Welcome to the new directory. If you find a bug, please report it on our Issue Tracker.

Arrow up
Arrow down

Joomla!® Extensions Directory

logo

Introduction

Mobile, Mobile Display

Mobile Joomla!® is the best way to mobilize your Joomla! site, displaying beautifully on iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone and all other phones.

  • Get this

Mobile Joomla! is also the easiest way to speed up your responsive template performance up to 400% on mobile devices.

Mobile Joomla! is trusted by more than 150,000 Joomla! users and used to mobilize over 15,000,000 pages.

Mobile Joomla! Benefits:

  • Easy - Install and have a stunning mobile site out-of-the-box
  • Fast - Less waiting & more engagement for your visitors, better conversion for you
  • Performance - Up to 400% better performance for your responsive templates
  • Optimized - Best user experience, no matter what mobile device or browser your visitors use

Feature Highlights:

  • Widest mobile device support, from feature phones to smartphones & tablets
  • True optimization for your mobile site, accorting to each device's capabilities
  • Multi template and layout support for different device segments
  • Up to 400% performance boost for responsive templates
  • 3rd party mobile template support
  • Custom mobile modules, menus, layouts
  • Advanced image optimization
  • Sub-domain redirection per device category
  • Compatibility with 3rd party extensions, modules and plugins

A pretty good component but some issues.



It has different themes for iphone, tablet, smartphone, wap, imode (don't know what that is even), but while good, it means if you want to edit a theme you have to do all 5 separately. I just started on the iphone one, but the basic css file didn't cover everything and remnants of iphones theme were across a number of different css/files. I gave up trying to figure out where all the instances of the ugly blue pinstripe was.



The detection isn't always that great. On Galaxy S5 there was none and the desktop site loaded. On Nokia Lumia and Blackberry the menus were broken, so I just set all phones to show the iphone template.



Would be better if there were a setting to just load the phone template if the screen width detected is less than say 350 pixels, that way it's guaranteed to load. But no such option existed from what I could see so your left with detection that may not work.



I decided to try another extension instead, but there was no way of even disabling this component. Even with the component unpublished it still operated, so I had to completely uninstall to test something else.



Also while it's free, the nice looking templates are considerably higher priced. Apparently you have to pay to get rid of the adverts, though I'd just hardcode those out personally.



I could have continued with it, but in the end I went with Responsivizer and found it was quite a bit superior in every way, but does come with a pricetag.

Owner's reply: Great feedback with details, thanks a lot! We are in fact just working on an improved version which will make it simpler to get your design working on all devices with simple settings and improve usability across the board.

As for the device detection, the device database is being updated from time to time - seems the older version you had installed didn't cover Galaxy S5, which the latest one does. (Our Pro version on the other hand has automatic always-up-to-date database with no manual updates needed)

I've installed the plugin, created a template to match the theme of my site and everything works - for the most part. However, I ran into an issue with the ?device=desktop and ?device=xhtml code to be able to link between the mobile and desktop versions. I went to the support forums hoping to have help resolving this issue - after all, I did pay for this extension. I have yet to receive a reply.



Be vary weary if you purchase this product. If you can get it to work great, but your in the dark without a flashlight if something goes wrong...


Couldn't be easier


Posted on 10 October 2013

If this was any easier, the client wouldn't need me!!

Great job with good support.

I did do one very unusual thing for me, I read the instructions. Then a couple of tweaks to my templates and a great mobile application shows up.

Thank you.


Don't Bother!


Posted on 26 September 2013

This extension will NOT make your website mobile. It will take the raw text and images and force them into an ugly pinstripe design that looks nothing like your site. This is not a mobile website...a mobile website means YOUR website (with the look and branding) becomes mobile.



It is way overpriced for not doing what it says. There is virtually no documentation other than extremely basic settings and an installation guide. Absolutely nothing on how to make the site even resemble our desktop version. No serious business would ever allow a mobile site to have none of its branding and color cheme.



There is a button for support for it's a barely used forum. A forum is NOT SUPPORT!



You are much better off purchasing a responsive template than working with...whatever this thing is.

Owner's reply: Hi there, we are sorry to hear that our product did not fit your expectations.

Unlike responsive templates (client side approach), we follow a server side approach, which is a known method for higher performance. We also allow our users to customise their templates in a much more powerful way compared to responsive templates, using custom modules, settings, CSS etc.

We have over 50 articles in our documentations, by which we hope to cover everything we can. For more advanced users, we offer Mobile Joomla! Insiders' Guide ebook. For those, who can not find answers they are looking for, we have our forum, which today has more than 15000 posts. We try to answer as much questions as we can on public forum.

If you are looking into a responsive website, you indeed could go for a responsive template. Please note that in such case you could still use Mobile Joomla! with the responsive template to optimize the template's mobile performance by up to four times.

Hope helps.

awesome extention


Posted on 24 September 2013

Thanx alot for the extention



liked it alot ... gives a reliefs to huge extent



Regards


Wrecked it.


Posted on 06 August 2013

OK with the free version showing ads - if clients don't like it, they can pay for Ad Remover or even full Pro version. But the free version displays the Joomla GNU footer as well (hard-coded!), which is ugly and just not necessary. Since Jan.13 you have to pay PER SITE to remove this. Poor decision... broke what was until then a great product.

So - works well but...


This is an excellent product and is easy to use and 'just works'. As it creates new templates it is possible to edit them to get the look you want.



Now for the BUT. Support is non-existent. There is a forum but I wouldn't expect too much in the way of a response from the developers on that. I can see little identifiable activity from the developers on there. Even if you pay to have the ads removed it doesn't appear to earn you any support.


working fine...


Posted on 04 June 2013

Mobile Joomla! working just great on my blog. It made my blog visitable from any mobile which is why i love this extension more then the rest of the extensions! :D



Good Luck Mobile Joomla!


tested. doesn't suit me , uninstall it and site become very slow. check with experts main cause become that there is 40+ tables left by this extensions. very unprofessional imo.

Owner's reply: Hi there, thank you very much for taking your time to review Mobile Joomla! We are sorry to hear your initial experience was less than ideal.

The database tables you mentioned belong to a 3rd party product Scientia Mobile, which is an optional, advanced addon device database that is not a a part of core Mobile Joomla! package and optionally installed by user. Our own device detection database, which comes by default with Mobile Joomla! installation package is very fast and uses 2 database tables only. It also removes all traces when Mobile Joomla! is uninstalled, since it's a core part of the product.

Please try installing Mobile Joomla! with default settings, which should help to resolve the problem.

Hope helps.

great plugin


Posted on 30 May 2013

This extension is really a great plugin. But, it took so long for me to setup it in website. Though, it is a great extension

Mobile

Version:
1.2.10
Developer:
Mobile Joomla!
Date added:
Nov 18 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Uses updater:
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support