Introduction

Social Web, Social Display

Social media sharing buttons are essential for every Joomla site. These buttons do more than just use social media to engage your users and help them stay up-to-date with your company's news. They are highly instrumental in helping your site's SEO.

  • Favourite
  • Report

The best Joomla social sharing extension

Shack Article Sharing is a Joomla social sharing extension. This plugin allows you to add easy-to-use social sharing buttons to your site. Shack Article Sharing plugin supports the most popular share buttons, such as Facebook and Twitter.

Shack Article Sharing uses Facebook's Open Graph meta tags which are Facebook's visual social connections tool. They allow Facebook to understand important information about your site. Open Graph meta tags allow you to have a much more successful connection to Facebook.

  • Joomla social sharing for all your articles: Enable Joomla social sharing buttons for all your content, including articles and blog posts.
  • Complete Facebook support: Shack Article Sharing allows your site to support both Facebook Share and Like buttons. You can customize the content that is pre-filled when visitors click to share.
  • Powerful Twitter support: Shack Article Sharing allows your Joomla visitors to tweet your articles. You can customize the content that is pre-filled when visitors click to tweet.
  • Open Graph support: Shack Article Sharing has support for Open Graph metadata: og:type og:site_name og:url og:title og:image og:description

Awesome Integration!



Posted on 09 December 2016
Functionality
It works flawlessly on our sites.
Ease of use
It couldn't be easier to integrate it in our websites.
Support
Support is fantastic - quick and quick to help resolving any issues you may have (and you won't anyway...).
Documentation
Easy to follow instructions - very intuitive.
Value for money
Worth every penny.
I used this to: Non-profit and for-profit sites... works in all!
This extension promised so much.



So I pulled out the wallet and gave some of my money, in return for 3 months support and an extension that offered a great deal. I was so happy, until I installed it and found that some of the backend refused to work and the Tumblr feed crashed my site.



I submitted a ticket for support, and after a very long wait (weeks) and update was given. Tumblr had been fixed (Hooorah!) but now YouTube had been broken (boooo!). So once again I returned to the support.



My 3 months of support is now closing tomorrow, and I have yet to have a working example of Lifestream on my Joomla site.



The last comment made by any Joomlashack representative was 9 weeks ago. Nothing short of despicable customer support that I would be embarrassed to associate my company with.



The current version of Lifestream DOES NOT work properly and there's no sign of this company doing anything about it. BUYERS BEWARE.

What a let down



Posted on 01 September 2011
I haven't been able to get this to work right since day one. Since my first install the component has thrown error after error trying to get facebook updates to display to no avail.



Tried to get a fix using Joomlashack's "forum" (before my 6th month subscription ran out...stupid) and all I got, in so many words, was "it's a problem with facebook's api, nothing we can do about it"



Well guess what, don't release a component, ESPECIALLY a PAID one if you can't support it. Don't advertise it to do something if it can't.



I really expected more out of Joomlashack. This was my first purchase from them and I am let down. The 6th month "support" subscription shows poor service and just makes them sound greedy, and on top of it even when my subscription was up to date, the site was clunky and cumbersome.



I'll be moving on, unfortunately.
Owner's reply: It's a fact that Facebook update's their API on occasion, however, it's also a fact that whenever they do we are sure to update Lifestream to work with it. If you were given information that Lifestream was not working with Facebook because of API issues, it was simply to let you know that there was a temporary issue until the extension could be updated.

