logo
main-image-2
main-image-3
main-image-4

Introduction

Site Security

From the makers of Akeeba Backup Core/Professional and Admin Tools Core, this is the enhanced release of Admin Tools, available on a subscription basis. On top of what Admin Tools Core already offers, Admin Tools Professional has these exclusive features:
- Security tightening .htaccess (Apache), nginx.conf (NginX) and web.config (IIS) file generator with a simple yet powerful user interface
- Restrict administrator with a secret URL parameter
- Web Application Firewall to block common exploits (SQL injection, XSS, DFI, RFI, malicious user agent, CSRF/spam-bot protection, uploads scanner etc)
- Bad word filtering
- IP Whitelisting for the administrator section
- IP Blacklisting
- Geographic block (deny access to specific countries/continents)
- Modification of Generator meta tag and other sensitive HTTP headers
- Email on administrator login
- Block front-end Super Administrator log-in
- Block Super Administrator user modification
- Block extensions installation
- Block visual fingerprinting (tmpl, template and tp URL parameters)
- Integration of the Bad Behavior anti-spam library
- Project Honeypot IP blacklist integration
- Automatic IP blocking of repeat offenders
- Email notifications of all detected security issues
- URL redirections (exclusive support for query parameters!)
- Scheduled site maintenance operations

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report

The software is GPL; buying a single subscription you can install it on as many sites as you want and keep it running even after your subscription expires, without encrypted code, domain limitations or other such nuisances.


Functionality

Extremely effective against hacker attacks. Allows to keep the site protected and secure, both frontend and backend.

Ease of use

It is not difficult to configure but you need to read the documentation, watch the videos and follow the instructions.

Support

Very good support, fast and resolutive. One of the best support I've seen in Joomla.

Documentation

Very good documentation with a lot of real cases.

Value for money

If you want your site to be really protected, do not hesitate to pay what it costs

I used this to: Protect all my sites.

Functionality

As others have said, this is an indispensable tool that has a myriad of features.

Ease of use

Very well constructed, but you must read the documentation.

Support

Only used this a couple of times because the documentation is thorough. Support is quick and helpful.

Documentation

This really is the model for that all developers should follow. It is extremely well written and answers most questions.

Value for money

Excellent

I used this to: Company website

Functionality

ATP has been blocking attacks on many of my sites that I never knew were happening. Ability to block them is outstanding.

Ease of use

If you can build a Joomla site, you probably have the skills to use ATP. It does require some attention to advanced details, not too hard.

Support

The written support is fine so far. I locked myself out of my site several times, but installation tells you how to overcome this easily.

Documentation

The written documentation is extensive, and Google search helps too :).

Value for money

I have had to restore two sites destroyed by hackers. ATP, along with backups, are the most important tools on my site protection workbench!

I used this to: Obviously! Defending my dozen or so websites from hackers, who have destroyed two of them in the past. Not any more. Thank you ATP!

Quite Nicely Done


Posted on 14 December 2016
Functionality

Akeeba Admin Tools (paid download) protects against more bad behavior than I knew existed.

Ease of use

As long as you read the documentation, and carefully consider each setting, this product is easy to use.

Support

I have not had to use their support yet.

Documentation

Only the installation documentation has been used, and it allowed me to get up and running.

Value for money

I'm happy with the value of the product, for what I paid.

I used this to: Protecting Joomla! sites from most miscreants. Nothing is 100%, but this software takes care of the most common attacks.

Admin Tools Pro


Posted on 14 September 2016
Functionality

Excellent

Ease of use

Excellent

Support

Excellent

Documentation

Excellent

Value for money

Even with a ZAR exchange rate of 1USD - 20ZAR the app has been worth every cent

I used this to: Preventing endless hack attempts.

Execellent Extension


Posted on 23 August 2016
Functionality

Excellent

Ease of use

Logical

Support

FAQs are spot on

Documentation

I read the 150 page guide first. Great upfront effort. And made sense, even when something might go wrong, i.e. htaccess issues.

