The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jDBexport ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
jDBexport allows you to deliver data from your databases (JOOMLA and others) directly to your users. Write any valid SQL query in the administration of this component and combine such queries into multiple Excel worksheets/workbooks. The query is executed when a user clicks the downloadlink (frontend or backend) and the current result of the query is delivered to the user as a downloadable Excel file.



Main features:
- create data reports in various formats (xlsx, xls, csv, html, pdf, json) from your web database
- individualise these reports with variable substition or parameters entered by the user
- format these reports with colors, fonts, backgrounds, images, headers and footers, borders and more
- deliver these reports regularly and fully automatically to your users, utilising our sophisticated scheduler
- or let users request these reports online or in the background
- include virtually any accessible database - local or remote - into your reports (MySQL, MS-SQL, ORACLE, DB2, INGRES, SAP MaxDB, PostgreSQL, Firebird and others)
- check the validity of your SQL query on-the-fly (AJAX-driven) while preparing the worksheet
- jDBexport is translated in many languages (you can help us here...)

-jDBexport comes with a set of additional tools (frontend and backend module for easy access to your workbooks, datagrid and datafield plugin to embed worksheets or a single cell from a worksheet into any Joomla content, support for additional Truetype fonts in PDF creation)

and many other features
...

jDBexport was originally forked from the well known (Joomla 1.5 data reports) extension SQL2Excel (actually SQL 2 Excel Pro).

For helping with the translation of jDBexport into your own language, please visit or translation project at TRANSIFEX.com.



For more details, please visit our website at
http://it-solutions.schultz.ch/index.php/jdbexport

Report Extension

 

 

2014-05-20
Reviews: 1
I work with my report that is littlebit unusual taken from Fabrik My report shown user ID in stead of Name and Surename I call support problem has been found and fixed durring a call, Wisch all companies to have such support.
2014-05-15
Reviews: 1
I needed to extract several data from our site at regular interval to provide our key stakeholders with relevant informations.

I was able to arrange complex excel workbooks, update them very day and send them to the right user automatically.

The documentation should be improved but I have been always able to understand what to do with the support of the developer.

This is really a precious component.
Many thanks to Rüdiger.
2014-05-01
Reviews: 3
I used the previous version of this component and was disapointed when it was discontinued. This new forked version is still as good. I use it on an intranet site for mining data from other extensions. You do need to know SQL in order to write the queries, but to be honest, I use a graphical SQL query tool, then paste the resulting query into JDBExport and voila!
I also have scheduled exports running weekly that email the spreadsheets and downloadable reports on the site with user set parameters. all working with no issues. I will certainly be looking at the J3 version when it comes to upgrading my sites.
2014-04-29
Reviews: 1
I purchased this extension because I had a need to create some report based on data I had captured from a custom form on my joomla site. I tried other extensions to do this based on pure SQL queries but that wouldn't work due to how my tables were structured in the MySQL database for my site. I then purchased and installed this extension and am amazed with its capabilities. By combining the regular SQL queries and leveraging Excel to create multiple worksheets and utilize standard excel functions, I was able to create extremely detailed reports, exactly as I needed them all from a single MySQL table.

Along the way I have run into a few bumps but between the support forum and direct email contact with the developer, Ruediger, all of my issues have been resolved in lightning quick fashion. I normally don't write reviews but felt the need to here simply because of the truly 1st class support I have received on this extension.
2014-04-10
Reviews: 5
This extension is pretty good (part which is working good).
However I have had some issues with this extension and I request support for it.
As first, reaction time of developer is very slow. Further I build a test site to show my problem and make possible to developer to test there. He did not do anything.
So I tried to get appropriate support for a year long, but without success.
Because my issue is not resolved I can not use this extension on my production site and is useless for me.
For me - pure waste of money.
2014-03-14
Reviews: 1
The ability to generate reports - by administrators or end users - elevates Joomla! from a browser facility to an information system. In 1.5 the SQL2EXCEL product did the job. jDBexport recreates and improves the earlier one. The developer is very responsive to solving problems and receptive to suggestions for improvement. Top of the line!
2013-10-13
Reviews: 2
This a great port of the old SQL2Excel and it delivers. I had a minor problem that was solved with more than one solution in a very timely manner. Anyone with a site with members or database records that need to be exported for use have to have this. I'm shocked that CBSubs or similar don't offer it built-in. This is what you need for your clients (or yourself) who need front end (or backend, of course) capabilities with user lists. Fantastic.
2013-10-12
Reviews: 19
I had the 1.5 only SQL 2 Excel version from another developer on a site.

