The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Admin Tools Professional ComponentModulePlugin

From the makers of Akeeba Backup Core/Professional and Admin Tools Core, this is the enhanced release of Admin Tools, available on a subscription basis. On top of what Admin Tools Core already offers, Admin Tools Professional has these exclusive features:
- Restrict administrator with a secret URL parameter
- Web Application Firewall to block common exploits (SQL injection, XSS, DFI, RFI, malicious user agent, CSRF/spam-bot protection, uploads scanner)
- Bad word filtering
- IP Whitelisting for the administrator section
- IP Blacklisting
- Geographic block (deny access to specific countries/continents)
- Modification of Generator meta tag and other sensitive HTTP headers
- Email on administrator login
- Block front-end Super Administrator log-in
- Block Super Administrator user modification
- Block extensions installation
- Block visual fingerprinting (tmpl, template and tp URL parameters)
- Integration of the Bad Behavior anti-spam library
- Project Honeypot IP blacklist integration
- Automatic IP blocking of repeat offenders
- Email notifications of all detected security issues
- URL redirections (exclusive support for query parameters!)
- Scheduled site maintenance operations

The software is GPL; buying a single subscription you can install it on as many sites as you want and keep it running even after your subscription expires, without encrypted code, domain limitations or other such nuisances.

Report Extension

 

 

2014-03-11
Reviews: 1
Akeeba products have saved me well over 1000 times what I paid for them, no exageration!

When I started developing sites back in 1996 my biggest concern was the user interface. Now, my biggest concerns are security related.

With so much work going into our sites it is disheartening, highly stressful and a huge waste of time when they are hacked or attacked. I can lose days of work getting things back in order.

Since using Akeeba Backup and Admin Tools Pro my life is SO much better.

Thank you to the develpment team for your hard work and very reasonable pricing. You are saints.

Tim
2014-03-02
Reviews: 16
I have mixed feeling about this extension but I guess the good outweighs the bad. I have been using the paid version for some time now and it is very effective in preventing unwanted activity on your site. Where I am not happy with it is the fact that once it is messes up with your site when it comes to updating or moving your site to another server.
Owner's reply

Admin Tools never interferes in any way when you are updating your site. Don't forget that Joomla! Update, the component tasked with updating your site included in Joomla! 2.5 onwards, is actually the Joomla! updater Admin Tools used to have, something which we contributed to the Joomla! project. If you have troubles using Joomla! Update make sure that you have not manually removed the .htaccess Maker exception for the administrator/components/com_joomlaupdate/restore.php file we have put there by default. If you did, what you're experiencing is a self-inflicted problem.

As for moving your site to a different host, yes, there will be problems under two circumstances:

1. You are using the .htaccess Maker to generate a .htaccess file. Due to the way Apache (your webserver) works we have to use the hostname of your site. This is documented as the first thing to check in https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/troubleshooter/prbasicts.html

2. If you are using the administrator password protection. Again, due to the different ways Apache works across different platforms / servers the generated .htpasswd file may not be readable in the new server. This is documented in https://www.akeebabackup.com/documentation/admin-tools/admin-pw-protection.html

Both of these issues come from the way your web server (Apache) works. A solution is not up to us. All we can do is document the potential pitfall, which we have already done.

We'd appreciate it if you did ask for our support before filing a review. We could have explained as much and told you exactly what you need to do (or point you to the documentation pages with more thorough instructions).

2014-02-27
Reviews: 1
I purchased the Admin Tools Professional, installed it on a Joomla 3.2. It works amazing, all kinds of great options and features that can be turned on/off as I need/want.

Really cool plugin, that works just as is promised.
2014-02-22
Reviews: 3
I have purchased this extension and let me tell you something: If you are facing a real hard attack, this tool is poor. One of my websites has been hacked, even thought I have GeoBlock activated and only people of my country can access it. Also, is very, very complicated to set up. The only help that you can get with the technical support is that they guide you to read again the documentation.
On the other hand, the google bots will be blocked. I asked for this issue and you know what? they told me that I had to put the bots IP's in the whilelist, no way!. By the way, there are a rude people over there.
Finally it has a lot of false positives, you don't know if your site has been accessed for a non dangerous spyder or an offender.
I purchased this tool in order to save some bucks, but I was fine with OSE Security Suite, too bad. Now I will purchase it and I will install it in all my sites again.

