Joomla! Extensions Directory




SIMGallery is the TRUE community-driven gallery. Integrated seamlessly with JomSocial, EasySocial, Community Builder and JomWall (JS/ES/CB/JW) it allows your users to create and manage their own albums, photos and videos. SIMGallery mirrors the gallery feature of Facebook EXACTLY! Browsing is as easy as using the arrow keys.

  • Get this

Key features:
- Media type: Photos, Profile Pictures, Videos, Wall photos/videos
- Fully responsive: displays beautifully on ALL devices
- Theater mode
- Watermark
- Facebook photos import
- Upload/link videos
- Remote storage (Amazon S3)
- Advanced access settings
- Multiple profile pictures management (optional)
- Categories (optional). Search albums/photos based on categories
- Tag media, post comments, like media, like comments, report media, set photo as profile picture, download photos, set access levels etc etc
- 3 different types of tags: tags of users, custom tags, and keyword tags (that can be set in the configuration). If you have keyword tags set, users can search for media based on these tags.
- Migrate existing media from JomSocial.

Combine categories with keywords for a truly powerful community gallery! Eg. Categories: Houses, Condos and Apartments; Keywords: 2-room, 3-room, refurbished, new. SIMGallery will now display meaningful search results. Allows you to run specific themed websites for real estate, pets, model agency, photography etc or just general community. The sky's the limit!

SIMGallery can be used standalone without the need for JS/ES/CB/JW. However, if you're integrating with them, there are 2 levels of integration:

Level 1) Post new activities on JS/ES's wall, JomWall, and CB Activity. Also post notifications for JS and ES users. SIMGallery will remain its own separate gallery, while your users will still be able to use JS/ES's gallery. Useful if you need a community gallery with category features.

Level 2) SIMGallery will completely take over JS/ES's photo and/or video gallery (ES does not have videos, so SIMGallery fixes that). All links to JS/ES's gallery will be redirected to the relevant SIMGallery links. SIMGallery will automatically create a new Wall Photos album for every user and display wall photos in them! Your users can continue to post wall photos or videos on JS/ES, and they will be linked to SIMGallery.

SIMGallery allows admins to set 2 types of user group permissions:

1) Admins - access and delete all media in the frontend regardless of permissions.

2) Media - create albums and upload photos/videos. Instead of all registered users, you can limit this to particular user group(s).

SIMGallery comes with 4 modules: the Albums module, Photos module, Videos module and Ranking module. These modules are super highly configurable, and the Ranking module even allows you to run contests on your website.

It also comes with JS, ES and CB plugins that will display a user's latest albums, photos or videos on their profiles.

It's IMPOSSIBLE to describe everything here! Please check the documentation for full description.

This component was quite promising. I bought a license for my website during the development: I was looking for a media plugin for JomSocial.

Unfortunately, the component is not working correctly with JomSocial. A few bugs makes this plugin not working with JomSocial. As stated on their website I contacted their support desk with a few questions regarding this errors.

Unfortunately, I haven't heard anything from their support desk. I paid for the extension, it's not working and they have a no money refund policy.

Please consider buying this extension twice.

Owner's reply: Hi
Sorry for the late support as it was the holiday period here. All support tickets have been responded now.

I have used Simbunch products for a few years now, sometimes having ditched them for other easier to use, less buggy components (ie inviter)

I had used Simgallery once before 2 years ago but gave up as it was very buggy


This latest version of Simgallery provides the enhancements that any social site would benefit from.

It was easy to install and cfg.

I only had one problem which was dealt with efficiently by support within a couple of days

It seems that Simbunch has really picked up its customer service levels and now providing products that do match their claims.

Although there are a lot of good reviews for this product, I feel they may be for the previous version. This new, re-written version had a lot of bugs when I installed it, although to be fair they spent over a week fixing everything I reported. I am still wary of using it though in case other as yet un-found bugs may be there. I also have found that their own website shows error messages and often won't load at all most mornings I try to access it so I do wonder just how well they test things.

There is no support for animated GIF files and limited interaction with Community builder activity stream, so that plus the bugs means I will not be installing on my live server at present.

If you want a 'Facebook image gallery' replacement this is probably great but as a community Builder integrated replacement for CB Gallery, I think it has the potential to be the best there is out there but unfortunately it is not there yet.

Owner's reply: Hi
We have actually already fixed all known bugs that have been reported by our many users, so you have no worries about that. I have also repeatedly told you that the problem you were having with the scrolling is not a bug, but because you have a top panel from another extension with a z-index of over 2 million (yes, over 2000000!!!) which is covering up everything, but I cannot help if you do not believe me.

