Introduction

Use Simple PopUp to show a message, as a image gallery, add any content to it from the Joomla Article editor.
Pop-it up on page load (or not), pop-up only once for each user using cookies, add links through the Article as well. No need for menu items to pop-up the box! (version 1.1 only, see below).

  • Favourite
  • Report

PopUp anything on your site!

PDF's, Youtube, image gallery, articles and more...

Simple PopUp will let you add a FancyBox Pop-up on any page. The message is written in the Article as "hidden" text or you can type it in to a Custom HTML Module and set the module option to "Prepare content" (see demo here: http://wasen.net/index.php/login). In both cases you just add the popup brackets {simplepopup} around the text/images.

It will use the styling you give it when creating it in the Article complete with text styling, images, lines and/or tables regardless if you use the Custom HTML module or inside an article.

How to use:

1) Install the plugin package.
2) Enable it in the PlugIn Manager!
3) In any article add the popup brackets {simplepopup}

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NEWS: Version 2.1 released! 2015-07-02
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All the features from 2.0 (of course) and a few bug fixes and the following new features:

  • Open after a delay. Simply add "delayopen=3000" to wait 3 seconds (in milliseconds) to open the popup.

  • Auto-close after a delay. Add "delayclose=10000" for closing the popup box after 10 seconds automatically.

  • Open i iFrame. You can now load any external content into an iFrame. The property "boxstyle" can now be set to "iframe" and then you give the URL in the "url" property, e.g.:

{ simplepopup name="popJPG" boxstyle="iframe" url="images/headers/blue-flower.jpg" popup="false" }hidden{ /simplepopup }

  • Open PDF in PDF Viewer (pdfjs). Set "boxstyle=pdf" and a URL to point to the PDF file to open it in a viewer:

{ simplepopup name="popPDF" boxstyle="iframe" url="http://wasen.net/downloads/Simple_PopUp.pdf" popup="false" autodimensions="true" }hidden{ /simplepopup }

For iFrame you can also specify the mime type to make sure the browser behaves as expected, e.g. mime="application/pdf"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
VERSION 2.0:

Tons of new stuff packed into this one!

The most exciting is that I have added support for Youtube videos and put in a lot more flexibility into the settings through a bunch of new parameters.

Here is a list of all the added parameters: name, textalign, width, height, autodimensions, scrolling, cookie, popup, link, url, gallery, cssclass, articleid, title, titleposition, hideonoverlayclick, hideoncontentclick, closebutton, transitionin/transitionout, speedin/speedout, overlayshow, overlayopacity, overlaycolor, video, autoplay

See the users guide for version 2.0 for a more detailed explanation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
VERSION 1.1:

I am quite excited about my new version...

Features:

- Simple PopUp, regular PopUp like the one demo:ed on the previous page.
- Multiple PopUp's on the same page using links to open them.
- Prevent the PopUp at page load (like on this page), but not on the previous page where the PopUp opens at page load.
- Use external content through URL, e.g. adding http://myserver.com/mypage.html
- Use image in PopUp, also using title (description) for images.
- Use it as a Image Gallery, open the first image and then have "next" and "previous" navigation buttons to change image.
- Cookie support added (2011-07-30)! You can chose to only show the pop-up once to each visitor. See the manual for more information.
  (For the cookie to trigger you will need to add a name and a cookie persistence, e.g. for 10 days: {simplepopup name=myCookiePop cookie=10}

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you use Simple PopUp, please post a rating and a review at the Joomla! Extensions Directory.

Take care!

Regards,
Anders

Functionality
Pretty much works out-of-the-box; some slight problems if the text is long/wide—may be resolvable with further experimentation—but all good.
Ease of use
Dead easy! Got questions? Read the documentation!
Support
Although the free version displays the author's name, I paid $5—that's *nothing* right?—and received the commercial version within 12 hours.
Documentation
A 17-page user's manual for this "simple" plugin! Comprehensively addresses the extension's features with examples on how it may be used.
I used this to: Sometimes you need to *motivate* people who visit your website to actually *do* something! This plugin (even with standard Joomla) provides a way to get that message across. It's simple, not too intrusive (depending on the message(s) you're conveying). I recommend it. Thanks!

Didn't work



Posted on 19 August 2017
Functionality
It didn't work as I expected
Ease of use
Is easy to use
Owner's reply: I am sorry you couldn't get it working and that you didn't reach out to me to try and figure it out...
Most often the problem lies in either the setup of the plugin, e.g. wrong tags, attributes or some mistake in spelling or it might be a jQuery Conflict. On my F.A.Q. page I've posted a jQuery helper document: https://wasen.net/index.php/f-a-q

Please don't hesitate to contact me for help!

Regards,
Anders
Functionality
It has almost all features I can only imagine. Some less important features don't work in my J3.6 installation.
Ease of use
Easy for users, who are experienced in bracket code.
Support
The developer responded very quickly on a request. Adjusting the plugin for new Joomla versions may take some time.
Documentation
Contains all information I needed. May be, the layout could be improved.
I used this to: showing a window with some information to all users of my website, after a delay of some seconds. For this purpose I have implemented a Joomla article into the popup window. The popup code itself works inside of a module. When the module is visible, the popup window will appear.

Excellent Plugin!!