As for 'poor service' - a support 'subscription' is not at all uncommon in the Open Source world. Please have a look around at other extension providers and you will see that many do the same. There is nothing at all 'greedy' about needing to pay for development time to update extensions, especially in light of the need to make updates to ensure an extension that works with 3rd party services works when those services make changes.
I spend 23 hours working with this extension and had no success after installing (finally) it crashed the site. Get to start over now... how fun... Support was very slow in responding some responses took more then 3 hours. The have packaged everything together to make a huge file so you have to change max_upload in your mysql and if you can do that the install may crash your site like it did mine. Very complicated and not at all user friendly at least on the install side i was never able to actually use the extension. However they did refund my money immediately upon request.
Owner's reply: We're very sorry that the extension did not work out for you. We would, however, like to be sure that reviews are accurate and fair, and you've written one that is neither.
3 hours for a reply in a support system is nothing to complain about.
You don't have to touch your database to increase max upload file size, and if you don't want to adjust php.ini or ask your hosting company to do it for you, then you can use the provided details on how to 'manually' install the extension.
The complexity of this extension does require some assurance that a server environment will allow it to work, however, it's not so complex as to keep 99% of the people who download and use it successfully from doing so.

Great Tool



Posted on 21 April 2011
Using it on J1.6.3.

Really a great tool - enables you to incorporate all your social streams on one site. Highly configurable. If a filter is added per stream to show only certain messages, then its the ultimate social stream tool.



Support is very friendly and helpful.



Highly recommendable and definitely worth it´s money!
Owner's reply: Thank you for the review, and we do have your feature request for stream filters on our list. That is a great idea and we plan to implement it in the next major release.

Nice component



Posted on 30 March 2011
I have been using Lifestream for a few weeks now. It was relatively easy to install and looks great out-of-the-box, but I was able to easily modify the look to suit my "brand".



It is too bad the Facebook users have to make their profiles open to the public in order to work, but that is a Facebook privacy issue, I suppose. I don't have many users on my site because of this. There are many Facebook Connect type components that pull the status without having to make the profile open.



Anyway, the support is great with any questions I have had. I am surprised more people aren't using it. It pulls all your social media together and displays them in one place. I really love this product!
Pros:

This extension promises to be the all in one news feed, and looking at the demos it does this quite well.



Cons:

This extension has major compatibility issues with any average server.

Old versions of MySQL and PHP will not run this extension, so don't waste your time and money.

I presume you need the very latest versions of these as I have MySQL 5.0.92



I signed up here to warn others as the level of support was very poor from the developers.



I have used/built many extensions in my time and never have I had such difficulty getting an extension to install.
Owner's reply: Hi there. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues getting Lifestream installed on your website.

The vast majority of our customers have never experienced any issues getting Lifestream installed & configured. But in case any of our customers ever experience issues, we have a very helpful, prompt and efficient support system in place to help them.

Have you upgraded your version of MySQL and PHP? The minimum requirements to run Lifestream are: PHP 5.2.6+ with MySQLi support; MySQL 5+; Support for CURL, OpenSSL; Joomla 1.5+

If you are still experiencing issues with lifestream after you have upgraded PHP and MySQL, please submit a ticket at our site and we will be more than happy to promptly assist you.
The major hurdle I had to overcome was actually installing the package. This appears to be a shared problem as the situation of hanging during the install process is documented and the workaround procedure explained.



Once past that hurdle every thing works as far as I have used it so far (with Facebook, Flickr and Twitter combined into a single feed).



A big plus is not having to mess around with getting app ids from the sites as some extensions require.



It's not expensive and it would have cost me considerable time and hassle to think out a similar way to use free extensions so therefore I don't grudge the contribution towards costs!



So persevere to get it installed and you'll appreciate the effort! Of course it would be even better if it could be packaged in a more friendly manner.
Let me first say ... I understand this extension can probably be made to work. However, it is seldom that I run across an extension that gives so many problems right off the bat. (you can see the most popular thing on support site is "I'm having trouble installing Lifestream" etc ...) I tried it on 2 server setups, 2 separate sites, (after having to install manually) then got off-the-wall errors on both sites. And since the Joomlashack folks don't give refunds ... I'd say buy at your own risk. Again, I'm sure there's some good support to help fix the problems (and Joomlashack is traditionally a good company) but geez I'm not use to this much run-around to make a Joomla extension play nice.
Owner's reply: We're sorry that you had trouble installing our product, and you are correct that in some certain server environments Lifestream may not install without updating a setting or two. Since you didn't take advantage of our support, we cannot say why this might be, but so far we have been able to help anyone set it up that has contacted us. I encourage you to do so, and if we are unable to get it running we will provide a refund (as we have done for cases where a product was purchased but cannot be used). Lifestream uses some features of PHP that are standard, but we have come to find some hosting providers disable a lot of PHP functionality in the name of security. In reality they are disabling a lot more than necessary, and making it hard to use more advanced functionality of PHP.
The GUI is easy to understand and the features are pretty enough. Installation and configuration are slick and neat. Waiting for module with tabs.
Shack Forms
Paid download

