Introduction

Galleries

SIMGallery is the TRUE community-driven gallery. Integrated seamlessly with JomSocial, EasySocial, Community Builder and JomWall (JS/ES/CB/JW) it allows your users to create and manage their own albums, photos and videos. SIMGallery mirrors the gallery feature of Facebook EXACTLY! Browsing is as easy as using the arrow keys.

  • Favourite
  • Report

Key features:
- Media type: Photos, Profile Pictures, Videos, Wall photos/videos
- Fully responsive: displays beautifully on ALL devices
- Theater mode
- Watermark
- Facebook photos import
- Upload/link videos
- Remote storage (Amazon S3)
- Advanced access settings
- Multiple profile pictures management (optional)
- Google Maps
- Categories (optional). Search albums/photos based on categories
- Tag media, post comments, like media, like comments, report media, set photo as profile picture, download photos, set access levels etc etc
- 3 different types of tags: tags of users, custom tags, and keyword tags (that can be set in the configuration). If you have keyword tags set, users can search for media based on these tags.
- Migrate existing media from JomSocial and EasySocial.

Combine categories with keywords for a truly powerful community gallery! Eg. Categories: Houses, Condos and Apartments; Keywords: 2-room, 3-room, refurbished, new. SIMGallery will now display meaningful search results. Allows you to run specific themed websites for real estate, pets, model agency, photography etc or just general community. The sky's the limit!

SIMGallery can be used standalone without the need for JS/ES/CB/JW. However, if you're integrating with them, there are 2 levels of integration:

Level 1) Post new activities on JS/ES's wall, JomWall, and CB Activity. Also post notifications for JS and ES users. SIMGallery will remain its own separate gallery, while your users will still be able to use JS/ES's gallery. Useful if you need a community gallery with category features.

Level 2) SIMGallery will completely take over JS/ES's photo and/or video gallery (ES does not have videos, so SIMGallery fixes that). All links to JS/ES's gallery will be redirected to the relevant SIMGallery links. SIMGallery will automatically create a new Wall Photos album for every user and display wall photos in them! Your users can continue to post wall photos or videos on JS/ES, and they will be linked to SIMGallery.

SIMGallery allows admins to set 2 types of user group permissions:

1) Admins - access and delete all media in the frontend regardless of permissions.

2) Media - create albums and upload photos/videos. Instead of all registered users, you can limit this to particular user group(s).

SIMGallery comes with 4 modules: the Albums module, Photos module, Videos module and Ranking module. These modules are super highly configurable, and the Ranking module even allows you to run contests on your website.

It also comes with JS, ES and CB plugins that will display a user's latest albums, photos or videos on their profiles.

It's IMPOSSIBLE to describe everything here! Please check the documentation for full description.

Stay Away!



Posted on 10 April 2018
Functionality
As a stand alone product it might work, but it DOES NOT integrate with EasySocial as advertised.
Ease of use
Never managed to actually get it working.
Support
Posted on forum and sent a message through their internal system, 3 days later not even an automated answer.
Documentation
There is some documentation but it references settings that don't exist, so I assume it is for a much older version.
Value for money
Not worth it! Do not Buy!
I used this to: I was trying to replace the EasySocial photo system, this is NOT the way to do it.
Functionality
Excellent Fonctionnalites. I use it with jomsocial 3.2.16 and Jomsocial 4.2.4 and each time i have good results
Ease of use
you have only to install the extensions (and if not the developer will resolve the problem)
Support
Support is great. Each Time you have an issue with the extension the developer found a solution.
Documentation
Forum, Documentation, many pieces to have an idea and a solution..
Value for money
Great!
I used this to: I use SIMGALLERY with différents versions of Jomsocial. Every Time i'm satisfied
Functionality
It has everything I need. I love the theater mode (like on Facebook) and support for sub-categories. Must-have for all photography websites
Ease of use
Super easy to install with next to no need for configuration. Works out of the box.
Support
I needed to know where the language file is located. Got a response almost immediately.
Documentation
Clear and easily understood.
Value for money
10/10! With all these features, it's astonishing it costs so little
I used this to: Pets photography website
Functionality
The number one aspect to this extension is that it allows you to make categories for organizing a large photo collection.
Ease of use
This is a very deep and complex app, BUT it is very user friendly, It really cannot be better. Perfect!
Support
The developer, Mike Feng is great to work with, he responds promptly he is willing to help and make the app work for you. He's proferssional
Documentation
The documentation is well organized, and it is easy to read and use.
Value for money
This extension is a very very good deal, and well worth the price.
I used this to: I use this app to replace the JomSocial issue and oversight of not providing photo categories. I have asked JomSocial since 2009 to make categories for photo collections, they flat out said NOT, use tags. Well that just does not work. I have 16,500 photos in 2,000 albums. Works!!
This component was quite promising. I bought a license for my website during the development: I was looking for a media plugin for JomSocial.



