Introduction

Social Web, Social Display

Using Lifestream you can link to your accounts by simply entering your username. Once you save a stream, it is available to be added to a collection (which is a group of streams) or displayed on its own.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

A Social Media Streaming Joomla Plugin

Some sites, like Facebook, require some extra authentication to work, which Lifestream helps you with.

Lots of options

With 3 kinds of modules and 4 component view types, you have plenty of ways to display your streams. We provide a couple of base themes you can use to style them, but you can disable them and easily set up your own with some CSS.

Displaying streams

Streams can be organized into collections, or displayed singularly. You can make a menu link to Lifestream, or display streams in a module anywhere you like. Collections can be displayed in a tab, grid, or integrated layout options, in either the module or menu link. There are options on how to organize, arrange, and display your streams, and the styling can be easily overriddeen with your own CSS styling.

Custom formatting

If you like the way Lifestream looks by default, you can just plug in your streams and go. However you are able to change the way everything is formatted. Each plugin comes with a way to customize the format of each stream item--for example, if you want to remove the icon or timestamp. Also with several style options, you can choose one of the default ones or disable it and create your own.

Access and support

With Lifestream you get 3 months of access to the latest version and our support. This gives you plenty of time to get your site up and running, as well as access to new versions as they become available with new features.

Current social network support

22 supported social networks, with more regularly added.
- Google+
- Instagram
- Delicious
- Digg
- Facebook
- Flickr
- Foursquare
- Google Plus
- Grooveshark
- Instagram
- Joomla Content
- K2 Content
- Lastfm
- LinkedIn
- Pandora
- Picasa
- Posterous
- RSS/Blogs
- StumbleUpon
- Tumblr
- Twitter
- Vimeo
- YouTube

If you have a desired network, you can let us know and we will consider adding new ones based on interest!

Changelog

3.1.4 - June 2013
  • Update Twitter streams to use the new OAuth-enabled Twitter API (1.1). Mandatory update if you're using twitter, since your stream will not work from June 11 2013.
  • Although official support for Joomla 1.5 is lost at this point, a new Lifestream version 2.2 - compatible with Joomla 1.5 - has been released with this important Twitter update
3.0/3.1 - October 2012
  • Joomla 2.5/3.0 compatibility
  • Removed Nooku Framework for easier compatibility and all kinds of bug fixing
  • Added Google+
  • Added Instagram

This extension promised so much.



So I pulled out the wallet and gave some of my money, in return for 3 months support and an extension that offered a great deal. I was so happy, until I installed it and found that some of the backend refused to work and the Tumblr feed crashed my site.



I submitted a ticket for support, and after a very long wait (weeks) and update was given. Tumblr had been fixed (Hooorah!) but now YouTube had been broken (boooo!). So once again I returned to the support.



My 3 months of support is now closing tomorrow, and I have yet to have a working example of Lifestream on my Joomla site.



The last comment made by any Joomlashack representative was 9 weeks ago. Nothing short of despicable customer support that I would be embarrassed to associate my company with.



The current version of Lifestream DOES NOT work properly and there's no sign of this company doing anything about it. BUYERS BEWARE.


What a let down


Posted on 01 September 2011

I haven't been able to get this to work right since day one. Since my first install the component has thrown error after error trying to get facebook updates to display to no avail.



Tried to get a fix using Joomlashack's "forum" (before my 6th month subscription ran out...stupid) and all I got, in so many words, was "it's a problem with facebook's api, nothing we can do about it"



Well guess what, don't release a component, ESPECIALLY a PAID one if you can't support it. Don't advertise it to do something if it can't.



I really expected more out of Joomlashack. This was my first purchase from them and I am let down. The 6th month "support" subscription shows poor service and just makes them sound greedy, and on top of it even when my subscription was up to date, the site was clunky and cumbersome.



I'll be moving on, unfortunately.

Owner's reply: It's a fact that Facebook update's their API on occasion, however, it's also a fact that whenever they do we are sure to update Lifestream to work with it. If you were given information that Lifestream was not working with Facebook because of API issues, it was simply to let you know that there was a temporary issue until the extension could be updated.

