Introduction

Core Enhancements, Multiple Sites

JMS Multisites extend joomla with Multi Sites and user sharing. This allows multiple domain names or sites to have their own joomla configuration file using the same joomla installation. Possibility to share the users, and extensions like VirtueMart, Community Builder, JomSocial, ...
With this new feature you can share the joomla files and folders to create totally independent web sites.
This simply the maintenance of Joomla as you have only one instance to update for all the websites.
With JMS you can create website based on website template to create new slave site.
A "maintenance" functionality is also provided to help supervising the extension installed in each website with their datamodel and help you fix the potential datamodel errors.
As each website has its own joomla configuration.
You can decide to use:
- One database for all the websites. In this case, you must specify different database table prefix for each websites.
- Two databases (One master database and One slave database). This architecture is advised when you want to install JMS on an existing website and you are limited in the number of databases you can create (or disk space).
- As many databases than there are websites. This is the most flexible architecture where each websites works with its own database. This is generally the architecture adopted by joomla when you create multiple websites.
The content of each website is totally independent. This means that the content (articles, news, forum, users, ...) are NOT shared.

  • Favourite
  • Report

The setup of each configuration site consists in using the standard joomla installation mechanism.
In the administration of a 'Slave' site, you can re-install/uninstall extension previously installed on the 'Master' site.
The 'Master' site is the one where you have installed the Joomla MultiSite component and where you manage the 'Slave' sites.
Additional controls are performed during the installation/uninstallation of an extension in a 'slave' site.
Before executing the standard joomla installation, it is verified that the extension you request to install has exactly the same name and same version number to avoid inconsistency between all sites.
This additional control is performed to ensure that you will overwrite the current installation with identical files that you originally installed.
On 'slave' site, uninstalling an extension consists in a joomla standard cleanup of the database. The files present on disk for this extension is not deleted to avoid disturb the other sites.

You can also replicate a website into the same database or in different DB to avoid re-installing the extension in each slave site.
On Unix platform, it is also possible to deploy a slave site into a specific folder.

You can also share user and share the content of a limited number of extensions.

85
93
Functionality

See below.

48
Ease of use

Not very easy to install, but developer helped me in every way.

100
Support

The developer responded very quickly to my emails, within a few hours, and tried to help me in every way. Great support!

100
Value for money

When it resulted that the module could not work for us because of restrictions from the host, he refunded the entire sum within the same day

95
Functionality

I could not wait for more from a component i got for a certain job. Installed, configured and works like a charm.

92
Ease of use

Needs to have a knowledge about what you need from the component and understand it's logic. After that everything is easy,

97
Support

Excellent! What you need, when you need it. Those guys really make you feel that they want to help you!

92
Documentation

Pretty good!

95
Value for money

Compared to the prospects given to your sites from the component, the value is low.

I used this to: I use it to make groups of sites interact (in real time) between each other in some parts, where i want them to interact.
100
100
Functionality

The functionality of this component is exactly what you would expect from a quality component!

100
Ease of use

You do need to spend a little time reading the documentation but once you get your head around it it's simple enough

100
Support

The support this component is fantastic and second to none! I can't express how great Edwin is with regards to his communication and speed!!

100
Documentation

The documentations is very good

100
Value for money

Extremely good value!

I used this to: I use this for a very complex set of sites
92
95
Functionality

It does what it says, although from time to time I come across some issues but most of the are due to the way Joomla & other extensions work

90
Ease of use

Not your average extension - it takes some time to understand the concept, but once you get that and have the project setup, things roll-out

100
Support

The developer is responsive to all my support requests. For extended support or custom works there is the option for buying support hours.

90
Documentation

There is a pdf and video tutorials - in the beginning they may feel overwhelming. After working and studying the docs it starts making sense

85
Value for money

This extension adds great possibilities to Joomla core - so although a bit pricy it worths the money for the purpose it serves

I used this to: I am administrating a Joomla multi-sites project where I am replicating various types of sub-sites from site-templates, using a single Joomla installation.
5
Functionality

Did not work

5
Ease of use

Not easy to use, not intuitive, developer pushes support for comp

5
Support

None provided without their paid support plan

5
Documentation

Documentation does not help with system glitches you will encounter, nor with easy of setup

5
Value for money

I have requested a refund from paypal

I used this to: I have used Joomla since 2007. When I removed this comp from my system, the hosting company had to repair my site. I tried several times to work with the developer to get the comp working, very vague support offered, I have received better support from comps i paid $25 for.
83

Great Extension


Posted on 12 March 2016
90
Functionality

Works for everything we needed & made management of all our sites so much easier than separate instances or Joomla

61
Ease of use

Once set-up correctly it was very easy to use. I highly recommend taking 1-2Hr training and deployment as the concept can seem complicated to

100
Support

Support was amazing, very helpful knowledgeable and polite!