Unfortunately, the component is not working correctly with JomSocial. A few bugs makes this plugin not working with JomSocial. As stated on their website I contacted their support desk with a few questions regarding this errors.



Unfortunately, I haven't heard anything from their support desk. I paid for the extension, it's not working and they have a no money refund policy.



Please consider buying this extension twice.
Owner's reply: Hi
Sorry for the late support as it was the holiday period here. All support tickets have been responded now.
I have used Simbunch products for a few years now, sometimes having ditched them for other easier to use, less buggy components (ie inviter)

I had used Simgallery once before 2 years ago but gave up as it was very buggy

HOWEVER

This latest version of Simgallery provides the enhancements that any social site would benefit from.

It was easy to install and cfg.

I only had one problem which was dealt with efficiently by support within a couple of days

It seems that Simbunch has really picked up its customer service levels and now providing products that do match their claims.
Although there are a lot of good reviews for this product, I feel they may be for the previous version. This new, re-written version had a lot of bugs when I installed it, although to be fair they spent over a week fixing everything I reported. I am still wary of using it though in case other as yet un-found bugs may be there. I also have found that their own website shows error messages and often won't load at all most mornings I try to access it so I do wonder just how well they test things.



There is no support for animated GIF files and limited interaction with Community builder activity stream, so that plus the bugs means I will not be installing on my live server at present.



If you want a 'Facebook image gallery' replacement this is probably great but as a community Builder integrated replacement for CB Gallery, I think it has the potential to be the best there is out there but unfortunately it is not there yet.
Owner's reply: Hi
We have actually already fixed all known bugs that have been reported by our many users, so you have no worries about that. I have also repeatedly told you that the problem you were having with the scrolling is not a bug, but because you have a top panel from another extension with a z-index of over 2 million (yes, over 2000000!!!) which is covering up everything, but I cannot help if you do not believe me.

Also, I have also repeatedly told you the integration with the activity stream is not limited but designed like that on purpose, so there won't be unnecessary spam appearing on user's activity stream. This is also identical to the kind of activities Facebook allow on users' timelines.

We are sorry that after assisting you with the extension actively throughout that you are still unhappy, but the problems you have with the software aren't bugs. They are designed that way on purpose as I've explained to you, and we simply cannot modify it to suit individual user's needs. Such changes can only be rolled out step by step, or be custom modified as with any other opensource software.

Lastly, the errors you saw on our site was because we were upgrading mysql and cpanel, that's all.
I have just finished setting up my website (I run a minecraft gaming site) with SIMGallery, and I must say this is one extension that deserves all the credit it can get.



First of, they weren't kidding when they say SIMGallery works just like Facebook. There are so many details that went into this extension, it's just breathtaking. I especially like how you can leave comments and like photos when viewing a list of photos without having to view each photo. Other things I found really useful include:

- how you can change a photo or album's privacy level in 1 click

- how you can delete photos and set them as profile picture in 1 click

- the uploading is very sleek. Just for fun, I tested it with my android tablet and it works too!

- the keyword tagging is especially useful for my users. Now they can tag their photos based on the list of minecraft mods keywords I've set.

- all the drag and drop features



The installation was straightforward. The only support I needed was finding the language file. For some reason the language file is not in the normal Joomla language folder, but in the component's folder itself.