As for 'poor service' - a support 'subscription' is not at all uncommon in the Open Source world. Please have a look around at other extension providers and you will see that many do the same. There is nothing at all 'greedy' about needing to pay for development time to update extensions, especially in light of the need to make updates to ensure an extension that works with 3rd party services works when those services make changes.

I spend 23 hours working with this extension and had no success after installing (finally) it crashed the site. Get to start over now... how fun... Support was very slow in responding some responses took more then 3 hours. The have packaged everything together to make a huge file so you have to change max_upload in your mysql and if you can do that the install may crash your site like it did mine. Very complicated and not at all user friendly at least on the install side i was never able to actually use the extension. However they did refund my money immediately upon request.

Owner's reply: We're very sorry that the extension did not work out for you. We would, however, like to be sure that reviews are accurate and fair, and you've written one that is neither.
3 hours for a reply in a support system is nothing to complain about.
You don't have to touch your database to increase max upload file size, and if you don't want to adjust php.ini or ask your hosting company to do it for you, then you can use the provided details on how to 'manually' install the extension.
The complexity of this extension does require some assurance that a server environment will allow it to work, however, it's not so complex as to keep 99% of the people who download and use it successfully from doing so.

Great Tool


Posted on 21 April 2011

Using it on J1.6.3.

Really a great tool - enables you to incorporate all your social streams on one site. Highly configurable. If a filter is added per stream to show only certain messages, then its the ultimate social stream tool.



Support is very friendly and helpful.



Highly recommendable and definitely worth it´s money!

Owner's reply: Thank you for the review, and we do have your feature request for stream filters on our list. That is a great idea and we plan to implement it in the next major release.

Nice component


Posted on 30 March 2011

I have been using Lifestream for a few weeks now. It was relatively easy to install and looks great out-of-the-box, but I was able to easily modify the look to suit my "brand".



It is too bad the Facebook users have to make their profiles open to the public in order to work, but that is a Facebook privacy issue, I suppose. I don't have many users on my site because of this. There are many Facebook Connect type components that pull the status without having to make the profile open.



Anyway, the support is great with any questions I have had. I am surprised more people aren't using it. It pulls all your social media together and displays them in one place. I really love this product!


Pros:

This extension promises to be the all in one news feed, and looking at the demos it does this quite well.



Cons:

This extension has major compatibility issues with any average server.

Old versions of MySQL and PHP will not run this extension, so don't waste your time and money.

I presume you need the very latest versions of these as I have MySQL 5.0.92



I signed up here to warn others as the level of support was very poor from the developers.



I have used/built many extensions in my time and never have I had such difficulty getting an extension to install.

Owner's reply: Hi there. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues getting Lifestream installed on your website.

The vast majority of our customers have never experienced any issues getting Lifestream installed & configured. But in case any of our customers ever experience issues, we have a very helpful, prompt and efficient support system in place to help them.

Have you upgraded your version of MySQL and PHP? The minimum requirements to run Lifestream are: PHP 5.2.6+ with MySQLi support; MySQL 5+; Support for CURL, OpenSSL; Joomla 1.5+

If you are still experiencing issues with lifestream after you have upgraded PHP and MySQL, please submit a ticket at our site and we will be more than happy to promptly assist you.

The major hurdle I had to overcome was actually installing the package. This appears to be a shared problem as the situation of hanging during the install process is documented and the workaround procedure explained.



Once past that hurdle every thing works as far as I have used it so far (with Facebook, Flickr and Twitter combined into a single feed).



A big plus is not having to mess around with getting app ids from the sites as some extensions require.



It's not expensive and it would have cost me considerable time and hassle to think out a similar way to use free extensions so therefore I don't grudge the contribution towards costs!



So persevere to get it installed and you'll appreciate the effort! Of course it would be even better if it could be packaged in a more friendly manner.


Let me first say ... I understand this extension can probably be made to work. However, it is seldom that I run across an extension that gives so many problems right off the bat. (you can see the most popular thing on support site is "I'm having trouble installing Lifestream" etc ...) I tried it on 2 server setups, 2 separate sites, (after having to install manually) then got off-the-wall errors on both sites. And since the Joomlashack folks don't give refunds ... I'd say buy at your own risk. Again, I'm sure there's some good support to help fix the problems (and Joomlashack is traditionally a good company) but geez I'm not use to this much run-around to make a Joomla extension play nice.

