Introduction

Backup, Site Security

Akeeba Backup Core is the most widely used open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server, making it ideal not only for backups but also for site transfers or even deploying sites to your clients' servers.


Akeeba Backup creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. Akeeba Backup is the reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site.

Akeeba Backup 9 is actively supported on Joomla! 4 and Joomla! 5. Akeeba Backup 8 for Joomla! 3 is on security maintenance (no new features or bug fixes will be released).

Features:

  • Automatic configuration with the Configuration Wizard.
  • The fastest and most reliable native PHP backup engine.
  • One click backups, available as backend menu items or a Joomla control panel quick icon.
  • Restore with Akeeba Kickstart (free of charge script): restore extracting the backup directly on the server; no need to upload thousands of files by FTP!
  • Multiple backup profiles with independently managed configuration options.
  • Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format.
  • Exclude specific files, folders.
  • Exclude specific database tables or their contents.
  • Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (e.g. XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, etc).

and much, much more!

Note: The Akeeba Backup Core component, its documentation and its video tutorials are free of charge. Support for the software and an edition with advanced features (not listed above) are, however, not free of charge. If you are filing a review please make sure that it concerns the Akeeba Backup Core edition and the features we make available free of charge, in line with the Joomla Extension Directory's rules. Thank you!

*** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION AND WATCH OUR VIDEO TUTORIALS! ***

Vero good



Posted on 07 February 2024
Functionality
All functionality that are expected to back up the whole site are there
Ease of use
Easy. Takes a couple of hours to go through the documentation and thats it
Support
Didn't ask support, so can't comment on that. Managed to get it working with just the documentation
Documentation
Good and very detailed. The extensions and all parameters are explained very well
I used this to: Backing up my Joomla site and restore it on my local host. Backing up my Joomla site and restore it on my local host

Restore failed. Epically



Posted on 22 November 2023
Functionality
This looked like a good solution to a problem. Turns out, it was a really bad solution and will cost me months of work.
Ease of use
It wasn't overly difficult to to install, configure or backup. Finding the path for the backups will always a little annoying.
Support
Support is paid. Period. Make a crappy product and then force you to pay for help is really pretty low.
Documentation
I used this to: I kept the plugin up to date, backed up religiously. This week I had reason to move to a new server and akeeba failed at every point. In the end, menus were missing, some content restored to default. Had drop back to php 7.4 for the database restore. Just a failure.
Owner's reply: You tried to restore a site whose **third party** software – not written or maintained by our company – is incompatible with PHP 8 on a server running PHP 8. This is something that is not only common sense, but also explicitly documented. You never gave us the opportunity to discuss this productively with you. You sent us a borderline abusive email in the middle of our night, merely informing us that your false assumptions and misunderstandings would be submitted here on the JED as a review. Regrettably, this puts us in the distasteful situation of having to publicly rebuke your disinformation, with everything that entails about how other people will perceive you.

I am afraid that you are wrong on all four complaints you made namely that a. it cost you months of work, b. finding the backup path was difficult, c. support is paid because we have a [mild profanity redacted] product, and d. that Akeeba Backup was at fault.

a. It cost you nothing. Your site is still running after switching it back to PHP 7.4. You admitted this yourself.

b. The path to the backup archives is documented: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/backup-now.html#qa-backup-location This page appears in the documentation index under the self-explanatory title "Where are my backups". It is also shown to you in the Manage Backups page, when you click the info icon to get the information about the backup archive. It's literally a folder called "backups" under the folder Joomla installs the component in.

c. The description here on the Joomla! Extensions Directory literally reads "The Akeeba Backup Core component, its documentation and its video tutorials are free of charge. Support for the software and an edition with advanced features (not listed above) are, however, not free of charge" and it also says to read the documentation. We discontinued free support in June 2011 because of the number of people who failed to employ common sense, or read the documentation, and hurled uncalled for abuse at us as a result – exactly as you are doing here.

If someone asks **politely** and provided that we're not up to our eyeballs with work, we do answer simple questions like yours. As it happens, this week is slow (since most of the US is off for Thanksgivings, severely lightening our load). Had you asked politely about what happened during your restoration we would have politely pointed you to the documentation page and explained further what to do.

d. Your entire problem is that you transferred your site from a PHP 7.4 server to a PHP 8 server. However, your third part (NOT written by us) extensions are **NOT** compatible with PHP 8.