All in all I am very pleased with the extension. Like I said, it's just stunning how much attention is paid to small details that really improve the user friendliness. If I could, I'd give it 6 stars!
Owner's reply: Hi
Thanks! Appreciate the review. We have several new things planned, so do check back often :)
I have given 2 stars for the idea, which is good - take jomsocial and present as an image gallery, grab images and collate (a simple version of Pinterest).



Unfortunately this plugin DOES NOT integrate with Jomsocial at all.



The developer has told me he is working on it, but until this is done I would not go near it.
Owner's reply: Hi
Version 4 has been released, do check it out! Integration with JomSocial is much tighter now, with several new integrations introduced.
Integration with JomSocial is not complete.. uploading a photo directly to activity stream is broken. Upload a photo, click on the resulting thumbnail, and it takes me to an album. And no, the photo is not in the album. This is a pretty serious bug and it needs fixed.



Support is unresponsive. I submitted a support ticket Thursday evening, made sure the correct domain is registered with the license, as required, and even provided a login for SimBunch. It is now Saturday evening and I have yet to get a response.



I wouldn't mind so much if they at least showed some willingness to work with me. If they can't fix it, maybe help me find a work-around. But to just leave me hanging is not acceptable. I now have a choice - find my own way to work around this issue or let almost $100 go down the drain. A simple reply could have avoided this review.
Owner's reply: Hi

We regret the inconvenience caused. However, please note that we are committed to respond to support tickets within 2 working days, as stated on our Support page. Also, do note that as our time zone is +8 GMT, we received your ticket in the middle of Friday, not Thursday. Since we do not work on weekends (everyone has families to attend to), there was nobody to respond to your ticket.

That said, we've had actually cleared all outstanding tickets a few hours ago (on a Sunday, no less). Your ticket should have received a response already.

Done in minutes



Posted on 09 May 2012
Thanx for this outstand component for Joomla 2.5! I use it in combination with the Community Builder 1.8 and it´s work like a charm! That´s how components and modules has to be. Especially the crop function ist quite perfect for clean designs.

The cherry on top would be to have the possibility to change the grafic/css in backend of joomla without changing your css-file.
I rate this as "Good" only because the idea is good and I already am a developer and know how to fix the code. The extension is really helpful but not free and when you pay the extension and a pro version too, you expect not to run on such many bugs. NOTE: this is not for the user who doesn't know PHP and ajax/javascript as you will be forced to ask for extension developers help to adapt the extension for your site which will be, I presume, not for free as I can see on 'custom development' page on developers site. I suggest to contact the owner and ask for the prices he will charge for his work to adapt the extension to your site. This is of course if you like this idea so much.

This could be a very promising extension if this developer didn't stop on fixing the bugs. I see a lot of free extensions which developers provided a much better support and thus give you the opportunity to extend the extension by buying some extended versions but this one's not. You must pay for a base and pro version which are not ready to go after installing. You must track the bags and then be sure when everything is Ok to start using it live. One more thing I can't understand is why is this payed extension limited to one site only or 3 sites if payed more, if you must fix bugs by yourself or paying this developer extra for doing it for you.



I strongly recommend to this developer to test the extension on different templates and such, to be aware of bugs and fix them before continuing to sell this buggy extension for $80 + $50!
CloudFlare for Joomla!
Free

CloudFlare for Joomla!

By Mike Feng
Performance
CloudFlare for Joomla! is a simple plugin that allows Joomla! websites to fully utilize CloudFlare's free Universal SSL . The plugin does a couple of things: Fixes the infinite redirect issue that many Joomla! website encounter Loads all content (images, css and script) via https, whether they are added using relative or absolute URLs...
SIMNoFollow
Free

SIMNoFollow

By Mike Feng
SEO & Metadata
Improve your website's SEO drastically with SIMNoFollow. The plugin replaces all outgoing links based on 3 configurable settings: Add rel="nofollow" Adding rel="nofollow" to your outgoing links is a well-known method to improve your website's SEO by reducing leakage. Add target="blank" While adding target="blank" to your outgoing links will not improve your website's SEO (search engines...
Profile URL
Paid download

