The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Lazy Load for Joomla! Plugin

LLFJ - Lazy Load for Joomla!

With this plugin images are only loaded when a visitor scrolls to the images. It saves your server bandwidth and saves your users from load images that they never scroll to. This increases the loading speed of all pages.

The plugin only has to be activated, there are no further adjustments necessary. Easy and effective!


* Two different scripts included - for jQuery or Mootools (Joomla! 3.x)
* Images are loaded only in visible areas
* Saves bandwidth
* Increases the loading speed of all pages
* Nice fade-in effect
* Exclude images
* Exclude components
* Exclude URLs
* Exclude Bots - search engines can index the images
* Exclude in Joomla! Editor - the plugin is not triggered if the editor is loaded
* Toggle selection - entered data are not excluded, but included


Joomla! 3.x -

Joomla! 2.5 -


The extension is completely free, but you need a subscription for support:

Report Extension




Reviews: 2
Very good job. I emphasize the possibility in settings able to disable the plugin for determined urls or components.
Reviews: 106
I've been using this plugin for quite some time and was satisfied with it back then. I recently upgraded it and noticed that it now loads in the upper ward direction if you are brought to the bottom of the page with a anchor. This makes TOC menus work great with this extension and reduces more unnecessary loading. Really well done, a Joomla extension I'd recommend to people who use lots of photos in their articles.
Reviews: 2
An absolute must have for anyone who has a lot images on their website, improves page loading time, and the support is amazing, within one day of contacting them, they resolved our issue. Thank you so much !!
Reviews: 1
I have an educational website with lots of images, schemes, diagrams. The average size of an article with all this graphics is about 1.5 MB. So, can you imagine how useful is this plugin for me — it redused a page to half in size?

Apart from that, I would like to point out the fade-in effect, which nicely fit in the desing of my website.

And despite having some technical issues, the support was very fast and efficient. Victor took into account all my suggestions and resolved all the broblems immediately.

So, I would like to thank you, Victor, for the excellent job. Keep it up!
Reviews: 8
I had a problem with an animated gif that I had installed a script to only animate on hover - excluding it in the plugin configuration fixed it.
Reviews: 1
Installed , enabled and it worked like a charm. A+++++
Reviews: 3
An excellent plugin, very funtional and configurable!
Reviews: 13
Wonderful. It just work like it should.

jquery is getting common in joomla, hope to see option to allow choosing between jQuery or Mootools engine.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review and the suggestion.

A jQuery version is already on the wish list for one of the next releases.

Reviews: 1
A great plugin that does exactly what is asked. Congratulations to the encoders.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 5
It's probably a good plugin, the idea isn't new but always welcome.

Installed in 10s but gave me whole blank pages on whole website
Owner's reply

Please always use the correct version for your Joomla! version.

However, this problem was never reported and I really doubt that it is true what you say...

Reviews: 3
This is not the first time I have used lazy load for Joomla and it always exceeds my expectations. I had an issue with a module where the images were not being loaded. Luckily this extension was able to bypass this issue given the images were using auto generated names (resized.jpg) so I was able to exclude all images that had that variable (resized) in the name. I contacted them (Thanks Viktor) and he was able to push me in the right direction. Brilliant Extension! Now to figure out how to use it with a CDN..
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 31
Installed on my J!3.1.5 site without any problems.

Just remember to clear the cache, and if you use a CDN, to 'repurge' the pages or you might get some strange results.

But overall, an excellent extension!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 1
It works as it says, but I had issues running it with a full-blown ajax site. Of course, you'll have to manually trigger the LazyLoad() method every time new images are loaded into the DOM. Other then that, great plugin!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

Reviews: 8
A client I am working with has an online store that I am rebuilding. One of the major challenges in this project is that the product categories frequently have over 100 items in it. We show a good size thumbnail in VirtueMart Category Browse page and this causes requests and data to go off the charts as you can imagine.

Enter Lazy Load for JOOMLA. I installed and pretty much instantly had a great lazy-load going on for everything in Joomla and every extension installed. I had VM installed, tons of other extensions, and it just worked right out of the box.

Now, we are pleased that customers are not having to wait for a long load to see even the first images show up. As they are needed the images fade in nicely.

If you are optimizing your site for performance (mandatory for sites with decent traffic) Lazy Load for Joomla should absolutely be a tool in your kit.
Owner's reply

Nice, thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 3
Quite a good plugin - worked right away. The only drawback was: it uses a JS-fade-in effect, which is in conflict with my css gray-out effects (both targeting on the opacity) ... it also does not use a CSS fallback, that means: without JS enabled it doesn´t load any of my images any more (except the blank.gif of course). For that I had to uninstall it again. Please implement a fallback solution and everything is fine ;-) .
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review and the suggestion!

My suggestion: You should contact the developers first if you have a feature request.

Reviews: 9
This is a great plugin if you have an image rich site. It reduces loading times dramatically full marks to developers. I needed to exclude a few images and components to make it work but the instructions are easy to follow.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 4
I have installed this plugin on my site and I have been astonished from it. So easy and so simple. On one page it was not working and I posted on the forum my problem. The support answered me quickly and spot on, on what was the problem. I corrected the Javascript problem and everything came back to work again. Now my site has become so fast and so smooth to surf. Thanks so Much to for the great product.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 8
Works just like described. I have no real complaint about this plugin. Nice work!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 8
With this plugin you can speed up the loading up of web pages and therefore increase user satisfaction. I love it.
I had an issue with images not showing up that have JCE_popup attributes applied to them (for opening up in shadowbox java script window). The developer was kind to point out that I can exclude those images by specifying their names or by specifying a prefix (such as "jce_") and then adding the prefix to those image names I want to exclude. Worked like a charm.
I would like to see this plugin being able to exclude plugins (such as JCE_popup) in the future.
If your pages contain lots of images, then this plugin is a must!
And if it does the job you are expecting it to do, then make a donation and support its further development.
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

Reviews: 35
I truely love this extension and I used it on several installations.

Everytime I had to deinstall it due to conflicts with other extensions who were more important than lazy lloading images.

Everytime I bought an extension, the support of this extension told me that the problem was the lazy load plugin.

Such a shame because it is a nice plugin.

Best regards,

Rob van Linda
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review!

Why didn't you use my support forum? If these extensions use jQuery and suppress the loading of Mootools, then you can not blame Lazy Load for it. This plugin only works if Mootools is also loaded. So it is the fault of these extensions and not of Lazy Load.

Page 1 of 2