Owner's reply: We're sorry that you had trouble installing our product, and you are correct that in some certain server environments Lifestream may not install without updating a setting or two. Since you didn't take advantage of our support, we cannot say why this might be, but so far we have been able to help anyone set it up that has contacted us. I encourage you to do so, and if we are unable to get it running we will provide a refund (as we have done for cases where a product was purchased but cannot be used). Lifestream uses some features of PHP that are standard, but we have come to find some hosting providers disable a lot of PHP functionality in the name of security. In reality they are disabling a lot more than necessary, and making it hard to use more advanced functionality of PHP.

The GUI is easy to understand and the features are pretty enough. Installation and configuration are slick and neat. Waiting for module with tabs.


While myAPI is very cool and powerful, neither it nor any other ext that I have found allow for the Facebook feed from the main profile to be pulled into Joomla. LifeStream does this with ease. (Well it was easy after I realised that the client needed to create a fresh post so that I could see it. :-) -- Lifestream is not retroactive, which makes sense when you think about it -- Thanks Jeremy for your very prompt assistance. Very happy.

OSDonate

OSDonate

Free | Donations | Joomlashack
3
Score:
100
25 reviews
OSDonate is the best and easiest Paypal Donate extension for Joomla 3. OSDonate allows you to easily show a PayPal donate button inside a Joomla module. Please try OSDonate and you'll see how easy it is to collect donations. Here are the main features of OSDonate: OSDonate integrates easily with Paypal. Just enter your email address. If needed, OSDonate can hovers / floats on the page while users scroll You can inserts OSDonate into articles You can customize the intro text to explain why you're collecting donations You can specify the page people are sent to after a success donation You can specify the page people are sent to after a canceled donation You can display your company logo on Paypal's donation page You can display your custom description on Paypal's donation page User can choose either a fixed or an adjustable donation amount Users can choose the donation currency There's a full language file for easy translation OSDonate is fully responsive
m
OSDownloads

OSDownloads

Free | Downloads | Joomlashack
3
Score:
100
16 reviews
OSDownloads is the easiest way to add downloads to Joomla. OSDownloads gives you an easy and reliable downloads directory. OSDownloads also integrates directly to MailChimp and Constant Contact so you can collect emails in exchange for downloads. You can use OSDownloads to build your newsletter subscribers or have emails on file so that the users who download can be contacted later. Here are some of the key features of OSDownloads: Provide downloadable files for your user Organize your downloads into a directory with nested categories Collect email addresses in exchange for a download MailChimp and Constant Contact integration Add a before and after description for downloads Require users to agree to a Terms of Service for the download Show a documentation link for the download Show a demo link for the download Show a support link for the download Use a lightbox for the download Collect statistics on your downloads Add a menu for one or multiple categories of files Add a menu to a single file Export list of emails to a CSV file
c m
OSTimer

OSTimer

Free | Events | Joomlashack
3
Score:
99
38 reviews
OSTimer is a fairly straightforward countdown module that allows you to countdown to a particular event. You can choose the year, month, day, hour, minute and even the second at which your event begins. OSTimer is designed to be very easy to setup. Here are some of the key features of OSTimer: There's a full language file and everything is translatable You can create or hide the event title You can choose European and US Date formats You can show how long is left until the event starts You can add a link with more information about the event You can show a live countdown clock that updates in real time
m
OSYouTube

OSYouTube

Free | Social Media | Joomlashack
3
Score:
98
44 reviews
Have you had problems embedding YouTube videos into a Joomla site? OSYoube the fastest and easiest way to use YouTube with Joomla. OSYouTube allows you to embed YouTube videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video URL from YouTube. No more messing around with embed codes. No more problems with WYSIWYG editors destroying your video code. All you need is the URL. All you have to do is copy and paste the URL of a video from YouTube into your articles. The plugin takes care of the rest! What could be simpler? Not only is OSYouTube easy to use, but it comes with powerful, advanced features. Here are some of the features of OSYouTube: OSYouTube automatically detects YouTube URLs OSYouTube embeds are fully responsive and mobile-ready You can choose a custom video player width and height You can ignore regular links to YouTube if you don't want to convert some links into videos
p
Tabs and Sliders