Also, I have also repeatedly told you the integration with the activity stream is not limited but designed like that on purpose, so there won't be unnecessary spam appearing on user's activity stream. This is also identical to the kind of activities Facebook allow on users' timelines.

We are sorry that after assisting you with the extension actively throughout that you are still unhappy, but the problems you have with the software aren't bugs. They are designed that way on purpose as I've explained to you, and we simply cannot modify it to suit individual user's needs. Such changes can only be rolled out step by step, or be custom modified as with any other opensource software.

Lastly, the errors you saw on our site was because we were upgrading mysql and cpanel, that's all.

I have just finished setting up my website (I run a minecraft gaming site) with SIMGallery, and I must say this is one extension that deserves all the credit it can get.

First of, they weren't kidding when they say SIMGallery works just like Facebook. There are so many details that went into this extension, it's just breathtaking. I especially like how you can leave comments and like photos when viewing a list of photos without having to view each photo. Other things I found really useful include:

- how you can change a photo or album's privacy level in 1 click

- how you can delete photos and set them as profile picture in 1 click

- the uploading is very sleek. Just for fun, I tested it with my android tablet and it works too!

- the keyword tagging is especially useful for my users. Now they can tag their photos based on the list of minecraft mods keywords I've set.

- all the drag and drop features

The installation was straightforward. The only support I needed was finding the language file. For some reason the language file is not in the normal Joomla language folder, but in the component's folder itself.

All in all I am very pleased with the extension. Like I said, it's just stunning how much attention is paid to small details that really improve the user friendliness. If I could, I'd give it 6 stars!

Owner's reply: Hi
Thanks! Appreciate the review. We have several new things planned, so do check back often :)

I have given 2 stars for the idea, which is good - take jomsocial and present as an image gallery, grab images and collate (a simple version of Pinterest).

Unfortunately this plugin DOES NOT integrate with Jomsocial at all.

The developer has told me he is working on it, but until this is done I would not go near it.

Owner's reply: Hi
Version 4 has been released, do check it out! Integration with JomSocial is much tighter now, with several new integrations introduced.

Integration with JomSocial is not complete.. uploading a photo directly to activity stream is broken. Upload a photo, click on the resulting thumbnail, and it takes me to an album. And no, the photo is not in the album. This is a pretty serious bug and it needs fixed.

Support is unresponsive. I submitted a support ticket Thursday evening, made sure the correct domain is registered with the license, as required, and even provided a login for SimBunch. It is now Saturday evening and I have yet to get a response.

I wouldn't mind so much if they at least showed some willingness to work with me. If they can't fix it, maybe help me find a work-around. But to just leave me hanging is not acceptable. I now have a choice - find my own way to work around this issue or let almost $100 go down the drain. A simple reply could have avoided this review.

Owner's reply: Hi

We regret the inconvenience caused. However, please note that we are committed to respond to support tickets within 2 working days, as stated on our Support page. Also, do note that as our time zone is +8 GMT, we received your ticket in the middle of Friday, not Thursday. Since we do not work on weekends (everyone has families to attend to), there was nobody to respond to your ticket.

That said, we've had actually cleared all outstanding tickets a few hours ago (on a Sunday, no less). Your ticket should have received a response already.

Done in minutes

Posted on 09 May 2012

Thanx for this outstand component for Joomla 2.5! I use it in combination with the Community Builder 1.8 and it´s work like a charm! That´s how components and modules has to be. Especially the crop function ist quite perfect for clean designs.

The cherry on top would be to have the possibility to change the grafic/css in backend of joomla without changing your css-file.

I rate this as "Good" only because the idea is good and I already am a developer and know how to fix the code. The extension is really helpful but not free and when you pay the extension and a pro version too, you expect not to run on such many bugs. NOTE: this is not for the user who doesn't know PHP and ajax/javascript as you will be forced to ask for extension developers help to adapt the extension for your site which will be, I presume, not for free as I can see on 'custom development' page on developers site. I suggest to contact the owner and ask for the prices he will charge for his work to adapt the extension to your site. This is of course if you like this idea so much.

This could be a very promising extension if this developer didn't stop on fixing the bugs. I see a lot of free extensions which developers provided a much better support and thus give you the opportunity to extend the extension by buying some extended versions but this one's not. You must pay for a base and pro version which are not ready to go after installing. You must track the bags and then be sure when everything is Ok to start using it live. One more thing I can't understand is why is this payed extension limited to one site only or 3 sites if payed more, if you must fix bugs by yourself or paying this developer extra for doing it for you.

I strongly recommend to this developer to test the extension on different templates and such, to be aware of bugs and fix them before continuing to sell this buggy extension for $80 + $50!