Profile URL

By Mike Feng
Short URL
ProfileURL allows your users to customize their own personal links/vanity URLs to various content specific to them on your website. It can be profiles, groups, pages, events, namecards, galleries, contests, various dashboards, etc Using a plugin system, you can integrate ANY extension with ProfileURL! Each plugin allows you to add an optional prefix to the URLs, allow your users to create permali...
ParaInvite
Paid download

ParaInvite

By Mike Feng
Bookmark & Recommend
ParaInvite the most feature-packed viral invites and marketing solution for Joomla!. It is essentially a 4-in-1 software fit for any website: 1. Contacts and Invites Management 2. Namecards 3. Content Sharing 4. Quick Login It is completely impossible to fully describe the features of ParaInvite 5, so it's highly recommended that you visit the documentation for a detailed description. It uses OA...
SIMAlerts
Free

SIMAlerts

By Mike Feng
Popups & iFrames
SIMAlerts turns your website's boring warnings, notices, and messages into something fancy and eye-catching for your users. Highly configurable with 4 different styles, your users will be sure to see the difference!...
SIMAnswers
Paid download

SIMAnswers

By Mike Feng
Question & Answers
SIMAnswers is the complete Questions and Answers solution for Joomla. In fact, imagine Yahoo Answers for Joomla, but on steroids! SIMAnswers works in exactly the same way as Yahoo Answers, with a ton of extra features! Looking for beautifully designed, Bootstrap enabled, fully responsive, feature packed extension? Search no more! With its robust features, not only can SIMAnswers be used as a Q&A...
SIMGenealogy
Paid download

SIMGenealogy

By Mike Feng
Communities
SIMGenealogy is a full-featured genealogy and family tree extension for Joomla! Major update in February 2016! Quickly create family trees or shared genealogy projects, with privacy settings, project managers, commenting, notes, and more. Bootstrap enabled, displays on all mobile devices Supports family trees and social networks. Family trees support GEDCOM import and export. Set specific user...
SIMRatings
Paid download

SIMRatings

By Mike Feng
Ratings & Reviews
SIMRatings converts your standard Joomla articles into sleek product pages that allows your users to rate and post reviews. It also gathers a long list of highly configurable information and injects them as rich snippets that are compatible to Google Structured Data , thereby displaying meaningful search results on most search engines. Fully responsive design - displays nicely on all devices....
SendGrid Auto-Subscribe
Paid download

SendGrid Auto-Subscribe

By Mike Feng
Mailing & Newsletter bridges
SendGrid Auto-Subscribe is a 3-in-1 integration solution for adding contacts to SendGrid's email marketing. 1) When a user registers on your website, automatically add his name and email to your SendGrid mailing list silently in the background. This also works when you manually add a user from Joomla administration panel. 2) Export existing users of your website to your SendGrid mailing list. You...
SIMContests
Paid download

SIMContests

By Mike Feng
Ratings & Reviews
SIMContests is the brand new complete Joomla solution for holding photos and videos contests! Create contests for animation, videography, photography, stockphoto design, models etc. and obtain accurate scoring results with its 5-score system. Main Features - Contests and Battles - Contests: created by admins, multiple users can enter - Battles: created by users (frontend) or admin, only challenge...
Toogle Boostrap
Free

Toogle Boostrap

By Mike Feng
Performance
Toggle Bootstrap lets you easily toggle between different versions of Bootstrap. It also lets your disable Joomla's MooTools Core and/or More scripts. This is a very useful plugin for everybody, especially web developers creating their custom template for a particular website. Currently, Joomla core uses Bootstrap version 2.3.2. Toggle Bootstrap lets you choose to load Bootstrap version 3.3.7 or...
SIMPopShops
Paid download

SIMPopShops

By Mike Feng
e-Commerce Integrations
SIMPopShops is the complete Joomla solution for Rakuten PopShops . Quickly and easily setup multiple shopfronts that are highly configurable and start selling from thousands of merchants around the world. SIMPopShops uses the PopShops API to provide your users with a seamless and absolutely beautiful shopping experience, with all the features and functionality of Joomla. Its highly configurable sh...

SIMGallery

Version:
6.0.21
Developer:
Mike Feng
Last updated:
Mar 24 2018
Date added:
Aug 25 2008
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review