Moving to 2.5 I found this. Installed it, fast and easy configuration, copied over the code from SQL 2 Excel and presto, instant conversion, 100% compatible. Could not be easier.

This gives you huge flexibility in creating reports from tables. You'll find it replaces a lot of coding if you think of ways to present detail data to users.
2013-08-28
Reviews: 3
Paid for this extension. Installed as you would with any extension. Immediately the Joomla admin panel began to throw a 500 error when accessing this component. Cannot configure, cannot use and author does not respond to messages nor offer a refund.
Owner's reply

Dear goldleviathan,
It seems as if you are trying to install jDBexport Version 3.0.3 on a JOOMLA 3.x system - as our product is not (yet) compatible with this version of JOOMLA, this is not a question of "not functioning software" but rather of prerequirements for the software that are not met on your system. You left our email from august 13 unanswered for more than two weeks - and claiming now that we do not respond is simply not true. I hope we can find a mutual solution for this dispute (by email, not here in the forum of course).

2013-06-15
Reviews: 4
I am so pleased to have found this piece of software.

All my records on the web pages get updated automatically as data is input by the students.

I am discovering new facets recently as I am getting more familiar with MySQL Query.
2013-04-29
Reviews: 1
With SQL experience, my requirement was to extract the Information from the mysql database to Excel Worksheets using SQL.
I would have saved lots of time if I would have spent the Money at the beginning.
Meanwhile, I discover more and more Features.
In this case, I payed Little for that what I get.
Thanks!
2013-02-21
Reviews: 2
The software is fitting perfect into the Joomla Framework and philosophy. It does exactly what is promised, and the support would be at least 10 stars. Simply great
2012-12-02
Reviews: 2
Very functionnal component. Exactly what I was looking for.
The support is perfect and reactive :)

Shteevy.
2012-11-07
Reviews: 6
User recently I liked at first this extension because she allowed me to make what I wanted, at least in main lines. Then, my need being very specific, I asked for help on the forum and the developer spent a lot of time to find a viable solution.
I thus recommend very warmly this extension, you can take it without fear
2012-10-17
Reviews: 3
What can I say, SQL2Excel was amazing, the support and development stopped.
I can't express how gratefull I am that Schultz took it over, added already some small items ...
This is just another amazing product that everyone can use.
One thing might be usefull, but maybo not allowed due to copyrights, the manual idsn' completelly finished and i don't have a Sql2Excel version anymore ....
I hope that as soon as they have time they can complete it.
Owner's reply

Dear HLEBOEUF,
thanks for your kind words. The extensive documentation for jDBexport is next on our priority list (before adding any new features), however this will be done in a step-by-step task. Meanwhile you as customer can login to our website and navigate to the jDBexport -> Legacy issues, where you will find some helpful resources concerning the predecesor product sql2excel-pro.

2012-09-21
Reviews: 1
This is, by far, the best reporting tool for Joomla! With full SQL support, use of dynamic parameters in SQL querries and cron scheduling this component fills a gap that is missing in the standard Joomla! release. The folks as Shultz have been responsive and proactive in solving issues relating to the move to 2.5+ and we thank them profusely for rescuing this component and bringing it into the newer versions of Joomla. Thank you Ruediger and team!
2012-08-21
Reviews: 1
This extension is pretty much the same as SQL2Excel in J1.5
After a few problems I had with the settings I asked for support from Schultz. Their response is fast, and the help is good! Make sure You've got yr rights structure set properly, otherwise Joomla is not showing the download button. This is a Joomla thing, and does not mean the extension is not working!!
Ones I've got my settings and rights set the right way, the extension is working great!
You can't do without it if you wanne give yr website visitors a chance to download excel files!!!
2012-06-28
Reviews: 9
Having had some problems on a specific site, the support was excellent.
Great component and replacement for SQL2Excel PRO. If you use SQL2Excel PRO you can't live without this one.

Tom