Calendars & Events, Education & Culture, Events, Booking & Reservations

This course management (event management) component allows you to have a complete event listing and booking system on your Joomla! site. Your customers can book an existing seminar or register at a prospect list. The OSG Seminar Manager is based on the Course Manager 1.7. It has a great number of new functions, error corrections and enhancements.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

* publish courses (events) in multiples categories or tags, as list and as course details,
* publish course (event) templates without dates (preview of courses (events) - interested parties list)
* display of free seats
* support of 2nd currency using a static exchange rate
* display up to 5 price groups depending on Joomla! Usergroups (e.g. prices for members)
* display if a course (event) is already fully booked
* offer documents to download
* list trainer profiles (trainer lists) and the courses of the trainer
* display of more course (event) details (day, time, room, etc)
* and much more..

Users can:
* book multiple seats on events or
* register as interested party to events without date
* pay via Paypal
* registered users can view their invoices in front-end
* registered users can view favorites

(Settings in the) Backend:
* automatic users registration,
* attachment of invoices on booking confirmation emails,
* customize email and invoice templates,
* administrate all users on this list in back-end and notify them on new course (event) dates,
* prices can be displayed with or without VAT,
* sending particpants or groups of participants emails directly from the backend,
* automatic PDF invoice generation
* generate PDF attendee lists,
* create custom fields for the application form,
* clone courses (events) from templates,
* organize course (event) with tags or categories,
* administrate tutors, tutor profiles,
* allow acces to the backend with limited rights (manager and trainer roles)
* and much more

Mit dem OSG Seminar Manager können Sie auf Ihrer Joomla! Website Ihre Veranstaltungen präsentieren. Sie können feste Termine oder auch Interessentenlisten veröffentlichen. Die Teilnehmer könnnen sich über Ihre Webseite anmelden. Im Administrationsbereich können Sie Ihre Veranstaltungen, Kursttermine, Trainer und Teilnehmer verwalten. Ansichten im **Frontend**: - Veröffentlichung von Kursen (Events) in multiplen Kategorien oder Tags, als Liste oder in Kursdetailansichten, - Anzeige von Kurstemplates ohne Datum als Interessentenliste, - Anzeige freier Plätze oder von ausgebucht oder abgesagt - Anzeige einer zweiten Währung und meherer Preisgruppen (z.B. Mitgliederpreise) - Download von Kursdokumenten - Anzeige diverser Details wie einzelne Sitzungstermine, Zeiten, Veranstaltungsort u.v.m - Anzeige von Trainerprofilen Teilnehmer können - mehrere Plätze auf einer Veranstaltung buchen - sich auf Interessentenliste setzen - über Paypal bezahlen - Ihre Rechnungen und Buchungen im Frontend einsehen und - Favoriten setzen Funktionen - automatische Userregistrierung - Versenden von Anmeldebestätigungen und Rechnungen - Indivuduelle E-Mail- und Rechnungsvorlagen - automatische Information von Interessenten über neue Termine - Teilnehmer oder Gruppen von Teilnehmern können vom Backend aus per E-Mail angeschrieben werden - Preisanzeige mit oder ohne Mehrwertsteuer - automatische Rechnungsgenerierung und -versendung - Anmeldeformular erweiterbar - Kurse kopieren - diverse Zugriffsrechte für den Administrationsbereich (Trainer, Manager) - Trainerverwaltung - und vieles mehr


Backend looks very much usable,
Zero frontend functionality in the free version

Ease of use

Very poor documentation, no clarification anywhere around what requires paid version


Bad - not even all questions in the support forums are readable unless you pay them


Poor - solely written for the paid version which does not help at all.

I used this to: testing the uninstall function of Joomla...
Owner's reply: Dear Tom,

you say: "Zero frontend functionality in the free version"
My answer: We were emailing about this issue: you thought there is only a backend of the OSG Seminar Manager and no possibility to show events at the frontend.
You asked me: "The free download only gives you the component to do the administration of the content and one cleanup plugin. There is no function (module) included to display any content on the website."
I answered that you have to handle the frontend view via Joomla menu, not via module and I sent you this link to our documentation:
At the documentation is explained exactly how to show events at the frontend (with the "free" version).
Maybe you didn't look at this documentation? I think it is a misunderstanding of the functionality of our component. If you want you can try again and see, that there is no problem to have a frontend view.

You say: "Very poor documentation, no clarification anywhere around what requires paid version"
My answer: I emailed to you that there is no need for a premium membership to use the component. And only some additional modules and plugins are available with a membership, but a frontend support doesn't depend on a membership.