Tabs and Sliders

Free | Article Elements | Joomlashack
3
Score:
96
105 reviews
Tabs and Sliders makes is really easy to show your content inside tabs or sliders. This extension has been developed with ease-of-use and styling flexibility in mind! It simply works! Using simple syntax you can easily organize your content inside articles. For example, you can organize your long product descriptions into tabs. Also, using the Tab & Sliders module, you can display other modules in tabs or sliders! This can really help to save important space on your site. Tabs and Sliders is 10 years old, has been downloaded over 1 million times, has over 100 reviews on the Joomla Extensions Directory and has a rating of almost 100%.
m p
OSToolbar

OSToolbar

Free | Education & Culture | Joomlashack
3
Score:
96
3 reviews
The OSToolbar is a great way to provide OSTraining Beginner videos to your customers directly within their Joomla site. Features: -Beginner videos -The videos are concise. Your time is precious. Each video is only around 4 to 5 minutes and gets right to the point. -The videos are popular. These are the same videos we use to teach 1000s of customers on OSTraining.com. -The videos are updated. We're constantly improving the videos. You'll get instant updates. -Frontend and Backend access -Easy to update. It uses Joomla's built-in updater.
c p
OSWistia

OSWistia

Free | Social Media | Joomlashack
3
Score:
96
3 reviews
OSWistia the fastest and easiest way to use Wistia with Joomla. Have you had problems embedding Wistia videos into a Joomla site? You should be using OSWistia. OSWistia allows you to embed Wistia videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video ID from Wistia. The ID is normally about 10 characters long and looks like this: d2h3lefv9p Not only is OSWistia easy to use, but it comes with powerful, advanced features. Plus, OSWistia comes with a fully responsive display for all your videos.
p
OSContent

OSContent

Free | Mass Content | Joomlashack
3
Score:
93
20 reviews
OSContent is designed for managing, adding, creating, and deleting articles, categories and menu links. OSContent is a wonderful time-saver if you need to quickly add content to a Joomla site. With a few clicks, you create all the categories, articles and menu links you need for your Joomla site. Why waste time repeating steps over and over again, when you can do the same thing with just a few clicks? Here are some of the key features of OSContent: You can create articles in bulk You can create categories in bulk You can create menu links in bulk You can delete articles in bulk You can set the Created Date and Published Date for all new content You can set the alias for all new content You can set the author for all new content You can set the Published and Featured status for all new content
c
ShackSlides

ShackSlides

Paid download | Slideshow | Joomlashack
3
Score:
93
1 review
A Joomla Slideshow Module ShackSlides is not just a slideshow module, but a way to feature your images in style. The most powerful feature of ShackSlides is the ability to utilize content items as the source for your slideshow. Since it is built using an independent javascript slideshow script, it doesn't matter if you are using jQuery, Mootools, any other Javascript framework or no framework at all. This reduces the number of script conflicts and problems you will have with combining too many different extensions. Easy, Reliable, and Optimized for Joomlashack Templates It works on both Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.0, and support K2, FlexiContent, and Joomla content (so long as these extensions work in the Joomla version). You can easily customize the way it appears by using one of the color themes; and, if you wish, you can override the entire way it displays using Joomla's HTML overrides method. Unlike most free slideshow extensions, you get access to our support for 3 months after purchase. That gives you plenty of time to get the support you need should any problems arise. New features will be added over time, so if you have a great idea for the module let us know! We'd like to build a slideshow module that you need rather than build a module that we think you want. Licensing ShackSlides is released under the GNU GPL v3 license--read full license . Your purchase includes access to support and upgrades for 3 months. ShackSlides Key Features: Over 10 effect options! Support for 4 sources: Joomla Content, K2 Items, FlexiContent Items, or a folder 8 color themes Can be overridden with a template override Slides can be linked to content or an images directory Optional descriptions pulled from content Javascript neutral Easy to translate Changelog Version 2.1 - October 2012 - Joomla 3.0 compatibility - Responsive classes (Bootstrap compatbile) added Version 2.0 - Aug 16, 2012 - Included new source: Visionary - Easy configuration and manage slides and collections through Visionary, without needing the images.xml file. Version 1.2 - May 2, 2012 - Full support for Joomla 2.5 - Upgraded sliderman.js to its latest version - Included support for latests versions of K2 and Flexicontent (now supports Joomla!2.5 for these two sources) - New configurable option for positioning the description box outside the image slider itself - New configurable option for transparent background for the description Version 1.1.4 - July 25, 2011 - Updated for 1.7 support - Fixed bug for multiple versions on same page - Bugfixes for display issues at specific configuration settings Version 1.1 - March 2, 2011 - Updated for Joomla 1.6 support - Added new effects selection of 10 base effects - Added new color themes Version 1.0 - December 1, 2010 - Initial release - Supports 4 sources in Joomla 1.5, Folders, Joomla Content, FlexiContent, and K2 items - Javascript neutral slideshow functionality using Sliderman.js
m
OSMeta

