With version 4.0 for Joomla 4 and 5 JooDatabase becomes free for all. There is no PRO version anymore.

JooDatabase is a simple and fast way to include and display external tables (collections, databases) into Joomla. It automatically generates pages containing the table data using editable templates for catalog and single entry views.

Special elements like print-icons and pagination-links are displayed at the desired position in the templates. JooDatabase handles the linking, routing between the pages automatically. The search plug-in provides search in your databases using the Joomla sitesearch component.

Some examples:
* {joodb printbutton} will insert a popup link to the print view of a dataset
* {joodb pagenav} insert a pagination object in the database list
* {joodb field|FIELDNAME} prints out the FIELD content at this position in the template

All the features of the PRO version are now included
- Multiple tables and sub-forms with relational connections
- Import and Export of Excel spreadsheets
- Ticket system and developer support
- Online update service using the Joomla update mechanism
- Frontend Editing

Hilfreiches Werkzeug

Posted on 22 November 2023
Mit JooDB ist es problemlos möglich, Daten mit individuellen Strukturen auf der Webpage anzuzeigen und zu verwalten. SUPER !!
Ease of use
Mit Grundlagenwissen über SQL und HTML sollte eigentlich jeder für die Nutzung von JooDB bestens ausgestattet sein
Hab ich bisher nie in Anspruch genommen. Das gebotene Forum sollte aber ausreichend Hilfestellung bieten
Die Doku ist ausreichen. Die beste Hilfe bieten jedoch die von JooDB selbst erzeugten Templates
I used this to: Anzeige und Verwaltung verschiedenster Datenstrukturen auf mehreren Webpages.
Beispielhaft sei eine vereinsinterne Terminübersicht, Ergebnisliste von Veranstaltungen, Liste von Untersuchungsergebnissen. Statusliste von Arbeitsaufträgen für Labore ...

Ich liebe JooDB !

Quick - and not dirty

Posted on 20 July 2022
JooDB is a great tool to present data of your mysql-DB. I use it für my own booking-system backoffice
Ease of use
Fundamental knowlege of html, css is necessary. Even complex search or sort-function is provided
Splendid Examples helps you to understand the functionality. The documentation is very good
I used this to: I use it for my own booking-system backoffice, to list ticket-orders.
All the CRUD you'd ever want, wrapped up in a great interface. A good compromise between hiding the hard bits and customising.
Ease of use
Not for beginners. You do need some basic SQL, CSS , PHP and HTML so that you can customise it, and some experience with Joomla too
Not tried it yet - not run into any problems - it just worked straight away.
I used this to: Upgrading a website for a railway history society from ASP / Access ( yes - really ! ). Masses of data in database. They want to be able to maintained / edit the site themselves. Was hesitant to use Joomla until I found this
Does what it says: displays database entries, where you wish to show in your website. Working 100 percent. CSS-styles integrates perfect.
Ease of use
Easy installation. Easy to use, if you have basic knowledges in MySQL, CSS and HTML, what you always need to work with Joomla.
Support forum answers most questions, you may have. I asked for solutions via Mail, I couldn't find there, answered next day perfect.
Doc is easy to understand. You should know, what you are doing in SQL, HTML, CSS. If you know how Joomla works, you will understand it.
I used this to: Display database entries in customers website. Full searchable and selecting with own variables. Listing hundreds of entries styled by own CSS confirmed to website styles. Storing new data into DB by customers via formular, although they have no knwoledge in SQL or HTML.

Once great, no more...

Posted on 05 July 2015
Was OK some years ago, but it hasn't kept up with what's needed today. Lacks lookup combo box that derives its list from another DB Table
Ease of use
If you're comfortable working with code, it's fine
Awful. The "Pro" version has a "ticket" system, but responses can take weeks. Same with the forum.
I used this to: Was using it on two website but have removed it because a) poor support, b) when you upgrade the Pro version is get overwritten by the free version. There are better options for this sort of thing.
Delivers what it promises, and does it well. If you want to display database content on your site, this should be top of your list.
Ease of use
If you understand the basics of databases, SQL and CSS, then this extension is mostly easy to use. If you don't, you will struggle with it.
For this version, support is via the forum only. Search it to answer many queries, but don't expect rapid responses to new posts.
Essential information is provided, but a technical understanding of what you're doing is assumed, and you may need to search the forum
I used this to: I've used this extension for several years to display database information; for those with the technical knowledge to understand how to use it, it's highly recommended.

