Introduction

e-Commerce, Shopping Cart

VirtueMart is a highly configurable and customizable multi-language shopping cart solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3 with a large number of additional extensions.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Everyone using version below 3.0.12 (vm2.6.22 and later versions not affected) should update to the latest version as soon as possible for security reasons. For details please read:
http://virtuemart.net/news/latest-news/469-security-release-vm3-0-8:
Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.22 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here:
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantages:

  • Template overriding,
  • Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
  • Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
  • Joomla 2.5/3.x ACL

CATEGORIES

  • nested categories
  • with meta tags for seo
  • with description and media

PRODUCTS

  • with meta tags for seo
  • short and long description
  • dimensions (weight, size)
  • multiple media
  • multi-variants/attributes for products (variant-matrix)
  • unlimited child products and derivated levels
  • product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
  • related products
  • reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS

  • pricing depending by shoppergroups
  • price display depending by shoppergroups
  • payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS

  • customizable shopper input form
  • input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
  • recaptcha
  • adressbook
  • default Bill-to and Ship-to address
  • default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK

  • stocking/inventory
  • stock warning
  • virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES

  • various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
  • prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
  • different currency format per currency
  • unit price
  • quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY

  • auto updating rates
  • add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO

  • default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR

  • discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • discounts, tax per product and/or order
  • discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT

  • based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Amazon Pay, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
  • minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
  • transaction fees
  • by countries
  • by shopper groups
  • by categories and more

SHIPMENT

  • based on plugins
  • by shopper groups
  • by countries

CHECKOUT

  • guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
  • option to register at begin of checkout
  • cart is an object, competly overridable by template
  • cart is stored in the session
  • multi-page checkout
  • one page checkout
  • SSL

ORDERS

  • payment/shipment workflow
  • history
  • modifiable
  • order tracking for anonymous users
  • order editing
  • pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY

  • latest
  • topten (most sold)
  • newest
  • featured
  • sortable
  • searchable
  • shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL

  • native with Joomla!
  • allows partial translations

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS

  • coupon handling

VirtueMart ist eine hochgradig konfigurierbare und anpassbare mehrsprachige Warenkorb-Lösung für Joomla 2.5 und 3 mit einer großen Anzahl von zusätzlichen Erweiterungen.


Functionality

Extensive range of functionality allowing you to create a professional looking store.

Best Joomla e-commerce component in my opinion

Ease of use

Great range of configurations available to make your store work for you

As easy to use as any I have tried (and I have tried a few!)

Support

Forum is actively managed by the team.

Direct support is also available.

Documentation

On-line documentation has improved significantly and a visit to the forums will help answer most other queries.

I used this to: All my e-commerce stores

I have tried other e-commerce solutions, but in my opinion Virtuemart stands out as the current leader in this market.



Functionality

great

Ease of use

easy

Support
Documentation

Hi there!


Posted on 19 June 2015
Functionality

I made many VirtueMart Shop and I love VirtueMart.

Ease of use

It taked for me something about 3 hours to install it.

Support
Documentation
I used this to: My eshops.

Great Extension


Posted on 09 April 2015
Functionality

Good, met all the requirements for my websites

Ease of use

Good

Support

Didn't need much

I used this to: A spare parts website

Functionality

Good

Ease of use

Good

Documentation

Good (find in Internet)

I used this to: non-Commercial

Functionality

I used Virtuemart since a long time, many bugs and issues encountered but now with version 3 it's a bit better even if not perfect

Ease of use

It's a complex extension, but i don't know ecommerce solutions that are immediate to use

Documentation

Very well written documentation, you find everything you need!

I used this to: My personal website to sell online

Perfect


Posted on 04 March 2015
Functionality

Virtuemart is the must-have if you need to setup a Ecommerce, once prepared it does his work perfectly fine, leaving time for other things.

Ease of use

Just a bit hard to start up: installation and configuration surely need a little more job to make it more and more intuitive

Documentation

All made by the community, you need somethin? you ask, and they answer.
Maybe in the future YOU will answer, who know?

I used this to: An industrial ecommerce, that started 3 years ago. Is still going fine and virtuemart helped me on mantaining focused for what i needed most.

Functionality

I needed an online store that would handle distribution of both digital and physical content - children with attributes. Free and Paid

Ease of use

It took me only a day to set up the store, then I tweaked the templates a little for the final version.

Support

The forums are full of great information and extremely helpful support staff

Documentation

The document could have been better for setting up child product relationships, but the demo data made it easy to understand.

I used this to: Selling Digital eBooks, Physical books and merchandise. Goods are both paid and free. Child products have different digital content and prices. Coupons and gift certificates need to be flexible and trackable. It fits my needs perfectly. Bravo.

I would give this extension rating "Excellent" if it was easier to upgrade. Minor upgrades was OK, but now we need to upgrade to Joomla 3 upgrade VM to version 2.9.9.x gives me heaches and problems I cannot easily solve.


In my opinion this is one of the best shopping cart solution for Joomla, it's free and full featured, even when there are additional commercial add-ons I found that the features for building a fully functional shopping cart are already included in the base extension.



The weak feature are the themes: it requires more than basic knowledge and a lot of time to be able to customize a theme. The available themes are just a few and most of them don't look modern and responsive, though as a whole shopping cart system it is still an excellent solution.

VirtueMart

Version:
3.2.4
Developer:
VirtueMart Team
Last updated:
Aug 23 2017
Date added:
Mar 05 2006
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support