You say: "Bad - not even all questions in the support forums are readable unless you pay them"
My answer: That is right. We offer an user to user forum and a premium forum. The access to the premium forum is for premium members only. The reason is, that we guarantee a user support from our experts - and this is not for free. This is a benefit for premium members.

You say: "Documentation - Poor - solely written for the paid version which does not help at all."
My answer: This I do not understand. Our documentation is written for the free component. Only some little parts pertain to modules and plugins of the additional extensions for the OSG seminar Manager (available with premium membership).

I think there is a big misunderstanding of our component. Perhaps are the premium membership and it's benefits not to understand at first glance. This we will try to improve.


There are only a few critical things missing, e.g. the possibility to add multiple teachers to a course. Otherwise It's *extremely* useful.

Ease of use

Once you get the grasp of it, it's easy to use


Support through Forum. You don't always get help or useful information, though. Often OSG staff members will join a thread and provide help


Not very extensive, but is continuously being enhanced

I used this to: Internal courses w/o billing.

i am disappointed

Posted on 01 April 2015

I can not get it to work to export import files . please help. i have tried support joomla code does not send password.

Ease of use



non existent



I used this to: test
Owner's reply: You are disappointed because you want a solution of your problem although you not could send us the informationen we needed. You got email support for free many times. And when we needed a screenshot or an access to your system to help you, you didn't give us. It is impudent to say that support doesn't exist.

Good Component

Posted on 07 January 2015

Functionality wise I found this component really good and this is more than what you can expect from a free component.

Ease of use

Its easy to use, although I would suggest if documentation can be more simplified,would be really easy to know every functionality offered.


Support is good, already have covered major points


Documentation can be more simple than it is as of yet, but that being said overall its good.

I used this to: I used this for a course calender in a website, the component is really great. Although I had to make some customizations like putting captcha and adding some important fields from back end.
It would be really helpful if 'custom fields' functionality could be more flexible.

Excellent component!

Posted on 18 December 2014

Many smart features that are easy to use.

Ease of use

If you can use Joomla you can use this too without problems. It's easy to use.


Nice support with fast response.

I used this to: I was looking for a component with course management and found this amazing Component. This component has everything I need! You will not be disappointed!

A superb choice for medium sized Seminar Institutions We chose this extension because we wanted to facilitate seminar administration for a small writing academy in Switzerland.

The extension has all the must have functionality out of the box. (Set up courses, display a course list in the front-end, accept bookings, send invoices and attendee-lists, produce course certificates.) Whats more: I am confident that the team behind OSG Seminar Manager is committed to continually developing this extension further. An important consideration for us because we are in the seminar business for the long term and would not want to use an extension that may go away in a year or two.

I have yet to find another free extension with so many useful features packed under its hood. I would have gladly paid a couple of hundred bucks for this package and that is what I donated after everything was up and running.

Thanks OSG Team.

Very consistent und professional tool. The Team behind the solution is marvelous, very kind and anytime helpful also if you Need additional Support.

Simply, it just a very good choice!

Very helfull!

Posted on 16 September 2014

A great component and very usefull.

OSG-Team, many thanks, also for goog support.

I am new to Joomla so I needed help to just figure out how to install the extension. Viktor was patient with me and very helpful. It turned out to be very easy to install, once I knew what to do.

The extension itself is the best seminar listing and booking software I have found for our purpose - better than any of the paid extensions.

It is easy to customize the extension to meet our specific needs.

Many of the other extensions don't make provisions to list the Instructor for the course. That seems strange, because in our experience most people want to know who is teaching the course.

I have searched everywhere - not just Joomla, but everywhere I could think of - and in my humble opinion, this is the best Seminar Listing and Booking software I have seen.

They have great demos of the front end and the back end, and you can review all of the documentation.

I was even able to test the demo to make sure that we could embed a page with an instructor's seminars into a web page on the instructor's web site. It "responsive" feature even works on the small pages we created for mobile devices.

To be fair, there are some extensions I haven't tried because their demos are so limited that I cannot tell if they will meet our needs or not, and they emphasize that they will not provide a trial period or give a refund if their extension doesn't meet our needs.

That is not a problem with the OSG Seminar Manager. It hasn't cost us anything, but we will definitely be sending them a nice donation to thank them for the great work that they do.

We learned long ago that when you have enough confidence in your product to offer a money back guarantee, you sell more products.

OSG goes even further: They have so much confidence this this great product that let you use it and then pay on the honor system once you see how much it is worth.

Love this extension, which makes the Seminar Manager really usefull. Only litte failure: The date is displayed in English instead of German, but this might be changed within the next update. Very good. Can recommend this piece of software.

OSG Seminar Manager

Open Source Group GmbH
Last updated:
Jul 26 2016
Date added:
Nov 19 2014
GPLv2 or later
Free download
Uses updater:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support