Introduction

e-Commerce, Shopping Cart

VirtueMart is a highly configurable and customizable multi-language shopping cart solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3 with a large number of additional extensions.

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

Everyone using version below 3.0.12 (vm2.6.22 and later versions not affected) should update to the latest version as soon as possible for security reasons. For details please read:
http://virtuemart.net/news/latest-news/469-security-release-vm3-0-8:
Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.22 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here:
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantages:

  • Template overriding,
  • Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
  • Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
  • Joomla 2.5/3.x ACL

CATEGORIES

  • nested categories
  • with meta tags for seo
  • with description and media

PRODUCTS

  • with meta tags for seo
  • short and long description
  • dimensions (weight, size)
  • multiple media
  • multi-variants/attributes for products (variant-matrix)
  • unlimited child products and derivated levels
  • product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
  • related products
  • reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS

  • pricing depending by shoppergroups
  • price display depending by shoppergroups
  • payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS

  • customizable shopper input form
  • input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
  • recaptcha
  • adressbook
  • default Bill-to and Ship-to address
  • default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK

  • stocking/inventory
  • stock warning
  • virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES

  • various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
  • prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
  • different currency format per currency
  • unit price
  • quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY

  • auto updating rates
  • add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO

  • default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR

  • discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
  • discounts, tax per product and/or order
  • discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT

  • based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Amazon Pay, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
  • minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
  • transaction fees
  • by countries
  • by shopper groups
  • by categories and more

SHIPMENT

  • based on plugins
  • by shopper groups
  • by countries

CHECKOUT

  • guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
  • option to register at begin of checkout
  • cart is an object, competly overridable by template
  • cart is stored in the session
  • multi-page checkout
  • one page checkout
  • SSL

ORDERS

  • payment/shipment workflow
  • history
  • modifiable
  • order tracking for anonymous users
  • order editing
  • pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY

  • latest
  • topten (most sold)
  • newest
  • featured
  • sortable
  • searchable
  • shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL

  • native with Joomla!
  • allows partial translations

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS

  • coupon handling

VirtueMart ist eine hochgradig konfigurierbare und anpassbare mehrsprachige Warenkorb-Lösung für Joomla 2.5 und 3 mit einer großen Anzahl von zusätzlichen Erweiterungen.


Continuous problems


Posted on 08 October 2014

It seems that every time Virtuemart creates something or fixes a bug they break something else. Just to get virtuemart to work well and display things neatly requires code and css customisations. Issues with sending out email notifications and a whole lot of other issues make it not profitable to use for my clients. I have moved all my clients to a new paid for extension.



Virtuemart is great in theory, but the development team needs to get it together.



Another issue I have with Virtuemart is how long it takes them to upgrade from one version of Joomla to another. Wake up Virtuemart we have been on Joomla 3 for the most part of this year already.


I used VirtueMart 1 long time ago, and since the shop needed a new face, I decided to go for VirtueMart 2.0.18 that time. The change was a bit difficult, because many things had changed and some were missing. Finding out that almost the whole core was rewritten, that was understandable, and I in hope of the things to come I stuck to VirtueMart. With version 2.6.6 coming up VirtueMart really improved a lot and I am really happy to find a lot of new features that really help to make the workflow go zoom. I am already testing two shops on VirtueMart 3 (VM 2.9.8 RC) and so far I could already publish them under Joomla 3.3. I especially like the new frontend editing, so you don't need to let everybody into Joomlas backend for product editing.

Well, there was a time when VM was not up to the edge but a redevelopement takes it toll. The gain is a much faster VirtueMart that uses much less resources than the versions before and brings features like dynamic child products, lots of rules for price calculation and a well working override system that let's you customize your shop in your own way.

Well done, VM-Team!


This is the fourth time we've use Virtuemart in our clients' website, so I guess we want to write a review to thank the developer for their great job. It has its rough edges (esp. on the SEO side) but it's not much of a problem due to the amazing flexibility it offers.



One of the best extension for Joomla! Great work Max and team - keep it up!


Even though it took some time for the 2.0.X versions to muture and be ready for primetime. Now when its 2.6x series this system is very very robust and good.



Alot of great templates for Virtuemart and its MVC structure makes it excellent to override CSS and create your own look and feel.