OSMeta

Free | SEO & Metadata | Joomlashack
3
Score:
79
8 reviews
OSMeta is the easiest way to manage metadata for your Joomla site. With OSMeta you will be able to easily control page titles, keywords and URLs for all your articles via a single screen, which makes editing fast. When entering meta titles and meta descriptions, there's also a character counter to make it easy to see when your metadata is just right or too long. OSMeta is ridiculously simple and powerful. OSMeta should definitely be in your Joomla SEO toolbox. Here are some of the key features of OSMeta: Update all your metadata from a single screen Update all your metadata from inside articles Manage your meta titles in bulk Manage meta descriptions in bulk Control metadata for articles, categories and menu links Automatically generate titles and descriptions
c p
OSEmbed

OSEmbed

Free | Social Media | Joomlashack
3
Score:
76
3 reviews
All you need is the URL and you can embed almost anything into a Joomla site! Social media is really important for web sites. Soon or later, everyone needs to embed a Tweet, a Facebook post, YouTube or Vimeo video. The old, painful process was to copy-and-paste the embed code - - a solution that often didn’t always work. OSEmbed makes embedding super-easy. All you need is the URL and you can embed almost anything into a Joomla site! Even if you are not an experienced developer, with OSEmbed, you can easily embed content to your Joomla site from over 60 sources including these: Facebook, YouTube, Vimeo, DailyMotion, Instagram, SoundCloud, Twitter, Slideshare, Flickr, Hulu, Kickstarter, Vine, Getty Images and many more! With OSEmbed, you can easily embed content to your Joomla site from over 60 sources including these: 23hq AmCharts Animoto Aol On AudioSnaps Bambuser Cacoo ChartBlocks Chirbit Clyp CircuitLab CollegeHumor Coub Crowd Ranking Daily Mile DailyMotion Deviantart Dipity Dotsub Edocr EgliseInfo Facebook Flickr Funny Or Die GettyImages Github Gist Google Maps Google Docs Google Drawings Google Sheets HuffDuffer Hulu IFTTT Infogram Instagram Issuu Kickstarter Meetup MixCloud MobyPicture NFB OfficialFM Porfolium Rapidengage Rdio Release Wire Reverbnation Roomshare Sapo Videos Scribd ShortNote Rutube Shoudio Sketchfab SlideShare SoundCloud SpeakerDeck Spotify Ted Twitter Ustream Viddler VideoJug Vimeo Vine Youtube
p
OSpam-a-not

OSpam-a-not

Free | Site Security | Joomlashack
3
Score:
76
2 reviews
OSpam-a-not is the easiest way to protect your site from spam. OSpam-a-not uses two unobtrusive techniques to protect your forms from a flood of spam. First, OSpam-a-not uses a Time Gate. This is a hidden timestamp that records how long it took to fill in a form. If the form was submitted more quickly than humanly possible, we can block the submission. Second, OSpam-a-not uses a Honey Pot. A text field is added to the form and hidden by adding a style tag at the end of the document head tag. It isn't visible to a human user, but a spambot doesn't see that and fills in the field anyway. If we find anything at all in that field when the form is submitted, we've caught a spambot in the honey pot! And the form is blocked.
p
OSVimeo

