the bad. I have been using the paid version for some time now and it is very effective in preventing unwanted activity on your site. Where I am not happy with it is the fact that once it is messes up with your site when it comes to updating or moving your site to another server.
Owner's reply: Admin Tools never interferes in any way when you are updating your site. Don't forget that Joomla! Update, the component tasked with updating your site included in Joomla! 2.5 onwards, is actually the Joomla! updater Admin Tools used to have, something which we contributed to the Joomla! project. If you have troubles using Joomla! Update make sure that you have not manually removed the .htaccess Maker exception for the administrator/components/com_joomlaupdate/restore.php file we have put there by default. If you did, what you're experiencing is a self-inflicted problem.

As for moving your site to a different host, yes, there will be problems under two circumstances:

1. You are using the .htaccess Maker to generate a .htaccess file. Due to the way Apache (your webserver) works we have to use the hostname of your site. This is documented as the first thing to check in https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/troubleshooter/prbasicts.html

2. If you are using the administrator password protection. Again, due to the different ways Apache works across different platforms / servers the generated .htpasswd file may not be readable in the new server. This is documented in https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/admin-tools/admin-pw-protection.html

Both of these issues come from the way your web server (Apache) works. A solution is not up to us. All we can do is document the potential pitfall, which we have already done.

We'd appreciate it if you did ask for our support before filing a review. We could have explained as much and told you exactly what you need to do (or point you to the documentation pages with more thorough instructions).
100

Great menu module


Posted on 02 March 2014
I purchased this module and it has a small learning curve, but overall it's very useful and fuctions very well.
100

Love this shopping cart


Posted on 02 March 2014
Very good shopping cart solution. Have been usig the paid version for about 2 years now and i am very please with it.

Love it


Posted on 28 October 2011
Have been using this extension for years but never gave it a review. Recently paid for the subscription again and I just love this extension. Works so good!

Nice


Posted on 10 October 2011
This extension is not for novices, but having said that it is worth every penny. The amount of configuration options is unreal and almost every possible scenario that a membership site may encounter was thought of and address by the developers. I used it in the past when it was free and it had a few bugs, but now the paid version is worth every dollar and more.

Thank you for the excellent extension AEC.

Great Plugin


Posted on 22 May 2011
I have been using this plug in on several of my sites and it work exactly as described. I have it set up to "set nofollow if rel not specified" and it works like a charm.



thanks again Marco

Great Plugin


Posted on 22 May 2011
This plug-in is simple and it does what it claims. On one of my site people kept trying to exploit a vulnerability on Rokdownload ... I found out about it because of this extension.



thank you Marco

Good Idea ... but it does not work.


Posted on 27 February 2010
This is a good idea and but the component does not work, or if you get to install it it has too many bugs. I will suggest the developer invest more time developing this extension before its put out there as if it was working 100%... even if it has to go commercial due to the time investment... if it works and people need it ... people will buy it.
Akeeba Backup
Free

Akeeba Backup

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
Akeeba Backup Core is the most widely used open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server, making it ideal not only for backups but also for site transfers or even deploying sites to your clients' servers. Akeeba Backup creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all t...
Modules Anywhere
Free

Modules Anywhere

By Regular Labs
Coding & Scripts Integration
Modules Anywhere - place modules anywhere you can enter text. With Modules Anywhere you can include a single module or complete module positions anywhere in your site, including within 3rd party components and even within other modules. Why use Modules Anywhere, and not the {loadposition} plugin?     ★ It works anywhere, not only in articles. It even works in modules!     ★ You can load...
Accordion Menu
Paid download

Accordion Menu

By NEXTEND
Menu Systems
The Accordion Menu by Nextend is a user-friendly, highly customizable and easy to integrate solution to build your custom menus the way you want them. It gives you complete control over menu levels, colors, animation effects and more. All five themes comes with their own settings and preset skins that can be customized without any HTML or CSS knowledge. INCLUDED COMPONENT INTEGRATIONS Joomla 2....
Marco's SQL Injection
Free