I really hope the 3.0 for Joomla 3 is around the corner!


"If you use VirtueMart, please post a rating and a review at the Joomla! Extensions Directory."

Beta tested ok. Production test ok! I sold my first article with virtuemart! Virtuemart rules!

Thank you for the support at the JoomlaDay


Joomla for shopping?


Posted on 26 May 2014

It work good for Joomla but not as good as I have expected. Lots of bug I’ve fixed to get it work. Hope they solve them soon than it can be a very good shopping extension for Joomla.

Owner's reply: I consider this as a fake review. VM2.6 is very bugfree, stable and robust. You do not mention the bug itself. You said you hope, we solve it soon, then tell us, what. People reading your review have no idea which kind of bug you mean. Why you had to solve it yourself, did you get help from our forum? The bugs are reported in the forum?

I've always been impressed with VM as one of the best e-commerce systems around, and VM2 continues to impress. Having been a user since it was Mambo-shop, I've seen how it's developed over the years.



With the experience of multiple sites built using v1.0 and 1.1 it was a bit disorientating switching over to the Joomla MVC model from the old themes approach, but having now built a number of VM2 sites I remain seriously impressed with it's flexibility and robustness.



Out of the box, the core functionality and styling are adequate (much better than the default themes for vm1.0 and 1.1 which were, frankly, pretty ugly), but initial configuration is quite complex, mainly because of the flexibility (read complexity) of what it will do. Other reviewers have commented on needing to know php to customise it - a bit of php knowledge is useful if you want to hack around the default templates and create your own template overrides (as is a knowledge of the Joomla MVC), but if you don't know any php / html and the default template doesn't grab you, there are plenty of low-cost commercial templates available as an alternative.



But a key strength of VM is that when you want more than the basic, it's there in the form of some truly excellent 3rd party extensions to deliver all the extra functionality you need. Many of these are commercial plugins, but mostly very low cost. Well worth exploring the extensions directory to see what's available. You'd have to be some cheapskate to begrudge a the few tens of dollars / euros it might cost to deliver the very fully featured sort of e-commerce site you can create if you want.



Where VM2 falls down though, is in it's documentation. Earlier versions, VM1.1 for example, had very comprehensive developer and user documentation, but this is lacking from VM2, where the online documentation is somewhat patchy.



I have road tested and built sites in other systems such as Magento, but overall, I believe VM is one of the best open-source e-commerce systems available, and remains my first choice.


I like it


Posted on 07 May 2014

Although i'm new in Virtuemart i think it is good for a free cart. It has a lot of features and many 3rd party extensions to combine with it.


Very disappointed


Posted on 07 May 2014

Virtuemart was the first e-commerce system that I knew years ago.

It was just magnificent; it had everything for work optimally, integrated modules, good graphic and great practicality.

As the years passed and the idea of integrating it fully to Joomla make ​​him richer problems, errors, archaic graphic and no all old extensions included.

For now I use another e-commerce but I hope that VM back to being a jewel as it was in the past.

I am mortified but I am honest

Owner's reply: lol archaic graphic. VM1 had an ancient design in html1 style. But in 98% of the cases, people use anyway another template and not the standard one. If you want that an old extension is included, then go ahead. Take one of the old free extensions, write it for vm2 and donate it to the core. But yes, it is cheaper to give a bad review and just to request features for free hoping that sometimes someone feels guilty enough to deliver it for free.

Many Issues


Posted on 04 May 2014

I used to be a huge advocate for VM and VM1 was excellent. But don't waste your time on VM2. VM2 comes with no shipping modules and if you want them you now have to pay $95 to get USP and FedEx - Not to mention all the other issues... Such as creating a simple drop down list for size and color - you've got to be a programmer to figure it out. I spent hours on this one little thing that is very EASY in other carts. Not user friendly at all.

Owner's reply: I am sorry, but we know that even people just used to ebay are using vm2. They never had a webpage before! and they never learned how to use the computer in special. They also easily can manage it. So I think you just did not find the manual http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?board=132.0 and http://docs.virtuemart.net/

VirtueMart

Version:
3.2.4
Developer:
VirtueMart Team
Last updated:
Aug 23 2017
Date added:
Mar 05 2006
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support