Introduction

e-Commerce, Shopping Cart

VirtueMart is a highly configurable and customizable multi-language shopping cart solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3 with a large number of additional extensions.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Everyone using version below 3.0.12 (vm2.6.22 and later versions not affected) should update to the latest version as soon as possible for security reasons. For details please read:
http://virtuemart.net/news/latest-news/469-security-release-vm3-0-8:
Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.22 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here:
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantages:

  • Template overriding,
  • Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
  • Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
  • Joomla 2.5/3.x ACL

CATEGORIES

  • nested categories
  • with meta tags for seo
  • with description and media

PRODUCTS

  • with meta tags for seo
  • short and long description
  • dimensions (weight, size)
  • multiple media
  • multi-variants/attributes for products (variant-matrix)
  • unlimited child products and derivated levels
  • product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
  • related products
  • reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS

  • pricing depending by shoppergroups
  • price display depending by shoppergroups
  • payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS

  • customizable shopper input form
  • input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
  • recaptcha
  • adressbook
  • default Bill-to and Ship-to address
  • default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK

  • stocking/inventory
  • stock warning
  • virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES

  • various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
  • prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
  • different currency format per currency
  • unit price
  • quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY

  • auto updating rates
  • add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO

  • default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR

  • discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • discounts, tax per product and/or order
  • discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT

  • based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Amazon Pay, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
  • minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
  • transaction fees
  • by countries
  • by shopper groups
  • by categories and more

SHIPMENT

  • based on plugins
  • by shopper groups
  • by countries

CHECKOUT

  • guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
  • option to register at begin of checkout
  • cart is an object, competly overridable by template
  • cart is stored in the session
  • multi-page checkout
  • one page checkout
  • SSL

ORDERS

  • payment/shipment workflow
  • history
  • modifiable
  • order tracking for anonymous users
  • order editing
  • pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY

  • latest
  • topten (most sold)
  • newest
  • featured
  • sortable
  • searchable
  • shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL

  • native with Joomla!
  • allows partial translations

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS

  • coupon handling

VirtueMart ist eine hochgradig konfigurierbare und anpassbare mehrsprachige Warenkorb-Lösung für Joomla 2.5 und 3 mit einer großen Anzahl von zusätzlichen Erweiterungen.


Great Extension


Posted on 07 March 2014

This is a really good shopping cart and in my opinion this is the best shopping solution for Joomla.

My only improvement suggestion would be to integrate Bootstrap with a standard responsive checkout.

Owner's reply: Thank you very much. VirtueMart 3 is in the pipe and bootstrap is on the roadmap.

Kick ass


Posted on 04 March 2014

After just a couple of days using it and we have pretty much an ecommerce solution on-the-go.

Thanks to the development team. You guys should get a nobel prize or something.

A note to new users> You need experience with coding and KNOW for a fact what you expect from an ecommerce solution.


Good


Posted on 03 February 2014

I have been using virtuemart for years and the update to 2.0 is a good one. I like the fact that everything is customizable .


Good but...


Posted on 01 February 2014

It's good choice but you need to be a programmer to adapt it to your need, and the component need a complete rewrite, I can understand why this component receive a lot of negative feedback


I found Virtuemart to be very complicated to set up and will avoid it in future.

It took days to integrate into an existing Joomla2.5 site and I found that I had to hack into the code to style most steps of the purchasing process. Integrating Paypal was complicated, even with a 3rd party plug-in. Impossible to edit email templates for invoices without advanced PHP knowledge.

Overall, yes it functions as an ecommerce platform and probably has some nice advanced features, although many of these are only available as paid-for extensions - but I found the overall feel to be flimsy and not user-friendly. In future I will pay for commercial platforms and recoup the cost from the development time saved in setting up.


Just tried VM 2.0.26 on latest version of Joomla 2.5 and Joomlart T3 responsive template. Reading so much good reviews supported me in trying VM first. Unfortunately I'm really not that positive about the first results. Shopping Cart module refreshing problems. Responsiveness not working correctly anymore due to unwanted code generated by show shopping cart. Tried a lot of things found in different forums to resolve this issues. Enabling/disabling JS. Enabling/disabling caching ... etc. but without any positive results. I stopped trying and will consider another shopping cart. Really waste of time.

Owner's reply: We are sorry for your experience, but as you said yourself, you used a T3 responsive template. It is very likely that you just had a conflict with a double loaded jQuery as described in our FAQ, which leads to various errors. VM is a component and not responsible for responsiveness, that is done by the template. If you want to test VM, either disable the 3rd party template or buy some compatible to vm.

Virtuemart meets needs


Posted on 13 December 2013

Virtuemart meets many needs. High quality and very fast support. I must say it, one year ago I started making websites with Joomla and Virtuemart and I have saved much time and money. Thanks to the team.



Francesco


Best for E-commerce but...


Posted on 05 December 2013

It's my choice for e-commerce projects, but I hope that we will have a better VIRTUEMART in the future that takes in consideration those points:



1/ Re-factor the code, with the best practices, modern coding style, and a better MVC implementation



2/ Better user experience, for both front and back office



3/ Better support, and documentation



4/ Improve the roadmap, and the testing process to avoid the short period between minor versions


I have been using virtuemart for years and the update to 2.0 is a good one. I like the fact that everything is customizable and prefer it over Prestashop and (maybe) Magento. But this is because it is native to me after all the times I have used it.



Only 1 big point of improvement: multishop compatibility. Now it needs a hack-a-round to do this and with multiple shops selling partially the same products it is a necessity for my inventory.


I'm happy with this!


Posted on 26 November 2013

If you know a little about programming, you can adjust almost everything. And besides, there are a lot of commercial modules/componants or plugins to help you. Most of the times it would cost you less than 10 dollar.



The forum works great, people are willing trying to help you with everything for no payment...



So why not try Virtuemart. Download some templates, download some extensions for it and make it work :)

VirtueMart

Version:
3.2.4
Developer:
VirtueMart Team
Last updated:
Aug 23 2017
Date added:
Mar 05 2006
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support