Shack Forms

By Joomlashack
Contact forms
Shack Forms is the easiest and most powerful way to add forms for your Joomla site. Shack Forms allows you to customize forms and then show them in your articles, inside pop-ups, in modules, or anywhere you want. The design of Shack Forms is completely flexible with many different themes, styles and effects. Without using any coding, Shack Forms can look beautiful on your site. Show your Joomla...
Shack Toolbox
Paid download

Shack Toolbox

By Joomlashack
Popups & iFrames
Shack Toolbox is the best way to show content on your Joomla site. Shack Toolbox has over 19 media and marketing integrations including Facebook, Twitter, Google Maps, Instagram, iframes, Joomla Articles, K2, Zoo, Seblod and much more. Shack Toolbox has many different design and layout options for your content. You can choose from 17 different themes. You can also select from effects that include...
OSYouTube
Free

OSYouTube

By Joomlashack
Social Media
Have you had problems embedding YouTube videos into a Joomla site? OSYouTube the fastest and easiest way to use YouTube with Joomla. OSYouTube allows you to embed YouTube videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video URL from YouTube. Not only is OSYouTube easy to use, but it comes with powerful, advanced features. OSYouTube Pro allows you to control the autoplay, video controls, related videos,...
OSTimer
Free

OSTimer

By Joomlashack
Events
OSTimer allows you to the show the countdown to an event. OSTimer enables you to configure your countdown's features and display in many ways. A Joomla countdown that looks great You can display countdown clock on your Joomla site using one of the available themes and choosing a custom color. The Pro version comes with extra themes. OSTimer works in all devices OSTimer is fully responsive and...
OSDonate
Free

OSDonate

By Joomlashack
Donations
OSDonate allows you to show a PayPal donation button on your Joomla site. Try OSDonate and you'll see how easy it is to collect donations. OSDonate is packed with features, is simple to use, and can even attract more attention by hovering in a fixed position on the page! It's a great choice for anyone who wants their Joomla donation button noticed. A Joomla donation form that looks great OSDona...
OSDownloads
Free

OSDownloads

By Joomlashack
Downloads
OSDownloads is the easiest way to add downloads to Joomla. OSDownloads gives you an flexible and reliable Joomla downloads directory. OSDownloads can store and share files on your computer and on remote services such as Dropbox, Box and Amazon. OSDownloads also integrates directly to MailChimp and Constant Contact so you can collect emails in exchange for downloads. You can OSDownloads to build...
OSCampus
Paid download

OSCampus

By Joomlashack
Education & Culture
OSCampus is the best way to build an online training site with Joomla. OSCampus is incredibly robust and is already used by 1,000's of people every week. OSCampus runs the video training on OSTraining, and its architecture is the basis for Joomlashack University and the official Joomla.org training site! OSCampus allows you to publish online classes. You can use OSCampus to create classes with m...
Shack Open Graph
Paid download

Shack Open Graph

By Joomlashack
SEO & Metadata
When you share Joomla links on Facebook and Twitter, those sites don't find the correct information ... unless you use Shack Open Graph. This plugin adds Open Graph and Twitter Card tags to your site. These tags help Facebook and Twitter to pull the correct image and description from your site. If your site looks on social media, the more people will share your news! Try Shack Open Graph today a...
Shack Locations
Free

