The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Import for K2 Component

With this component you can import content into K2 from a CSV-file and export your K2 data to a CSV file.

This is not a good component for regular backups. It's much better to backup the database directly! Use this extension for transferring items to/from K2, mass updates in K2 and so on, but do not relay on it as your only backup.

the version 1.x is for Joomla 1.5 /1.6 / 1.7 / 2.5
the version 2.x is for Joomla 3.x

The import and export works for nearly all standard K2 fields. Images are exported as path to the file. The hierarchy of the categories is not exported or imported.

Try an export first to have a example file and check the documentation.

Check the documentation link for an example CSV-file or use the export function first and change the file.

Costs: You decide yourself how much you like to pay for the plugin (min 1,79 EUR)

Do you have questions, need support or found a bug? Write me a twitter message:
Do you want to stay up to date? Follow me on twitter:

Report Extension




Reviews: 16
I had to import hundreds of tables from excel to k2. I did it in minutes. It works perfectly, even with extra fields. Totally recommended! Thank you Artur :)
Reviews: 5
This extension was a real time saver. I had hundreds of tags to import and did not want to do it by hand. The support is responsive and you definitely can't beat the price. I highly recommend this extension. Thank you!
Reviews: 4
It is very intuitive, you just make an export first, then you fill your data in the columns and you import. Works like a charm! Keep the good work up.
Reviews: 7
Without proper import, K2 is nearly useless for me. No fun, adding a hundred articles manually. Much more fun with this extension. It's not super easy to use, many parameters to set, and to get the import file right isn't straightforward either, when the data is a bit complex. But most importantly, once it's all set, imports work fine. And support is very good, too.
Reviews: 6
As a Joomla Programmer since 2008, I've dealt with a lot. SOBI2 was my choice for Directory databases but SOBIPro for Joomla 2.5 has given me nothing but headaches because of the slow release of necessary tools that were available for SOBI2. This Import Tool for K2 gave me the capability I needed to make business directories with K2 far superior to SOBI Pro and upset for paying constant subscriptions to their site when all I needed to pay was 2 Euros!!!! Like seriously??? Good work done here and keep it up!!!!
Reviews: 5
This extension helped me to convert my jReviews articles to K2 articles. My main problem was with the images and videos but with a lot of trial and error I was able to do the conversion. Without this extension I would have still be converting my articles.
Reviews: 2
When converting our music magazine from an ordinary php site with a mysql database to Joomla 2.5, we used import for K2 to import over 10.000 articles.

We had to edit our old article database structure to fit extra fields In K2 before using Import for K2.
The proses of editing the database was easy, after studying an export of a K2 item using Import for K2.

The proses of importing all our articles where complete after 2 hours of work. Which is an unbelievable time saver considering that it took approximately 5-6 minutes to copy / past one articles by hand.
You do the math. ;)
Not all is this extension easy to use, but you also decide what it will cost you.

The only negative thing I can say about this extension is that we had a little problem importing our images, but if you are a bit creative, you can also solve this problem yourself. However, I was aware of this problem before buying the extension.
Reviews: 1
This extension helped me big times to transfer data from sobi2 to a new K2 version of a restaurant guide I'm building. I have many extra fields which were checked by the application during import.

For instance, the component will tell you if your CSV has values for a drop-down field that do not match the available options for that drop-down in K2.


I work on Mac and I realized that Excel creates CSV files that are not UTF8 and the new line character is Classic Mac (CR). I had to convert the TXT to UTF8 with Windows (CRLF) end-of-line character to be able to use the CSV with this component. I used TextWrangler to do that. The component failed whenever I tried to upload a CSV with Mac (CR) end-of-lines.

Thank you again for this component, great job !!!
Reviews: 2
I tried the component and I got excellent support for use it. I'm satisfied. Thanks a lot.
Reviews: 6
IMPORT FOR K2 Extension work fine with my joomla 2.5 sites, recommend to buy this cool tool...
Reviews: 6
This was needed very badly for a long time, the install is painless. The component itself is not the easiest in the world to understand and took a few attempts to bring the data across as I wanted it but in the end it did the job great and saved me a lot of time, I had some questions and Artur always came back within a reply. Not for a novice but great component none the less!
Reviews: 4
Hi, its nice Idea and its make me paid @ time to have it.

When I install and try to import I have Fatal error

So I try to click the support link, but it diverted me to K2 official forum with no permission to view the post :(

So I was wondering why we pay and face problem with the support?

Now, I paid and have error and will never use the extension cos I dont know where to ask support :(

Owner's reply

Sorry there was a problem in the link, I just corrected it.

But you can also use twitter: or My contact form:

Reviews: 1
Its a great Extension.I could successfully import all the items and their categories from joomla 1.5 site to joomla 2.5.6 ,with great ease.I faced no issues.Great work!!
Reviews: 1
Initially I had little difficulty in importing k2 items but the Developer helped me out. And now it works like a charm.
Reviews: 4
I needed to transfer fairly complicated K2 content (many extra fields, etc) from a Joomla 1.5 site to a 2.5 site.

After trying a couple of other extensions without much luck, I decided to give IT Import for K2 a try. It worked amazing well!

From reading the documentation on the website, I thought it was going to be a challenge to map the various fields, but that was not the case. It was very intuitive and extremely easy.

Great extension! Thanks!
Reviews: 1
I used this extension to import some articles from a previos Joomla installation (1.5 to 1.7) And this helped me was a major time savor.
Thanks alot and keep up the good work!
Reviews: 8
This extension is a true time saver. I had an issue importing my data and the developer helped me get everything imported correctly...even though it turned out to be an issue with how I had formatted my csv file.
Reviews: 1
this is a great extension . it helped me to import a lot of k2 articles with just a few steps and with many attribute including images and attachments..
it also save me a lot of money as the other option costs $50 ..
thanks to the developer :)
Reviews: 8
Will be great extension in the future. Right now: 0.8-not working, 0.9 - bugs, bugs, and bugs again (system: J1.7/HostGator). Paid 2 EURO for development support. Waiting for release.
Owner's reply

0.8 is just for joomla 1.5
0.9 should work with joomla 1.5 and newer but it is in alpha status right now, sorry yes its still buggy.
It would be useful to know what problems you have exactly. Please send me an email via web form:

I'm also happy to send your money back if the software is not useful for you.

Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension more than a year. Now desided to upgrade to J2.5, therefore got a new version of K2 Import.
And I was glad that Artur still works out this component.
However I had to modify some fields and made Russian localization, but the basic component is great and works perfect.
The only thing I need more is a more flexible import to subcategories. But, well, not a real problem, will solve it myself.
Page 1 of 2