Kindly remember that Akeeba Backup makes exact copies of your sites. It does not, and objectively cannot, rewrite the software installed on your site to make it compatible with a different PHP version. The very first page of the restoration script displays very clearly the PHP version you backed up on and the PHP version you are restoring on, as shown in https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/angie-joomla.html#angie-joomla-first Moreover, the fact that you need to pay attention to the PHP versions and that problems due to a PHP version mismatch are NOT restoration issues is explicitly documented in "Common issues on restored sites due to PHP incompatibilities between the source and target server" (https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/prphpissues.html)

Akeeba Backup – which is compatible with PHP versions 7.2 to the as-yet-unreleased version 8.3 inclusive since several months ago – did work. If it had not, switching your PHP version back to 7.4 would've had no effect. The fact that switching back to PHP 7.4 allowed your site to work further proves that the root cause of your issue is third party software on your site which is still incompatible with PHP 8, four years since it was first released.

I understand your frustration, but the way you conducted yourself is entitled, unfair, uncalled for, and unprofessional. In the end of the day, it was third party software not under out control which failed, not our software. In the end of the day, it was you who did not exercise common sense, read the documentation, or approached us for a clarification.
Functionality
it makes auto backups before the upgrades! I loved it because i experience difficulties after upgrade and needed previous version!
Ease of use
Yes, its admin is very well organized. Just after a few tests you can use it easily. Auto enabled plugins are great for anyone.
Support
I did not ask for support but as i can see they invested lots of time to prepare the documentation and videos.
Documentation
Yes, documentation and videos are great. Also, other helpful documents from community are great.
I used this to: I use this as base component for my every Joomla website. Just after installing Joomla, i install Akeeba Backup!
Functionality
Çok işlevsel ve güvenilir bir uygulama. Yedek almak için her gereksiniminizi karşılayabilecek özellikleri vardır.
Ease of use
Kullanımı çok kolay. Kurulumla birlikte gelen ayarlarla hemen kullanabilirsiniz. Sorunsuzdur. Kurun ve güvenin.
Support
Destek talepleriniz geliştirici tarafından gecikmeden yanıtlanmaktadır. Herhangi bir sorun karşısında hızlı çözüm sunulmaktadır.
Documentation
Ayarları düzenlemeyle ilgili gerekli destek belgilerini geliştiricinin web sitesinde ulaşabilirsiniz. Videolu eğitimler de mevcuttur.
I used this to: Ben web sitemde uzun süredir kullan?yorum. Hiçbir sorunla kar??la?mad?m. Yedeklerinizi almay? çok kolayla?t?rmaktad?r. Çok büyük bir eme?in ürünüdür.
Functionality
This is the component and features needed for any Joomla! I've been using it for a long time and no problems!
Ease of use
Very easy to use and configure. I got through it with no problem.
Support
Top-notch support. Access to the forum and many important and interesting topics solved on an ongoing basis for users.
Documentation
Documentation done very well, no doubts and a wide range of help.
I used this to: My sites made in Joomla 3 and Joomla 4. Safe backups before each update.
Functionality
You need this extension if you use Joomla. Period. Every Joomla developer I know uses this extension.
Ease of use
Depending on how complicated your needs are this can be absolutely simple, to complex.
Support
There has never been a problem that could not be solved in their forums
Documentation
Good to great, depending on what you are looking for. This is text that is necessary to get to 64 characters that are required for some reas
I used this to: 58 Joomla websites (and counting). This is text that is necessary to get to 64 characters that are required for some reason.

Indispensable!



Posted on 14 March 2023
Functionality
Easy backup, restore and move of entire sites, whether automatic or not.
Ease of use
Actually quite easy to use, although it is best to read the manual anyway.
Support
Top support but hardly necessary. If an error pops up, for example at the start of Joomla 4, it will be solved in no time!
Documentation
Clear and very extensive description and documentation, but necessary to read.
I used this to: On all sites: to backup and restore during development, to move between development and production, etc.

