The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Remository Popular ComponentModulePlugin

A component that is easy to install and use, yet has an unparalleled depth of features for a powerful file repository. The latest version adds the ability to play audio/video files as well as to download them. There are related modules and plugins to complement the main component. Remository supports the secure hosting of local or remote files for download by site visitors. Files can be uploaded by users, and locally hosted files can be stored in either the database or the file system. Thumbnails can be uploaded along with files, or automatically generated with uploads of image files. Displays can be customized, and Remository includes a very flexible access control system so that upload, download and editing can be managed in almost unlimited ways. The size of the file repository can be small or large. Customized versions and professional support are available by arrangement.

Report Extension



Reviews: 2
This is the grand daddy of Joomla download extension. It has been around for ages and still works great over the years in our Joomla 2.5 sites. Bought their premium support and they never dissapoint.

Looking forward to the update for Joomla 3.3!
Reviews: 3
This extension is the perfect solution for my site. It offers functional containers where i included my files. I gave my users a very user friendly downloads section.
You can also include some ads after user clicks download, for some extra revenue.
Reviews: 4
I've installed this extension and I'm really satisfied, it did not give me any problem. I hope will be published a Joomla! 3.x compatible version
Reviews: 4
Its the main component of my site six years (!!) now. I found it while using Joomla 1.5, migrate with it at Joomla 2.5 and I just LOVE it.
The problem is that the author (Martin) has not appeared at his site forum for the last 6 months, so I am not sure he will upgrade his component to support Joomla 3.x and that is a MAJOR problem. I hope he is ok and we will hear from him soon :)
Owner's reply

Thanks for your positive review :) The forum is primarily for self help, as described at I am responding to support tickets and (usually) emails. Time is a problem at present, although I do hope to produce a Joomla 3.x version of Remository.

Reviews: 14
I love this extension -- in fact I've never been able to get any other download program to work at all, so I've always used Remository. Now, I have more than 50 downloadable files at my main site, and I'd really like to update that site to Joomla 3.x -- but I can't, because there is no Remository for 3.x, and I'm wondering why? There isn't even any news or announcements about it at their site, and they won't even reply to forum questions about it. So I either have to delay updating my main site for some indefinite time, or I have to try and figure out how to use some other download program. Neither of those prospects suits me, but what can I do? They won't even tell us IF or WHEN there MIGHT be a 3.x release of Remository.
Reviews: 6
This is a very good component, setting it up is easy and no fuss. Has a lot of features that you can try. Overall, a very good tool. Strongly recommend to others to try it out.
Reviews: 1
I'm using remository since November 2011. Over 138 000 files (excel files in taxation, accounting) downloaded from my website is a proove, that remository works fine and without any (!) issue.
Reviews: 4
I've used Remository for many years and upgraded to the latest version after migrating my site to Joomla v2.5.8 I did a test download and when done Remository posts a google ad in the middle of the page. Sorry, I don't mind adverts but that is a bit too much "In your face" and intrusive.
Owner's reply

Pity not to understand the situation *before* writing a review! The user is free to configure what is shown during download. See replies to other reviewers, or the Remository forum. But the fact that many users retain the sample adverts supports the project and is a factor in Remository remaining free!

Reviews: 1
Used remository to convert a bunch of manual PDF links into a library system. Simple to use, easy to style. Quickly imported all the files already uploaded. Added some indivual descriptions and published. Nice component - will use again / would recommend to others.
Reviews: 9
This is the best component for downloads, available. I've been using Remository in various projects over the past few years and it never failed.
Setting it up is easy and intuitive. The only downside is the front-end styling. Nothing that can't be corrected by your own stylesheets.

One thing is still missing, though: Translations/Multi-Language support.
Reviews: 16
I don't know why people complaint that is not worth it. Well I'm not going to deny that I spend some time figuring out the options, but when you figure it out; is an excellent extension. Simple to use in the front end and not so much in the back end, but I don't mind. Something simple to configure won't have very much flexibility, I guess you have to have some intelligence to configure it. I saw a review where the guy was complaining about the ads, all you have to do is replace the code with your own; can't miss it. It's under the D/L text tab. I like this extension better then some others out there, best of all is FREE!
Reviews: 29
It took me hours to get this thing working on the development site. It was average at best in its layout, but I'd already invested so much time in making it work...

Uploaded the site to the live server and everything is broken. Wasted 1/2 hour more trying to make it work. I think much of the problem is the author's penchant for absolute paths throughout the component. A recipe for chaos after moving a site.

Would never recommend or try again. Had to delete it off the live site and install an alternative. A time waster.
Owner's reply

I'm sorry you had problems. A lot of effort has gone into ensuring that a new installation of Remository will work immediately - and this seems to have paid off in the opinion of a number of reviewers.

Absolute paths are not used on a whim - they are used because they do not restrict the user to placing the file repository within the document root - it can be placed absolutely anywhere that can be specified by a legal path. Also, if you stick with the default of storing files in the database, migration requires only the transfer of the DB tables.

There is a brief Remository FAQ that describes exactly how to handle site migration, which should only take a few minutes to implement.

Reviews: 11
This is an excellent component! I've been looking for a way to allow downloads of songs that are on an official website for a particular album I was on and after long arduous searching I found this!! Solved all my problems, looks good, and far better that anything else I've looked at. The controls for downloads are excellent allowing limits and frontend fine tuning. For my needs it's great and I can see that it would be excellent for a user group website. And!! It's free!
Reviews: 3
Easy to install and easy to use.
Reviews: 1
overall, this is a great tool.
Just one thing that i can't figure out, does this tools don't allow download for public user or i just miss the configuration for it. can somebody tell me.
Owner's reply

Thanks! For each folder (container) in Remository, you can specify which group(s) can upload and which can download. Any combination of groups is possible, including "Visitor" which means people not logged in.

Reviews: 4
This is a great tool and strongly recommend it. For those you say that ads cannot be blocked, please check the configuration settings in J Admin. Great job and thumbs up to the developer!
Reviews: 12
Thanks for a great component
After a few hours I realized with this component and I now have three large file downloads which one of them is as large as 275.4 Mb
Reviews: 6
A very usefull extension, giving a professional look and feel.
I particularly like the file containers privilege system and the ability to choose between Joomla authorization levels or creating Remository own user groups and privileges.
The one thing that would make even better would be an option to hide containers (and files) from unauthorized users on a case by case base; indeed, one does not not want everyone to check the full catalogue of available files on the site, even if they cannot download them.
Another nice feature is the possibility to choose for its own ads code to appear (or not). Thanks!
Reviews: 4
First off I would like to say that this is by no means a bad component. It has a loads of options, the most I have ever seen in a file manager.

With that said, it is not without its issues.

One of the biggest problems I have had is files moving out of there folders and being placed in the root directory where my site files are located.

I know its a setting somewhere but still....It should have an option to select whether the Remository is allowed to move the files or not.

Also I couldn't seem to update the file counts.

It is a good component but it will take some time to learn what does what.
Reviews: 11
Remository is a good extension. It works well and do a good job. I prefer it from Docman or others..
Have an excellent SEO/SEF and works like a charm.
What i dont like is the Graphics (front and backend), and the support for 3rd party components..
yes is rigth that some integration are already in the code (Jomcomment support) but every update is a work. So should be better when he will support 3d party ext. (from backend not hacking the code) jcomments and others, alphauserpoints... And have a template manager, more fields, metadata via frontend upload...
Page 1 of 4