nice job

Posted on 12 July 2014
Hi there

really good component, I recommend this

The developers of JooDB even gave me an extra programmed extension!
Though I've been a Joomla administrator for years (think Mambo), I finally registered for the sole purpose of giving this component a fair review. My Joomla needs recently required a tool for sorting multiple lists of people with attributes across as many tables. I searched the extensions for something that might work and JooDB stood out as holding the most promise. I have not been disappointed. I understand that some people are put off by having to understand how databases work, perform some administrative duties outside the Joomla admin console or modify frontend templates. However, JooDB provides a great balance of versatility vs. integration that has been essential for the success of my site. Unless you're designing your own extensions, you're left with offerings that guess at what your exact needs are or make a toolbox available to serve your purpose. I purchased the Pro version of this software and have since submitted suggestions for additional features.

It's too "not joomla"

Posted on 10 April 2014
I like the look and I like the frontend simplicity. That's a fiver. But for the rest...? Sorry, guys.

I use joomla because it's a tool to make nice sites without being a code wizard. I use it on an "IKEA level". That is, I'm not a carpenter who can or want to make my own furniture. Metaforically, you need to be both carpenter (html savvy), blacksmith (SQL savvy) and tailor (CSS savvy) to make this extension work at all.

It actually feels as if the whole point in using joomla - not needing to be code savvy - is totally evaded in this extension.

Joomla is a tool dependent on and created by other tools such as php, html, js and css. These tools work on a level below the complexity and ease of use of Joomla. Together they make something more complex and beautiful than themselves - Joomla. If I want to use Joomla as intended, I don't want to learn all the tools for making Joomla in the first place, in order to use it.

The first stumble block is creating a new database to actually do something. Pressing the usual New button to create a new database, you are asked to select the table you want to use from your MySQL database. There is no way to put in a new table as in ChronoForms or any of the other similar extensions. You have to create it through phpMyAdmin first, to be able to select it as New database, and that is sooo Not Joomla.

So, even though the looks are great in the demo, I cannot give you anything but a "very poor" rating, because as an average Joomla user, this extension is useless. If, on the other hand, this were a ful-fledged joomla extension, I would gladly pay the 50 euros to use the pro version, cause I somehow sense potential here.
Owner's reply: Sorry but your comment is unfair and highly unobjective as some of your other posts.

Instead of writing "I don't understand it" or "Its to complicate for normal users" you are flaming us. No word about the forum or the Documentation Database.

JooDB has a programmable Template engine. Of course it is not only "point and click". We never said this!

Some text from the about page:
"Wherever is light there is darkness also. JooDatabase was designed to be used as easy and flexible as possible. For you as administrator it means, that you have to know what your doing, as soon as you want to customize your database.

You should know the basics of CSS and HTML if you want to customize the design. You should understand SQL and how data is organized efficiently if you want to enhance your table. Also customizing templates can be frustrating without knowledge about the limitations of online editors."

Great component!

Posted on 18 January 2013
Not an extension for a newbie, but a really valuable extension that does exactely what it promises! Very good for me. Little lack of documentation, but easy to use anyway. Even in this free version there is a lot of functionality. Definitely recommended for easy database table displaying.
Magic Image Resize

Magic Image Resize

By Dirk Hoeschen:
Content Construction
Magic image resize is a content plugin for automatic scaling content images to a web friendly size. Magic image resize does not work destructive. It stores the resized images into .thumb folders inside your image directories. Only the source is replaced. You can still use responsive classes like img-fluid or img-responsive. Example img src="images/myLargeImg.jpg" class="img-flui...

JooDatabase Lite

Dirk Hoeschen:
Last updated:
Jan 15 2024
6 months ago
Date added:
Nov 19 2014
GPLv2 or later
Free download
c m p
J3 J4 J5 (b/c plugin)

Uses Joomla! Update System


Write a review