I hope this be useful for others.
Owner's reply

Hello David,

I told you that you need to read the documentation where it says that you have to enable the "Allow site templates" option to not block Google Bot. It also does explain why. You came to the arbitrary conclusion that our software is killing your sites' Google rankings even though you are not using the default site templates. Our documentation tells you that this is immaterial because the Mail To core Joomla! feature (com_mailto) will always use the core templates. Hence the option we tell you to enable in our documentation.

You also complained that it's difficult to set up. It is, if you don't read the documentation. We are very upfront about it. There is a Quick Start chapter which guides you through the basic setup. If there was one site fits all security solution it would have already been included in Joomla!.

I do apologise for my tone in your ticket of January 6th. I was replying in the same tone as yours. I recognise it was a mistake.

2014-02-17
Reviews: 3
I've had this extension for a while and always considered it a must have but a recent experience where the a site was attacked really showed what this tool could do. Great extension, excellently maintained and supported. Comprehensive documentation. Thank you!
2013-12-17
Reviews: 1
Akeeba Admin Tools Pro works perfectly well. Good and clear documentation - also the Danish version. Easy installation, good tools, easy to use. Must have.
2013-12-08
Reviews: 2
I'm a relative newbie in Joomla, but this tool makes it much easier to feel your site is secure. Money well spent. Documentation and support are excellent.
2013-12-04
Reviews: 4
This extension is excellent. Easy to use, very powerful and with lots of features.
2013-11-09
Reviews: 6
AdminTools has allowed me to easily increase the protection on my sites, without having to be a rocket scientist! Worth every cent spent on this and AkeebaBackup!!
2013-10-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for a great extension. I am not a pro web designer and this was very easy to setup and secure my back-end (pun totally intended). Awesome :)
2013-09-12
Reviews: 2
I've developed and manage over 50 Joomla websites. I've had a chance to use a lot of different extension but hands down Admin Tools Pro is the best I have ever purchase. Like most serious Joomla users I struggled in the beginning trying to learn how to best protect my websites then I found Admin Tools Pro. This is one awesome product with a whole list of tools to help secure a website. The support that it's developer Nicholas provides is some of the best I have seen. If you are looking for a way to protect the timme and money you have invested in your Joomla website then you owe it to yourself to seriously look at this extension.
2013-08-30
Reviews: 12
This extension is wonderful. Easy to use, practical, and very powerful. Just Great!
2013-08-26
Reviews: 7
We use this extension on all our sites. Great component with lots of tools that are useful for security and general site maintenance.
The pro extension includes extra tools for site maintenance and the support is great.
2013-08-17
Reviews: 1
I had a site under attack by hackers. With this extension I was able to reject all attacks.
I like this extension.
2013-08-17
Reviews: 6
I like it too, excellent tool.
  Once you learn to configure, you really become essential for all projects.
2013-08-04
Reviews: 1
After suffering a minor security issue, I thought it was time to put safeguards in place before anything really bad happened.

Admin Tools (by Akeeba) made implementing security measures from basic through to advanced extremely easy.

The accompanying documentation made it relatively easy to configure even the most confusing parameters.

Every Joomla site owner should be using this extension. It is worth 100 times more than what they charge for it.
2013-07-25
Reviews: 10
This is a 5* extension from a 5* developer.

Functionality, documentation and support are all first class, say no more!
2013-07-22
Reviews: 5
Seriously...you can never be too careful with things out there on the net and because I run a members website, I needed something good for securing everything, and I decided to go for the AdminTools Professional version and it's worth the price which is quite reasonable considering the work Nicholas has put into his extensions, especially this one. Support is top notch and documentation is also. If you are running a business site, and with members, this one you cannot go wrong with.
2013-07-05
Reviews: 1
I am not good at English to write the review.
Simply my problems ended. Thanks :)
2013-07-03
Reviews: 1
Akeeba admin is a must have extension. I've spent a fair amount of money on apps over the years- sometimes happily so and all too often with a feeling of being ripped off. That's not the case with Akeeba- the support is first class and Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos seems to know his stuff like no other. HE is a joomla guru and I for one endorse his product with confidence.
Page 1 of 6