Shack Locations

By Joomlashack
Maps & Locations
Shack Locations is the best way to create a location-based directory in Joomla. With Shack Locations you can create advanced directories with custom maps, markers, infoboxes and hundreds of locations. You can add details to your locations using custom fields. And, you can give your users the ability to search and filter through the locations. Multiple locations in a single map With Shack Locati...
OSVimeo
Free

OSVimeo

By Joomlashack
Social Media
Have you had problems embedding Vimeo videos into a Joomla site? OSVimeo the fastest and easiest way to use Vimeo with Joomla. OSYouTube allows you to embed Vimeo videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video URL from Vimeo Not only is OSVimeo easy to use, but it comes with powerful, advanced features. Powerful settings OSVimeo arrives with a wide range of features including responsive design,...
JCal Pro
Paid download

JCal Pro

By Joomlashack
Events
Almost every organization's web site can benefit from an events calendar. For Joomla web sites, the obvious and most popular choice is JCal Pro. JCal Pro offers simplicity, flexibility, a robust feature set and gorgeous templates to fit almost any color scheme. From private and community calendars, to event moderation and integration with popular extensions such as JomSocial and Community Builder...
OSContent
Free

OSContent

By Joomlashack
Mass Content
OSContent is designed for managing, adding, creating, and deleting articles, categories and menu links. OSContent is a wonderful time-saver if you need to quickly add content to a Joomla site. With a few clicks, you create all the categories, articles and menu links you need for your Joomla site. Why waste time repeating steps over and over again, when you can do the same thing with just a few cl...
OSMeta
Free

OSMeta

By Joomlashack
SEO & Metadata
OSMeta is the easiest way to manage metadata for your Joomla site. With OSMeta you will be able to easily control page titles, keywords and URLs for all your articles via a single screen, which makes editing fast. There's also a character counter to make it easy to see when your metadata is just right or too long. Editing Joomla metadata made easy OSMeta gives you a single screen where you can...
Shack Slides
Paid download

Shack Slides

By Joomlashack
Slideshow
Shack Slides is the way to showcase beautiful images on your site. If you want a stylish Joomla slideshow, then Shack Slides is what you need. Shack Slides gives you the freedom to create beautiful Joomla slideshows with your images. You can easily customize the way your slideshow appears. You can choose from many effects, color, design and navigation options. Shack Slides supports Joomla conten...
OSWistia
Free

OSWistia

By Joomlashack
Social Media
Have you had problems embedding Wistia videos into a Joomla site? OSWistia the fastest and easiest way to use Wistia with Joomla. OSWistia allows you to embed Wistia videos simply by copying-and-pasting a video ID from Wistia. Not only is OSWistia easy to use, but it comes with powerful, advanced features. Powerful settings OSWistia has a ton of options for your Joomla Wistia videos, including...
JS Easy Social Icons
Paid download

JS Easy Social Icons

By Joomlashack
Social Display
Do you want social icons on your Joomla site? Choose Easy Social Icons. The Easy Social Icons module is a simple way to add Joomla Social Icons for all of your social network accounts. You just need to add a link to your accounts, select the icon style that best matches the look of your site, and publish the module. Easy Social Icons supports 18 different social networks. We didn't name it "Easy...
Tabs and Sliders
Free

Tabs and Sliders

By Joomlashack
Article Elements
The Tabs and Sliders extension makes it really easy to show your Joomla content inside tabs or sliders. This extension has been developed with ease-of-use and styling flexibility in mind! It simply works! Using simple syntax you can easily organize your content inside articles. For example, you can organize your long product descriptions into tabs. Sliders Display your sliders using one of the...
jInbound
Paid download

jInbound

By Joomlashack
Landing pages
The goal of jInbound is to help more Joomla users to grow their businesses. jInbound offers an easy way to manage multiple Joomla marketing automation campaigns. jInbound has a powerful range of features including landing page creation, lead nurturing email automation and lead management/prioritization. With the option of using pre-designed templates — optimized for higher conversion rates —...
Shack Spreadsheets
Paid download