Life Saver



Posted on 06 March 2023
Functionality
Backs up sites easily with default settings so does the job it is intended for
Ease of use
Very easy to use and well laid out. Will work out of the box. Well designed even for novice users
Support
I have not had to request support but found any information I needed on the developers website
Documentation
Application self configures but more documentation can be fond on the website
I used this to: Used for contact forms and membership renewal forms for our model aero club

Top of the list



Posted on 22 February 2023
Functionality
Excellent. The component is laid out cleanly and easy to navigate. I have never had a problem with this extension.
Ease of use
Very easy to run a backup. A little bit more complicated to restore, but that's to be expected. Nothing too difficult to understand
Support
Never needed, so it's difficult to rate really. Will give it top marks as I'm sure support would be as good as everything else is.
Documentation
Excellent. Clear, comprehensive and understandable. Nothing to add.
I used this to: It's the first component I add after a new Joomla install. I run regular backups prior and post updates, and when I'm about to fiddle with code, etc... Saved my skin a number of times!

Unable to get it to work



Posted on 11 February 2023
Functionality
Easy to run backups but unable to restore.
Have followed documentation and video tutorials but continues to fail.
Ease of use
Easy to run backups but as like functionality, unable to restore after several attempts
Support
No support unless you pay a squillion.
Far from happy with this extension
Documentation
Documentation is excellent but does not give you help if things fail.
I used this to: Attempting to transfer websites to a new webhost but still unable to successfully transfer.
Owner's reply: Thank you for your review, but it's very objectively factually incorrect.

Our documentation does have troubleshooting instructions for the backup, restoration, and post-restoration of the site. As a matter of fact, I have put in writing our experience of having answered tens of thousands of support tickets, forum posts, emails, Facebook posts and DMs, Reddit posts, and in-person questions regarding these matters. The documentation which has this information is available free of charge to anyone so that nobody can falsely claim that the all important troubleshooting information is hidden behind a paywall. That is NOT my ethic and I take personal and grave offence at the mere insinuation that I would do something like that.

So, let's see how you can troubleshoot the restoration.

If you have a problem with the archive extraction of the backup archive go to our site, Support, Documentation, Akeeba Kickstart and scroll down to the Troubleshooting section. Relevant links:

* Akeeba Kickstart won't run at all or throws a Parse Error: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/troubleshooting.html#kswontrunatall
* I get PHP Warning, Norice or Deprecated errors when trying to run Akeeba Kickstart: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/ksphperrors.html
* Akeeba Kickstart starts but it does not list my archive files: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/ksnoarchives.html
* Akeeba Kickstart starts, but can't extract the archive, throws an AJAX Error, Invalid Archive Header or other error: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/kscantextract.html
* I am getting AJAX errors with some weird 403, 500, 502 or 503 code: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/ajax-error-weird-code.html
* Extraction stuck on Windows: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-kickstart-documentation/stuck-on-windows.html

If you have a problem with the actual site restoration script (ANGIE) and assuming you are using Akeeba Backup for Joomla 4, you go to our site, Support, Documentation, Akeeba Backup for Joomla 4 and scroll down to "Restoration (ANGIE) troubleshooting". Here are the relevant links:

* ANGIE reports that the session write path and the installation directory is unreadable: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abiissues.html#abisession
* PHP errors , warnings, notices or a blank page upon accessing ANGIE / restoration: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abiphperrors.html
* Some required or optional settings are red in ANGIE's first page: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abiredsettings.html
* I can't restore my database, or receive AJAX Error, timeout or other errors while restoring my database with ANGIE: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abidatabase.html
* I restored my database but can't proceed to the next page of ANGIE: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abiafterdb.html
* My configuration.php wasn't written to disk after ANGIE ran: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abinoconfig.html
* Any other ANGIE error: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/abimisc.html

If you have a problem with the site after the restoration and assuming you are using Akeeba Backup for Joomla 4, you go to our site, Support, Documentation, Akeeba Backup for Joomla 4 and scroll down to "Troubleshooting restored sites". Relevant links:

* Common issues on restored sites and how to solve them: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/restoration-troubleshooting.html#prbasicts
* Common issues on restored sites due to PHP incompatibilities between the source and target server: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/prphpissues.html
* When updating the restored site, the original site changes as well (Entangled web sites): https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/prentangled.html
* Clicking on a link on the restored site takes me to the original site (link migration issues): https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/prlinkmigration.html
* Issues arising from your computer configuration, browser, ISP, antivirus and firewall incompatibilities: https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/client-site-troubleshooting.html

Further to that, we have collected invaluable generic information concerning backing up and restoring sites in "General guidelines for backing up and restoring your site": https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/restoring-backups.html#general-guidelines

If all else fails, you **can** restore your backups using the "Unorthodox: the emergency restoration procedure": https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/akeeba-backup-joomla/unorthodox-emergency-restoration.html