OSVimeo

Free | Social Media | Joomlashack
3
Score:
73
1 review
Have you had problems embedding Vimeo videos into a Joomla site? OSVimeo the fastest and easiest way to use Vimeo with Joomla. OSYouTube allows you to embed Vimeo videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video URL from Vimeo All you have to do is paste the URL of a video into your articles. The plugin takes care of the rest! What could be more simple? Here are some of the key features of OSVimeo: OSVimeo automatically detects Vimeo URLs OSVimeo embeds are fully responsive and mobile-ready OSVimeo allows you to choose a custom player width and height
p
Simple Renew

Simple Renew

Free | Membership & Subscriptions | Joomlashack
3
Score:
72
3 reviews
Simple Renew is the best way to create a membership site with Joomla 3. Why is Simple Renew the best? Because it brings together Joomla and Recurly.com, which is a wonderful combination: Joomla allows you to build world-class websites. Recurly.com allows you to run a high-quality subscription service. Plus, we are really, really committed to making Simple Renew as easy to use as possible. We promise that Simple Renew will be fun and easy to use. Features: Seamless integration of Recurly and Joomla User-friendly UI User is able to pay from your site without being redirected elsewhere The checkout process is a very simple, one page checkout, thus drastically reducing cart abandonment issues. There's also an option for Pay by Paypal Option for creating free trials Each user has their own account area within your Joomla site User can update their account billing information within their account area User can download invoices from their account area User can start and stop auto-renews from their account area User can upgrade to different plans Integrates with Recurly's coupon feature Integrates with Recurly's emailing system Integrates with Recurly's dunning management Multi-subscription support Integrates with Joomla's ACL Integrates with Joomla's Language Manager. All text can be customized and/or translated User info is automatically synced between Joomla and Recurly PCI Compliance: http://simplerenew.com/pci-compliance/ Test mode available using Recurly's test gateway And much more... We also have excellent documentation and support available!
c p
OSMap

OSMap

Free | Site Map | Joomlashack
3
Score:
71
90 reviews
OSMap is the best and easiest Joomla sitemap, OSMap will help Google and other search engines understand your site content. Anything you can do to help Google read your site is a good thing. This is why we develop OSMap. OSMap is the easiest way to add a sitemap to your Joomla site. All you need to do is install OSMap and it will do the rest. OSMap will automatically create a Google-friendly sitemap for all your content. Here are some of the key features of OSMap: You can generate an XML sitemap for search engines You can generate an Image sitemap for search engines, especially Google You can generate an HTML sitemap for your visitors You can create a Google News sitemap OSMap supports all old Xmap plugins and has an easy import feature for Xmap users OSMap allows multilingual sitemaps OSMap provides a powerful cache for large sitemaps You can set the update priority and frequency for your content OSMap automatically detects and removes duplicate links IMPORTANT THINGS TO NOTE The Free version of OSMap will create links for Joomla's core extensions. You will need plugins for 3rd party extensions. OSMap will not improve your SEO. OSMap is a tool to help search engines find your content. OSMap is not a crawler. OSMap creates sitemaps based on your menu links. If you haven't done so, please create menu links to your content so that OSMap can work. ABOUT REVIEWS ON THIS PAGE Please, please, please, PLEASE CONTACT OUR SUPPORT. Sitemaps are complex things and can require time to set up correctly. Something you may think is "incorrect" is probably there for a very good reason. If you have problems with OSMap, please contact our support and read the documentation before leaving a review. We will not able to support the free version for much longer if this extension page continues to be spammed by lazy and mistaken reviews.
c p
JCal Pro

JCal Pro

Paid download | Events | Joomlashack
3
Score:
48
137 reviews
JCal Pro is the best way to add events to your Joomla site. JCal Pro is an event calendar and registration component with a gorgeous front-end display. Feature highlights include: native Joomla! permissions for event creation, management and event viewing location management and event geolocation nested categories custom fields for events and event registration private or public events WYSIWYG event descriptions administrative theme installation and management back-end event management re-captcha support an integrated search plugin feature-rich mini-calendar and latest events modules the all new FLEX module a convenient content editor plugin RSS feeds SEF URL support robust print-views JomSocial plugins and Community Builder plugins
c m p

Lifestream

Version:
3.2.0
Developer:
Joomlashack
Last updated:
Dec 02 2016
Date added:
Nov 18 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Uses updater:
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money