Shack Spreadsheets

By Joomlashack
JCE extensions
Shack Spreadsheets allows you to import spreadsheets to Joomla with the click of a button. Convert sheet data into clean HTML tables. Importing spreadsheets has never been easier Import spreadsheets into articles or Custom modules by using the "Import file" button through the editor. Browse the file and "Parse" Browse your spreadsheet file and click "Parse" button, then "Insert table". Is that...
OSEmbed
Free

OSEmbed

By Joomlashack
Social Media
Have you ever tried embedding YouTube videos, tweets or Facebook posts in Joomla? It can be a painful process! OSEmbed makes Joomla embeds super-easy. All you need is the URL and you can embed almost anything into a Joomla site! Even if you are not an experienced developer, with OSEmbed, you can easily embed content to your Joomla site from over 60 sources including these: Facebook, YouTube, Vi...
OSpam-a-not
Free

OSpam-a-not

By Joomlashack
Site Security
OSpam-a-not is the easiest way to protect your Joomla site from spam bots filling out your forms. OSpam-a-not uses a clever and unobtrusive technique to protect your forms from a flood of spam. We created OSpam-a-not because we needed better Joomla spam prevention. We use OSPam-a-not ourselves, so we maintain it and update it regularly. Like all the other Joomlashack products, its is easy to use...
OSMap
Free

OSMap

By Joomlashack
Site Map
OSMap is a Joomla sitemap generator. It will build an SEO-friendly XML sitemap for Google and other search engines. It will also build an HTML sitemap for your visitors. Our Joomla sitemap extension is the most popular, it's very easy to use, and will save you a lot of time. Sitemap Features in the Free version: Automatically builds an XML sitemap which is SEO-friendly Automatically builds an...
Shack Analytics
Paid download

Shack Analytics

By Joomlashack
Analytics
The only thing you need to start collecting statistics is your Google Analytics ID. Add it to Shack Analytics and the Google Analytic code will be loaded on every page of your website. In addition to extra features to track site activity and allow user to accept cookies. User focused Google analytics control Loads your Google Analytics code on every page of your website. Compatible with the acce...
Shack Search
Free

Shack Search

By Joomlashack
Site Search
Shack Search is a free extension that improves your Joomla search box. Your visitors can get instant search results with Shack Search. Instead of clicking the "Search" button and waiting for the page to slowly reload, Shack Search provides instant results as you type. Make your site easier to use - try Shack Search today! Instant search results When you type at least 4 characters into Shack Sea...
Simple Renew
Paid download

Simple Renew

By Joomlashack
Membership & Subscriptions
Simple Renew is the solution we created to integrate Recurly. Trusted by thousands of companies, Recurly is one of the great subscription billing solutions out there. It’s so good, it is what we use here at Alledia and at OSTraining to manage our subscription sales and renewals. Recurly accepts all sorts of payments including credit cards, Paypal, Pay with Amazon, Invoicing and ACH transfers....
Shack Editorial Calendar
Paid download

Shack Editorial Calendar

By Joomlashack
Admin Publishing
Shack Editorial Calendar is designed for people with busy Joomla sites. With this extension, you can manage large amounts of Joomla articles. You can create, edit and schedule all your content from a single calendar screen. A calendar to organize your content Shack Editorial Calendar has an easy-to-read calendar view. If you want to schedule content, simply drag-and-drop the article to your chos...
Shack Article Manager
Paid download

Shack Article Manager

By Joomlashack
Content Submission
Shack Article Manager is an extension that allows anyone to write, edit, publish and manage articles from the frontend of Joomla sites. Shack Article Manager is perfect for sites that don't want to allow users into the Joomla administrator area. Using Shack Article Manager, you can allow both guest and registered users to create content for your Joomla site. Manage your articles on the frontend...

Shack Article Sharing

Version:
1.3.6
Developer:
Joomlashack
Last updated:
Sep 26 2019
Date added:
Nov 18 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Includes:
p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review