So, please, do not rate the software and the documentation based on your false assumptions. Actually do put the effort into reading the documentation, it has the information you need to help yourself. If you cannot be bothered reading the documentation I will be happy to help, but I do expect you to pay for a subscription because you are asking me to spend my time to save yours, so it's only fair to ask you for compensation — that's how I finance the full time job of maintaining this software, sponsoring Joomla events, and contributing back to Joomla (just look at all my contributions including but not limited to Joomla Update, WebAuthn, Two Factor Authentication, Multi-factor Authentication, Quick Icons and much, much more). In short, either use your time for free, or use mine for a small fee (and simultaneously fund the development of this software and Joomla itself).
Admin Tools
Free

Admin Tools

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click. Now with Joomla! 5 support! We have two currently maintained version families. Admin Tools 7: J...
Admin Tools Professional
Paid download

Admin Tools Professional

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Security
Admin Tools Professional is a comprehensive security enhancing component and site administration toolkit for your Joomla!™ site. We were the first component to offer a triple layer of security for your site: active server security with our .htaccess, NginX Conf and Web.Config Maker; active application security with our Web Application Firewall; passive security with our PHP File Change Scanner w...
Akeeba Engage
Free

Akeeba Engage

By Akeeba Ltd
Articles comments
Free of charge solution for comments in Joomla™ core content (articles). Full HTML editor, fast, secure. Now with Joomla! 5 support! Nested, full HTML comments. Comments can be nested (up to 6 levels deep). Your site’s visitors enter comments using Joomla’s configured WYSIWYG editor; no more typing in raw HTML / bbCode / Markdown or using awkward editors which look out of place. All comment...
Akeeba SocialLogin
Free

Akeeba SocialLogin

By Akeeba Ltd
Site Access
Allow your users to log in with their social media profile (Facebook, Twitter etc) or account (GitHub, Google, Microsoft). Your users can login or create a new user account to your site using their social media profile (Facebook, Twitter etc) or account (GitHub, Google, Microsoft). For example, someone can create a user account on your site using their Facebook login, without going through Jooml...
Amazon S3 Filesystem
Free

Amazon S3 Filesystem

By Akeeba Ltd
File Management
Integrate Amazon S3, CloudFront and Amazon S3–compatible storage with Joomla!'s Media Manager. Only for Joomla! 4 and later versions. This plugin allows you to save your media files to Amazon S3 and third party storage services compatible with the Amazon S3 API (with S3 signatures version 2 or 4). You can optionally use this plugin with Amazon S3 buckets serving as origins for an Amazon CloudF...
SkeletonKey
Free

SkeletonKey

By Akeeba Ltd
User Management
Allows Joomla!™ administrators to log in as any other user. Now with Joomla! 5 support! Sometimes users report issues on your site which at first glance don't make sense. Troubleshooting them requires having access to their user account on your site. For example, reported issues with discount coupon codes in e-commerce sites, or users not seeing modules / menu items which according to their use...
Akeeba Ticket System Core
Free

Akeeba Ticket System Core

By Akeeba Ltd
Help Desk
A simple, powerful helpdesk component for Joomla!. Now with Joomla! 5 support! Users can be given permissions to create support tickets in one or more support categories. Only the person who filed the ticket called the owner and specifically authorised users called the support staff (or “managers”) can reply to them. This is unlike a forum where anyone can reply. Support tickets can be priva...
Akeeba Ticket System Professional
Paid download

Akeeba Ticket System Professional

By Akeeba Ltd
Help Desk
A simple, powerful helpdesk component for Joomla!. Now with Joomla! 5 support! Users can be given permissions to create support tickets in one or more support categories. Only the person who filed the ticket called the owner and specifically authorised users called the support staff (or “managers”) can reply to them. This is unlike a forum where anyone can reply. Support tickets can be priva...
Akeeba DataCompliance
Free

Akeeba DataCompliance

By Akeeba Ltd
Site management tools
A simple tool to facilitate GDPR conformance of your Joomla! sites. Now with Joomla! 5 support! The component allows the site's visitors to: give or revoke their consent for personal data processing (and prevent the user from using the site if they have not provided consent). export all data we have on them to a commonly machine-readable format (XML). exercise their right to be forgotten (accou...

Akeeba Backup

Version:
9.9.4
Developer:
Akeeba Ltd
Last updated:
Jun 10 2024
2 weeks ago
Date added:
Jun 05 2007
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
J3 J4 J5
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review