Marco's SQL Injection

By marco maria leoni
Site Security
This plugin adds a simple but, in most cases, fondamental protection against SQL injection and LFI (local files inclusion) attacks. It checks data sent to Joomla and intercepts a lot of common exploits, saving your site from hackers. Filters requests in POST, GET, REQUEST and blocks SQL injection / LFI attempts. Notifies you by e-mail when a alert is generated. Protect also from unKnown 3rd Part...
Community Answers
Paid download

Community Answers

By corejoomla.com
Question & Answers
Community Answers fits greatly into any community discussion website, be it a question & answers, discussions, knowledge base or technical support system. With great features and performance, it perfectly compliments your community website. Key features: Mobile ready: Fully responsive design. Built on beautiful Bootstrap framework and full compatible with Joomla 3 UI. Bounty System: Your users...
Komento
Paid download

Komento

By stackideas
Articles comments
Komento is an advanced comment extension that allows your website visitors to comment on articles, blogs and product pages. Komento was one of the winners of the Community Choice Extensions in the JED in December 2012 because of its powerful and useful features. Komento is highly secured, lightweight and compatible with all Joomla versions and it is free to download. Why Komento? Instantly...
Community Builder
Free

Community Builder

By CB Team at Joomlapolis.com
Communities
Community Builder (CB) is an extremely flexible and robust social networking solution for Joomla. CB has a huge user base, a long history and a great future. Social websites go far beyond Facebook look-alikes and CB has literally hundreds of built-in features and can be extended with extra (free or commercial) add-ons from the CB Team and other parties that will help you realize your very own -...
sh404SEF
Paid download

sh404SEF

By Yannick Gaultier
SEF
We created sh404SEF® for Joomla with SEO in mind. sh404sef helps you improve your search engine rankings and get more traffic to your website. Satisfy many of the Google recommendations for search engine optimization with just a few clicks. sh404sef also includes many security features. sh404SEF® is the most popular and longest developed Joomla seo extension. We are dedicated, full-time Joomla...
Marco's noFollow
Free

Marco's noFollow

By marco maria leoni
SEO & Metadata
This plugin allows you to add "rel" and "target" attributes to all outgoing links in articles on your Joomla!, so you can avoid to disperse the Page Rank on the web by setting the attribute rel = "nofollow" on all outbound links, and you can keep visitors on your site by setting the target = "_blank" attribute. Configuration is very easy, simply select the action to be taken for the two attribute...
HikaShop
Free

HikaShop

By Hikari Software Team
Shopping Cart
HikaShop is a native E-Commerce extension for all versions of Joomla. It is built for simplicity and flexibility. HikaShop also has a wide range of marketing tools, but also powerful statistics displayable on your HikaShop dashboard to help you manage your store. It provides advanced taxes, zones, languages and currencies management for worldwide sales as well as advanced customization capabiliti...
Simple Image Gallery
Free

Simple Image Gallery

By JoomlaWorks
Galleries
Simple Image Gallery (by JoomlaWorks) is truly the simplest and most effective way to add image galleries into your Joomla content and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. WHY SIMPLE IMAGE GALLERY? Adding image galleries inside your Joomla articles, K2 items, Virtuemart/HikaShop products or any other component that supports "content" plugins is dead-simple. The plugin can...
K2
Free

K2

By JoomlaWorks
Content Construction
The powerful award-winning content extension for Joomla with more than 3 million downloads (and counting)! WHAT IS K2? K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base for...
eXtplorer
Free

eXtplorer

By Sören Eberhardt-Biermann
File Management
eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library. You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access. eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.9 and can also be used as a...
Kunena
Free

Kunena

By Kunena Team
Forum
Kunena is the leading Joomla forum component. Downloaded more than 8M times in 9 years, Kunena is the only forum/discussion solution for Joomla that is community driven - true open source - public self-help forums, GitHub and documentation Wiki. The most recent stable release, recommended for production websites running J! 3.9 , is Kunena 5.1.17 Details about Kunena 5.1 are contained in the rele...
VirtueMart
Free

VirtueMart

By VirtueMart Team
Shopping Cart
VirtueMart is a highly configurable and customizable multi-language shopping cart solution for Joomla 3.8 with a large number of additional extensions. Security Note: Everyone using a version below 3.2.14 should update to the latest version as soon as possible for security reasons. For details please read: https://virtuemart.net/news/489-virtuemart-3-2-14-security-release-and-enhanced-invoice-ha...
No extensions found