Introduction

e-Commerce, Shopping Cart

VirtueMart is a highly configurable and customizable multi-language shopping cart solution for Joomla 3.8 with a large number of additional extensions.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Security Note: Everyone using a version below 3.2.14 should update to the latest version as soon as possible for security reasons. For details please read:
https://virtuemart.net/news/489-virtuemart-3-2-14-security-release-and-enhanced-invoice-handling

Please read our full list of features here:
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantages:

  • Template overriding,
  • Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
  • Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
  • Joomla 3.x ACL

CATEGORIES

  • nested categories
  • with meta tags for seo
  • with description and media

PRODUCTS

  • with meta tags for seo
  • short and long description
  • dimensions (weight, size)
  • multiple media
  • multi-variants/attributes for products (variant-matrix)
  • unlimited child products and derivated levels
  • product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
  • related products
  • reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS

  • pricing depending by shoppergroups
  • price display depending by shoppergroups
  • payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS

  • customizable shopper input form
  • input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
  • recaptcha
  • adressbook
  • default Bill-to and Ship-to address
  • default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK

  • stocking/inventory
  • stock warning
  • virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES

  • various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
  • prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
  • different currency format per currency
  • unit price
  • quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY

  • auto updating rates
  • add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO

  • default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR

  • discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • discounts, tax per product and/or order
  • discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT

  • based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Amazon Pay, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
  • minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
  • transaction fees
  • by countries
  • by shopper groups
  • by categories and more

SHIPMENT

  • based on plugins
  • by shopper groups
  • by countries

CHECKOUT

  • guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
  • option to register at begin of checkout
  • cart is an object, competly overridable by template
  • cart is stored in the session
  • multi-page checkout
  • one page checkout
  • SSL

ORDERS

  • payment/shipment workflow
  • history
  • modifiable
  • order tracking for anonymous users
  • order editing
  • pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY

  • latest
  • topten (most sold)
  • newest
  • featured
  • sortable
  • searchable
  • shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL

  • native with Joomla!
  • allows partial translations

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS

  • coupon handling

VirtueMart ist eine hochgradig konfigurierbare und anpassbare mehrsprachige Warenkorb-Lösung für Joomla 2.5 und 3 mit einer großen Anzahl von zusätzlichen Erweiterungen.


Great Extension


Posted on 09 April 2015
Functionality

Good, met all the requirements for my websites

Ease of use

Good

Support

Didn't need much

I used this to: A spare parts website

Functionality

Good

Ease of use

Good

Documentation

Good (find in Internet)

I used this to: non-Commercial

Functionality

I used Virtuemart since a long time, many bugs and issues encountered but now with version 3 it's a bit better even if not perfect

Ease of use

It's a complex extension, but i don't know ecommerce solutions that are immediate to use

Documentation

Very well written documentation, you find everything you need!

I used this to: My personal website to sell online

Perfect


Posted on 04 March 2015
Functionality

Virtuemart is the must-have if you need to setup a Ecommerce, once prepared it does his work perfectly fine, leaving time for other things.

Ease of use

Just a bit hard to start up: installation and configuration surely need a little more job to make it more and more intuitive

Documentation

All made by the community, you need somethin? you ask, and they answer.
Maybe in the future YOU will answer, who know?

I used this to: An industrial ecommerce, that started 3 years ago. Is still going fine and virtuemart helped me on mantaining focused for what i needed most.

Functionality

I needed an online store that would handle distribution of both digital and physical content - children with attributes. Free and Paid

Ease of use

It took me only a day to set up the store, then I tweaked the templates a little for the final version.

Support

The forums are full of great information and extremely helpful support staff

Documentation

The document could have been better for setting up child product relationships, but the demo data made it easy to understand.

I used this to: Selling Digital eBooks, Physical books and merchandise. Goods are both paid and free. Child products have different digital content and prices. Coupons and gift certificates need to be flexible and trackable. It fits my needs perfectly. Bravo.

I would give this extension rating "Excellent" if it was easier to upgrade. Minor upgrades was OK, but now we need to upgrade to Joomla 3 upgrade VM to version 2.9.9.x gives me heaches and problems I cannot easily solve.


In my opinion this is one of the best shopping cart solution for Joomla, it's free and full featured, even when there are additional commercial add-ons I found that the features for building a fully functional shopping cart are already included in the base extension.



The weak feature are the themes: it requires more than basic knowledge and a lot of time to be able to customize a theme. The available themes are just a few and most of them don't look modern and responsive, though as a whole shopping cart system it is still an excellent solution.


Continuous problems


Posted on 08 October 2014

It seems that every time Virtuemart creates something or fixes a bug they break something else. Just to get virtuemart to work well and display things neatly requires code and css customisations. Issues with sending out email notifications and a whole lot of other issues make it not profitable to use for my clients. I have moved all my clients to a new paid for extension.



Virtuemart is great in theory, but the development team needs to get it together.



Another issue I have with Virtuemart is how long it takes them to upgrade from one version of Joomla to another. Wake up Virtuemart we have been on Joomla 3 for the most part of this year already.


I used VirtueMart 1 long time ago, and since the shop needed a new face, I decided to go for VirtueMart 2.0.18 that time. The change was a bit difficult, because many things had changed and some were missing. Finding out that almost the whole core was rewritten, that was understandable, and I in hope of the things to come I stuck to VirtueMart. With version 2.6.6 coming up VirtueMart really improved a lot and I am really happy to find a lot of new features that really help to make the workflow go zoom. I am already testing two shops on VirtueMart 3 (VM 2.9.8 RC) and so far I could already publish them under Joomla 3.3. I especially like the new frontend editing, so you don't need to let everybody into Joomlas backend for product editing.

Well, there was a time when VM was not up to the edge but a redevelopement takes it toll. The gain is a much faster VirtueMart that uses much less resources than the versions before and brings features like dynamic child products, lots of rules for price calculation and a well working override system that let's you customize your shop in your own way.

Well done, VM-Team!


This is the fourth time we've use Virtuemart in our clients' website, so I guess we want to write a review to thank the developer for their great job. It has its rough edges (esp. on the SEO side) but it's not much of a problem due to the amazing flexibility it offers.



One of the best extension for Joomla! Great work Max and team - keep it up!

VirtueMart

Version:
3.2.15
Developer:
VirtueMart Team
Last updated:
Jun 14 2018
Date added:
Mar 05 2006
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support