This Looked Excellent

Posted on 26 June 2009

And when it worked it was excellent, unfortunately, it took me weeks to get it working, and the support that I received was very very poor (granted part of this may have been down to my rudeness) but I waited and then mailed mike direct with the issues and got no response that helped!! I then asked for a refund and was flatly refused, but he did offer to charge me for a custom install - saying it was down to errors on my site - however I did pay someone else to sort it out which they did in a couple of minues - I then paid for the pro-upgrade - As I know nothing about coding I was left having to pay more cash to get something to work that should have when I installed it. Once I got it working - Mike site was down (about a week ago or so) and no one could access the component, no view or uploads. I ended up having to reinstall (no fault of mikes or simm gallery) and again could not get it to work, So have now removed completely (would not even bother to ask for a refund) if you are into coding and know what your doing then buy this it will suit you. if not STAY WELL AWAY - as the support (even before my rudeness) was very very poor - have rated a component in its working form as excellent - support - very very very poor

This the best concept of a gallery system I have found. It integrates nicely with community builder and looks pretty much just like facebook.

Unfortunately, it has many issues. I purchased this about 2 months ago and it STILL doesn't work right and there has been 6 updates in that time and it still doesn't work right. The bugs I have reported only very slowly get fixed if even...

The other big issue is installation. It took me an entire evening to do to get it installed because the documentation is seriously lacking and its a pretty complicated procedure to begin with. The only reason I was even able to get it installed was because I stumbled across the solution in a totally unrelated forum.

It is also very expensive (especially when you want all the features so you have to get the "pro" addon) and considering it still doesn't work fully, I'm not overly happy. I think the developer should have waited longer and done more extensive beta testing before releasing this product and charging for it.

As I said, great concept but it still needs work. Check back in a few versions and hopefully it will be perfect. Current version i'm on is 2.2.8

CloudFlare for Joomla!

CloudFlare for Joomla!

Free | Performance | Mike Feng
1 review
CloudFlare for Joomla! is a simple plugin that allows Joomla! websites to fully utilize CloudFlare's free Universal SSL . The plugin does a couple of things: Fixes the infinite redirect issue that many Joomla! website encounter Loads all content (images, css and script) via https, whether they are added using relative or absolute URLs


Paid download | Bookmark & Recommend | Mike Feng
43 reviews
ParaInvite the most feature-packed viral invites and marketing solution for Joomla!. It is essentially a 4-in-1 software fit for any website: 1. Contacts and Invites Management 2. Namecards 3. Content Sharing 4. Quick Login It is completely impossible to fully describe the features of ParaInvite 5, so it's highly recommended that you visit the documentation for a detailed description. It uses OAuth 2.0, the industry standard for authenticating users on 3rd party services, to import contacts and send invites via six fully supported services: Windows Live Hotmail, Google, Yahoo!, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. It is also integrated with OpenInviter to provide additional email services, and supports CSV import and user manual entry. ParaInvite uses "schemes", a new and completely revolutionary way of creating unlimited types of invites/shares for every part of your website, with fully customizable and multi-language invitation content! Namecards are mini-profiles that you and your users can customize to display specific and important information related to certain aspects of your site. When your users' friends their namecards and register, they're considered successful invites. Content Sharing allows your users to recommend and share any type of content and/or page with their friends, which also functions like an invite! With the Quick Login feature, users can register and/or login to your site with a simple click of a button, using their account details on services like Facebook, Google, Windows Live, LinkedIn and Yahoo. ParaInvite also displays a user's history of invites (viewable to all), and a complete breakdown of each user's statistics (viewable to administrators). The Ranking module allows ranking of users based on accepted or sent invites, within a specified time frame (configurable) Other features include Auto Connections setup, badges, points, and much much more. It's simply too much to list them all here, but here's a quick view: Fully responsive design for mobile devices Integrates with Google Analytics Charts and graphs Notifies your users (via ParaInvite's own notification system, email, and JomSocial/EasySocial's notifications) when their invites are accepted Allows users to store all unsent contacts so they'll be notified when their friends register at the site Send email invites in batches using cron job (for websites with limited hosting) Rewards users with points Include sending invitations as part of the registration process Badges feature which allows your users to place personal badges on their blogs, forums and other websites to promote your site, and getting points in return. Namecard feature, which is a URL which your users can leave anywhere they want (forum posts, other websites, emails etc), and when people follow this link, they will view their namecards with a link to register on your site. Namecard invitations are considered a successful valid invitation. Allow you to restrict registration to people with valid invitations. More! More! More!
c m p


