The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Preachit! ComponentModulePlugin

Preachit is the #1 sermon manager for Joomla. Fusing simplicity, flexibility and a range of attractive templates it serves as an effective way to create and display multimedia for church ministry.

We offer fast and personal support for our subscribers as well as a host of addons from the download center.

Don't want to take out a subscription. That's ok, we have a Joomla 2.5 only version of the component absolutely free to download from our site.

Setup a new site, upgrade from other Preachit versions or migrate from Sermon Speaker and Joomla Bible Study records. Setting up Preachit hasn't been easier.

Report Extension




Reviews: 6
This component was easy to install and configure. The documentation on the site included videos that were easy to follow.

The developer has put a great deal of thought into all the options. Whenever I thought, "gee, I wonder if it can do this..." I would discover, sure enough, the developer had already thought of that, and made it easy to implement.

This is one of those extensions that just make you a very happy Joomla lover.
Reviews: 3
Our church website previously had used another extension for our online messages (sermons), but back when we migrated to Joomla 2.5, we had to find a new solution. We ended up choosing Preachit after trying a couple other options. It has worked great and is multiple times better than what we previously had! We love the ability to categorize the messages into series, and having the option where people can find messages based on specific speakers or even tags to find a message that hits certain topics. Thanks for this great tool. We love it!
Reviews: 2
I absolutely love this component. It looks and works great.

Any plans to use Facebook integration for your comments?
Owner's reply

There aren't any plans to put facebook integration in with the standard comments, although Preachit allows you to use the facebook comments app and other commetns engines that link with facebook.

Reviews: 1
This is a very well designed extension. I've been able to do everything I've wanted with PreachIt and then some. The support is wonderful. It seldom takes more than a few hours before I get an answer and I've always gotten what I needed. I even purchased a custom add-on which worked beautifully and was not at all expensive. I would highly recommend this extension to anyone.
Reviews: 2
Because of changes in PHP, I HAD TO upgrade several websites that were using "Sermon Speaker" and for various reasons chose "Preachit" instead. I was surprise how easy uploads were through the component, and was please with the support I recieved (after a membership fee) for which I thought I would recieve forum access, but recieved personal support with a forum question from Paul, the developer. Problem was in my upgrade not with the component. Very adaptable, and pulls information even from MP3, if it contains any and places this in the descriptions. I would recomend this component for anyone who wants audio or video of you churches services as well as powerpoint, or documents added to your joomla site.
Reviews: 1
I was really excited about this extension. It is extremely powerful. I am a little disappointed that you can't use ustream. The church I am working with live streams their service every week. The only way I can use this extension is to have them use ustream (for their live stream) and vimeo for their channel. That's a little too much to ask them to do. That's the only reason I can't use it. So disappointing as this is a powerful extension.
Owner's reply


Thanks for the review. Yes, you are right that Preachit doesn't support ustream out of the box. However, Preachit has a custom mediaplayer engine that allows you to add other mediaplayers to the selection. With this it should be fairly easy to get ustream videos to play within Preachit.

Reviews: 2
This extension made my site. I am using it for a little different purpose than a church website but it still works very well for me. I have now used it on several sites. Tech support is better than expected. The extension is free but the support is now subscription based but is well worth it. Tech support was so good, I even paid him to do some side work for me.
Thank you for the great extension!
Reviews: 2
I love Preachit. I have used it on an older version of Joomla and when I updated to version 2.5 and updated Preachit I can no longer upload my sermon files because they are too large. Wish there was a way to upload something more than 10MB. What audio or video file is less than 10MB anyway.
Owner's reply


The upload limit is set by your server environment and your Joomla install and has nothing to do with the Preachit component. If you would like help in increasing this limit we would be more than willing to help through the support structures offered on our site.

Reviews: 12
If I could give this component a higher rating I would. I tried another component and was frustrated to no end for several months. It is feature rich! There are even options that I would never have thought of that I am now using. I do hope that you keep this one in development. It's a treasure for those of us who need it...
Reviews: 3
This extension is a true blessing! Especially as a FREE extension I coudln't ask for more. Thank you so much! Support forum is terrific! I had some challenges, but it was my hosting provider.
Reviews: 3
PreachIt is very customizable! This is the most valuable Joomla extension for our web site. I used to have to use three different applications and spend over 20 minutes of time to accomplish what PreachIt does for me in a 5 minute posting of a new message. I appreciate Paul and his contribution to the Kingdom!
Reviews: 2
The new release of PreachIt (3.0) is fantastic!

You don't need to be technical savant to upload, manage and publish your media on your site and across the internet.

Favorite Features:

Amazon S3 Cloud Storage integration
Nice Flash Uploader
Great CSS customization
FREE (as in no cost)
Great support
Reviews: 1
I had been looking for an extension for my Christian website. Thank God I stumbled accross Preachit! and I got more than I ever wanted. the developer is also very responsive and is always improving it.

I fully recommend it to anyone who wants to run a serious site.
God Bless
Reviews: 1
Brilliant component and great support! Preachit has really upgraded our congregation's ability to reach people with our message.
Reviews: 2
I've been using SermonSpeaker for the better part of a year now, and beating my computer screen in frustration since the beginning of that ordeal.

I was a little wary downloading/installing this one, but my fears were groundless. This extension is FABULOUS!! You can tell when a developer puts excellence into their extension -- it shows up in all the little areas to me. Simple things like the spacing, the fonts, the "look and feel"... everything is just ready to go right out the box.

THANK YOU for such a wonderful extension!!
Reviews: 2
This extension is very well written. It's powerful and flexible and yet easy to use.

I had a particular question about the possible use of Preachit, asked my question on the forum and received help very quickly, providing a good solution to my problem.

Well done, and thanks very much for providing this for others to use.

Reviews: 2
I have used many extensions and this one is among the finest, and support is second to none.

Well done, and thanks for making it freely available.

Reviews: 1
I really like this program but it has a bug that make things difficult if you are not careful. I have a joomla site that is not installed in the root directory of the website.

For example my website is installed in /new/ folder on the website.

I have placed Audio files in the /new/audio/ Directory.

When you set up your folders in folder's settings it asked you for the name of the folders. You have to put /new/audio/ in the folder name place for the component to play the audio files on the front end.

If at some point you decide to upload a new file using the component's back end it will recreate a folder called /new/new/audio and place it in that folder. The file will then not play on the front end. In order to make it play you would have to change the folder setting to /new/new/audio.

If your site is in the root directory this does not apply to you because both the upload and the folder setting would be set at /audio/ instead.

Overall I really like this module and our site it planning to be moved to the root directory in the future so it will work fine.

I tried to report this to the company but the support like on this site did not work. I am hoping they check these reviews and can fix this in future versions and I thought I would warn the people with permanent sites NOT in the root directory.
Owner's reply

Hi risenfenix,

Thanks for pointing out the broken link. I have fixed the info so the support link works.

Re. the issue with the upload. This is because you have the wrong entries in the folders form. The first box (Title - Server) should be the url of your site ie. The second box (Title - folder) should be the folder path after the url ie. audio. If you change that you should find everything will work okay.

Reviews: 5
This is a great extension for posting your media. We currently use this to post our sermons and worship music. I know I'm only using a very small protion of it's capabilities but it is exactly what we need.

Also we had an issue with a template and I posted the problem. In less than 12 hours (we have a large time difference) a fix was posted! Great support!

Thanks and God Bless,
Reviews: 1
I am using this on three sites now and all went well! Easy to use and has many options! I will use is every church site I do. I am looking at other non-profits that would benefit from this too!
Page 1 of 2