logo
main-image-2
main-image-3
main-image-4
main-image-5

Introduction

Downloads, File Management

Extensive Download Manager for Joomla!

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Many modules and plugins provided by the jDownloads team are included in and are automatically installed with the jDownloads component.

jDownloads supports many languages. English and German languages are included with the component and many others are available on www.jdownloads.net or www.transifex.com.

Main Features

  • What is a Download?: Obviously it includes the file that is to be downloaded but in jDownloads there are many more optional features to show the user or potential customer. You may have a text description, multiple images, an MP3 or an MP4 preview complete with player. You can show size, author, price, rating, popularity, etc., etc. All of it configurable.
  • Unlimited Category Tree: The downloads can be organized by customised categories and subcategories. A folder is created for every category, usually the folder has the same name as the category, so you have exactly the same structure on your server as in your download area. There is an option to use a different folder name if desired.
  • Access Rights for Categories: You can set the 'download' rights for categories and downloads for every Joomla user group. So it is possible, for example, that all guests can view the category (and the files) but only registered users can download the files. And say users with Publisher or similar rights can create new Downloads including uploading the main download file, together with preview text, images, audio clips (MP3) and video clips (MP4).
  • User Groups: jDownloads fully supports now the Joomla Access Permissions and Access Levels for Categories and Downloads. This allows a wide variety of controlling user groups in who is able to see what, control download access and of course uploading of new Downloads.
  • User Groups Settings: jDownloads has the ability to set different download capability limits for each Joomla! User Group. Also for User Groups that have 'create download' permissions then each user group may have their individual selection of 'questions' asked by the creation/edit Downloads form the upload form may be set. Furthermore jDownloads resolves the 'challenge' of users belonging to multiple groups with an 'importance' value.
  • Frontend Edit functionality: You can define in the configuration, that particular user groups can edit/update/delete their own downloads from the frontend. Additionally you can select jDownloads user groups who can edit Downloads in specific categories from the frontend. ... and many others.

See a more detailed feature list here (not completed):
http://www.jdownloads.com/index.php/features/jdownloads-features.html


The developer is very friendly and support is easily reachable via forum.



Although there is a minor bug, the issue is resolved immediately without waiting for the next release.



Definitely a good alternative to Docman.


best download component


Posted on 04 December 2010

It is amazing, how simple an installation and configuration can be while the component then will be flexible and powerful same time. And I also can confirm bento124's comment about the helpful forum. Great job!


Well done


Posted on 01 December 2010

Very well done Joomla component. The application is highly flexible, and especially the integration of given jD layouts into existing installations is very well done. With ease, this allows to integrate the component even optically.

Beside that, the response on technical questions via the product forum is excellent. Thank you folks!


Best by far


Posted on 29 November 2010

This is wonderful. Simply layed out with logical and powerful funtionality. To many front end extentions won't allow the author to edit or delete there own files. This one does plus so much more! The only one very small detail is, it would be nice for the users email address to be optional to display (like in the upload form)


It's really amazing to find such a full-fledged component, that too for free. I wish, it would be more great if the component can track the user statistics (who has downloaded and how many times).

Owner's reply: Thanks for your review!
You know, that with jDownloads v1.8 you can activate the download logs? The result is viewed in the backend and when you use the search function, you can seen what every user has downloaded and how many times.

Bravo!


Posted on 14 November 2010

I have been waiting a couple of years for group permissions and now they are here in JDownloads 1.8.



KUDOS to the devs and thank you!


Adding CAPTCHA


Posted on 10 November 2010

Thanks for the great component, it is working really wonderful.

I, like many others would like to have captcha enabled, well while in the support forum this was neglected, I found my own workaround and want to share it with the community here.



In my case I need a captcha for the upload section to stop bots driving traffic to my server.



Here is what I did:

ATTENTION advanced users only! Don't do it if you do not fully understand what is happening!!!



1. I found some 3th party plugin called OSOLCaptcha -> Install -> enable follow the instructions etc.

2. navigate to components/com_jdownloads/jdownloads.html.php

find line containing: " $form = 'triggerEvent('onShowOSOLCaptcha', array(false));

start line again " $form .='"

3. Go to your front-end page -> refresh -> Now you should see the captcha! WARNING IT IS NOT working yet.

4. Front-end page -> HTML Source Code -> Copy the captcha related HTML, it is wrapped within a div tag " ... "

5. Go back to jdownloads.html.php -> restore it like it was in original.

6. Again in jdownloads.html.php locate the " it to appear.

Remember that it has to be IN THIS form tag to work properly.

7. Enjoy!

By the time of this writing I am using jDownloads 1.7.5 and OSOLCaptcha 1.0.6!



This is a core hack and you must have this in mind when updating jDownloads.



I hope I've helped you all a little.


Regarding the support


Posted on 01 November 2010

I just am kind of guy who never bothers to write reviews for any extension since am too busy with loads of joomla projects. But i just thought it was unfair for anyone here to LIE ABOUT THIS MAN's SUPPORT on his website. So i just registered today to let others know that his support is EXCELLENT!! He does followup and is very helpful....I love his extension and am using it on 10 website. and in the beginning I had problems too....and he has helped me as if I had paid up for his extension...



Excellent Job, Support......awaiting for the new release 1.8!!!!!!


Excellent Support


Posted on 30 October 2010

Firstly I really wish to thank the developer for this great component.



Not only is this relative easy to use, taking into consideration my limited knowledge, I am sure many for you out there will have no problem using it



Lastly what impress me the most is the excellent support and the attentiveness in guiding me to resolve my issues.



Once again - THANK you


JDownloads


Posted on 19 October 2010

Used JDownloads an excellent Component; easy to install, simple to use and does exactly what it says on the box :)



Well Done. Thanks very much and God Bless.



The Alpha

jDownloads

Version:
3.2.52
Developer:
Arno Betz
Last updated:
Jun 21 2017
Date added:
Aug 17 2007
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support