Posted on 17 August 2016
Functionality
Easy to configure and modify. Install, enable, click a few options, save. Enter the pop-text to your article and your done!
Ease of use
Couldn't be easier. Just some simple tweaking once installed and it works right from the get-go.
Support
Not that I required support, but the developer seems very communicative and pro-active in supporting the plugin.
Documentation
Comprehensive and step-by-step documentation. Well explained and easy to read.
I used this to: Pop-up user notifications to alert registered users of changes and other modifications to my Joomla! 3 site. Just a tip-top and versatile plugin. Top points to the developer on this one.
Functionality
Very highly customizable. I found some troubles with jquery for first installation solved fast with documentation.
Ease of use
Very easy. Very goog shortcode options and overrides.
Documentation
Very complete
Functionality
Exactly what I needed. A nice plugin to show my pdf's in a popup. Very simple to use and now with embedded pdf functionality.
Ease of use
Very easy. Just install, set some settings and place the tags inside your text.
Support
Great support. I needed some functionality not present yet and upon request it was added and more.
Documentation
Enough documentation to get you going. When needed developer answers questions
I used this to: let users see some pdf's without being able to directly save./download them. Of course there still are ways, but for the majority of the users it will do.

Simple but buggy



Posted on 15 April 2015
Functionality
Popup only shows once with the desired text, after that the entire page is shown in the popup. Even with the provided examples
Ease of use
The ease of use makes this an ideal plugin if you want to display content in a lightbox. Simple tag-style plugin you can embed anywhere
Documentation
Basic but sufficient
I used this to: Intended to enable users to view charts larger without redirecting to another page
Owner's reply: That is a FancyBox bug which there is a setting in the backend to fix. Look under Advanced and set "FancyBox fix Joomla 3 (jQuery 1.10.2)" and it will work fine.
Functionality
Would be great if this would work with the default custom html module.
Ease of use
I emailed dev about custom html module - his reply: I can't tell you if it works for you or not, sorry.
Support
Poor
Documentation
poor
I used this to: Not using it anymore. I asked the dev if it works with protostar template and his reply was "Sorry, no, I am not familiar with that... "

No thanks...moving on to other modules with developers who care.
Owner's reply: And I just tried using it in a module myself... It works fine. Head over here for instructions and demo:
http://wasen.net/index.php/contact

Contact me (using the form) if you can't get it working!

Regards,
Anders
Unfortunately I have the same problems that I read. The plug in doesn't work with an external link and nobody answered from support. I could even register to the forum because it didn't work too.
Owner's reply: Please make sure to check your spam-filter in your e-mail as the registration e-mail might have gotten stuck there.
I have had several users registering to the forum these last days and I also tested myself a few minutes ago...

Normally when external links don't work it is because your PHP and/or server settings prevent the loading of external content into a webpage. You need to allow the PHP setting "allow_url_fopen".
Also make sure the URL is complete with "http://" and is valid (of course).

Please don't hesitate to contact me at "Contact" at wasen.net for further assitance!

Regards,
Anders
This is an AWESOME extension. It does everything it says it does, and MORE!! And, with very thorough documentation, it was easy to figure out how to take full advantage of its potential... even the advanced features were clearly and concisely explained. This has added a whole new level of functionality and flair to my website, and I am so grateful to the developer!!

Nice little plugin



Posted on 11 February 2014
I downloaded the free version of this and tried it out on one of my sites. It works really nicely; no time at all to set up or use. I had a couple of questions in the beginning and Anders responded immediately. Since it was only a few bucks, I purchased the pro version to remove the freeware notice on the bottom, although the notice is quite unobstrusive and I didn't even see it until I'd been playing around with the plugin for a while. Very reasonable for a nice little extension.

Not working and no support



Posted on 30 December 2013
I can't get this plugin to work so I tried to get some support. Registration on the support forum doesn't work so no questions can be asked. Contact form doesn't work either - it gives a message "Sending failed. Error: ???" with no actual error written.

If you can't get it to work by yourself, disable it and find another plugin, don't loose your time trying to get some help.
Owner's reply: Sorry you couldn't get it working, and me not being there to support you.
I was not aware that the contact form or forum registration was not working but it should be fixed now.
My hosting service had altered some settings rendering my settings for e-mail server faulty so my site has not been sending out registration e-mails or e-mails to me from the contacts page.

Again sorry, and please reach out to me again if you want to give it another shot!
Simple File Upload
Free

Simple File Upload

By Anders Wasen
File Management
This is a very easy to use, yet powerful, upload file(s) module for Joomla. It can be as simple as just adding the directory to upload to, or you can chose to use any of the below listed functions. Version 1.3.5 is tested and verified on Joomla 3.3! !!!Security Release 2012-01-02!!! JED found an exploit in the code where they managed to upload a file named "file.php5". Unfortunately I had not ad...
Simple File Lister
Free

Simple File Lister

By Anders Wasen
File Management
The idea behind Simple File Lister is to use it in combination with Simple File Upload (http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/core-enhancements/file-management/8424) to list the files in a directory. Version 1.0 is tested and verified on Joomla 2.5! (2012-01-14) Use download for version 1.6/1.7! It can also be used to list any directory with files beside an article. Imagine you have a F.A.Q. a...

Simple Pop-Up

Version:
2.1
Developer:
Anders Wasen
Last updated:
Jul 02 2015
Date added:
Nov 19 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
p
Compatibility:
3
Download

This extension does NOT implement the Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review