78
Documentation

Documentation was very good although a bit old.

84
Value for money

Worth every cent.

I used this to: My company's regional websites
100
Functionality

If you have several sites that are nearly the same but different contents, then this is the extension to go for!

75
Ease of use

Difficult to use, but once setup it works at the touch of a button

100
Support

Support was really excellent. I had a 500 error during the creation of the slave site and Edwin spent a 2 hours with me trying to solve it

100
Documentation

Very exhaustive documentation

100
Value for money

Dont know it yet (too early to say) but it may really save a lot of time especially with regard to updating security etc...

98
Functionality

perfekt für ein Multi-Site-System mit einem Joomla-Core, viele tolle Features

83
Ease of use

Um alle Optionen optimal zu nutzen, muß man sich ordentlich reinarbeiten

100
Support

Guter Support, auch am Wochenende :-)

85
Documentation
100
Value for money

Preis und Leistung stimmen

I used this to: MulltiSite-System
95
100
Functionality

Very comprehensive. Multisites with all the bells and whistles. This extension provides lots of possibilities.

75
Ease of use

It does have a learning curve. But this is to be expected for an extension of this kind. It solves a complex problem in a complex CMS.

100
Support

A forum, in which the developer responds personally, E-Mail and paid support. He knows what he's talking about and is very professional.

100
Documentation

Documentation is very thorough and, in fact, is available in English. The PDF has 99 pages. Plus more in the forums and the website.

100
Value for money

Very good. Once it's setup you hardly ever need to touch it again, except maybe for configuration changes.

I used this to: We have several complex installations (Joomla 2.5 and 3.x) with multiple slave-sites and multisites-addons.
1

dont touch this


Posted on 10 June 2015
1
Value for money

DONT WASTE YOUR MONYE

I used this to: multi domain
Multisites Single Sign In for domains Multisites Single Sign In for domains
Paid download

Multisites Single Sign In for domains

By Edwin2Win sprlu
Multiple Sites
This plugin allow the users remain logged when they change from one domain to another one. This extends the apache or IIS http server with the facility to share the session information betwee different domains. This is a plugin must be installed in each websites in which you want to share the login. It can also work with and without Jms Multi Sites. When the extension is installed without Jms Mu...
Meeting Schedule Meeting Schedule
Paid download

Meeting Schedule

By Edwin2Win sprlu
Events
"Meeting Schedule" is the extension that you need to find the meeting date that suits to the greatest number of people. It also allows you to book lunch for the meeting and the choice of the menu. You can also allow or forbid anonymous people to attend at the meetings or to automatically register in joomla the new attendees that have an email address. Private meetings are also possible and can be...
HikaInvoices for hikashop HikaInvoices for hikashop
Paid download

HikaInvoices for hikashop

By Edwin2Win sprlu
HikaShop extensions
HikaInvoices allow you customizing invoices but also helps you doing the european tax MOSS declaration per EU countries. The invoices but also other document can be customized to include all European mandatory information such as the European tax note information relative to the VAT law and articles that justify the application of specific computation. The MOSS tax computation consists in reporti...
Search / Replace utility Search / Replace utility
Free

Search / Replace utility

By Edwin2Win sprlu
Replace
This a Joomla 1.5, 2.5, 3.0 and 3.1 native system plugin allow to search and replace any content present in a page. You can use basic search/replace and also regular expresion Search/Replace. The Search/Replace statement can also processed from an external file on the disk and not only from parameters in the plugin settings. This feature can be usefull when combined with Jms Multi Sites extensio...

Multi Sites

Version:
1.3.73
Developer:
Edwin2Win sprlu
Last updated:
Aug 31 2018
Date added:
Jul 27 2008
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Includes:
c
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review