Free | Popups & iFrames | Mike Feng
3 reviews
SIMAlerts turns your website's boring warnings, notices, and messages into something fancy and eye-catching for your users. Highly configurable with 4 different styles, your users will be sure to see the difference!
Profile URL

Profile URL

Paid download | Short URL | Mike Feng
5 reviews
ProfileURL allows your Community Builder, EasySocial, JomSocial or JomWall users to customize their profile and group links, exactly like how it's done on Facebook. It is also integrated with ParaInvite's Namecard links. Want to let your users have profile/group URLs like With ProfileURL it's a breeze! Admins can choose to automatically set up the profile URL everytime a user registers, or make it a manual process (like Facebook). You can also choose to allow multiple updates or just once. ProfileURL will auto suggest profile URLs for users based on their usernames, first names and last names. It will also list all the groups owned by the user so he can set up the group URLs. The extension will check if the URL conflicts with other names, like menu item aliases, other users' usernames etc. What's more, ProfileURL will work even if Joomla's SEF is disabled, and for websites that support multiple languages! ProfileURL will also significantly increase your website's SEF. Please read the documentation for details and how you can see this in action. It is also responsive designed and will work on any mobile device. Profile URLs integrations: - EasySocial - JomSocial - Community Builder - JomWall - Kunena - SIMAnswers Group URLs integrations: - EasySocial - JomSocial - Community Builder (with GroupJive) - JomWall Check the demo to see how it works!
c p


Paid download | Communities | Mike Feng
2 reviews
SIMGenealogy is a full-featured genealogy and family tree extension for Joomla! Major update in February 2016! Quickly create family trees or shared genealogy projects, with privacy settings, project managers, commenting, notes, and more. Bootstrap enabled, displays on all mobile devices Supports family trees and social networks. Family trees support GEDCOM import. Set specific user group(s) to allow creating or administering family trees. Supports multi-languages Create custom fields to collect meaningful information for each node. Field types include textbox, textarea, radio buttons, checkboxes, single/multi select, and single/multi select with options populated by SQL. Set specific user group(s) to create and administer family trees. Admins can delete and edit everything for every family tree, add/remove nodes in the frontend and backend. Tree owners can add managers to their genealogy projects, and set access privacy for each tree. Privacy settings include: for everybody, for registered users, for friends (only applicable when integrated with EasySocial, JomSocial, and Community Builder), for the owner only. Managers can add/remove nodes and add notes to the project. Commenting, Comments likes Attach registered users to specific nodes of any family tree. Works like tagging users. ...and more! Check out the full list of features and description by clicking on the Documentation link. Sample family tree based on the popular TV show "Modern Family":
c p


Paid download | Question & Answers | Mike Feng
4 reviews
SIMAnswers is the complete Questions and Answers solution for Joomla. Many Q&A extensions claim to work like Yahoo Answers, but only SIMAnswers works in exactly the same way as Yahoo Answers, down to the last detail! HTML5, Bootstrap, responsive design Well thought-out and designed user interface and streamlined user processes Create custom fields for questions and/or answers (file uploads, checkboxes, textboxes, radios, select boxes etc) HIGHLY CONFIGURABLE categories/subcategories. Set specific user groups to ask questions/answer questions/view answers/manager each individual category Use as a Q&A solution, a Forum, or a Support Ticket system Users can report content (questions, answers, comments), while Managers can moderate content on the frontend Comment and rate answers Comprehensive user dashboard and preferences Resolve a question by selecting a Best Answer High customizable rich HTML notification emails Smart Search that displays the most relevant results Integrates with JomSocial, EasySocial, and Community Builder This is literally (NOT metaphorically) less than 10% of the full features list - there is just TOO MUCH to list!! Please check the Documentation for full features description, or better yet go straight to the live demo!
c m p


Free | SEO & Metadata | Mike Feng
0 reviews
Improve your website's SEO drastically with SIMNoFollow. The plugin replaces all outgoing links based on 3 configurable settings: Add rel="nofollow" Adding rel="nofollow" to your outgoing links is a well-known method to improve your website's SEO by reducing leakage. Add target="blank" While adding target="blank" to your outgoing links will not improve your website's SEO (search engines ignore this attribute), it's a good idea because it retains your users' focus, instead of losing them to external sites. Add External Link icon Add an icon at the end of your outgoing links so that your users won't be "surprised" when clicking on something opens up a new tab. This is to improve the general user experience, and SIMNoFollow is the only plugin of its kind with this feature.


Mike Feng
Last updated:
Feb 02 2016
Date added:
Aug 25 2008
GPLv2 or later
Paid download
Uses updater:
Download Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money