Value for money

Used on five sites for 40 Euros

I used this to: I used Akeeba Admin Tools on all of my sites which were constantly under attack. They have applied a great deal of attention to detail throughout, I can't thank them enough. Seriously well done.

Functionality

Worked fine

Ease of use

Worked fine

Support

140 characters is not enough to describe problem. I submitted a ticket with a complaint. Nickolas terminated my paid account.

Documentation

Fine.

Value for money

Nickolas went ballistic because of a complaint & terminated our acct, so value can't be rated.

I used this to: Security & backup. Was using 4.0.0, told to upgrade. After upgrading realized I didn't have paid version anymore. Unprofessional. Nickolas is unstable. I will be happy to share his 1000 word response to my complaint that had nothing to do with the complaint or my questions. Scary
Owner's reply: The entire communication history with this person can be found at https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/akeeba-backup-3x/25746-huh.html As you can observe, the contact he made is not even for Admin Tools, it's for Akeeba Backup, and starts with a bigoted rant. This is what ultimately led to his account being terminated, topped of with more abuse and personal attacks in his following contacts. Account termination took place per the Terms of Service he unreservedly agreed to when subscribing.

We do not decide to cancel subscriptions lightly. Over the 7 years of its existence our company has sold thousands of subscriptions and canceled less than a dozen. Unfortunately some people, like Mr. Rhoades, think that it's somehow acceptable to begin a "professional" communication with disrespectful words and bigotry directed to the persons they are communicating with. Yet, when they receive a response in a professional tone calling them out for their behavior all they do is shout more abuse. Ultimately they resort to lies and intimidation tactics as you can read for yourself in the contact history with this person and this JED review.

We decline to accept this kind of vile individuals as clients. We treat our clients with respect, professionalism and –above all– as HUMAN BEINGS. We expect to be treated likewise – even with an understandable amount of terse writing, inherent to the frustration someone seeking technical support is already subjected to. So please do rest assured that we don't cancel subscriptions without a refund except for the rare case of people who refuse to treat others as humans or apologize for their transgression.

Admin Tools rock!


Posted on 18 July 2016
Functionality

Absolutely brilliant. Admin tools gives great insight and auto blocking dropped the spam and login attacks to a slow dribble.

Ease of use

Take your time and set up each step properly and it isn't to hard at all. The pro version really is worth the spend.

Support

Support and the admins knowledge of Joomla and security is nothing short of exceptional.

Documentation

if you cant find it in documentation, support has you covered.

Value for money

Helping to secure all my customers sites with one key and you can export settings and the amount of attempts stopped. Priceless.

I used this to: Geo blocking some countries, auto blocking repeat offenders, quick IP search of offenders if concerned on their location. www.inflightworldtravel.com.au www.aboriginalincursions.com.au

Functionality

Functionality so far has been excellent. The generation of the .htaccess file alone was worth the subscription.

Ease of use

The interface was easy to use if you already understand the terminology. Not for those who don't know what a ".htaccess" file is.

Documentation
Value for money

I subscribe to both the admin and backup tools from Akeeba. Definitely must-haves for all Joomla admins.


Functionality

locks you out of your own site the second you configure it. Need to ftp into backend to remove and rename files to get back in.

Ease of use

There is a "quick configure" but it locks you out of your own site literally as soon as you click "save"

Support

Sent a few emails requesting help but emails fail to be delivered

Documentation

possibly

Value for money

there is no value as it doesn't work. I literally can't use it as every single change I make turns me into a hacker and I get locked out

I used this to: I don't and can't use it
Owner's reply: The Quick Setup Wizard readily tells you that the settings may lock you out, gives you instructions to overcome this and asks you to print them out. Here's the actual part of the page: https://www.dropbox.com/s/9lzxlopm4h4is2f/Screenshot%202016-06-06%2022.31.37.png?dl=0

Furthermore, we do not promise at any point that it's a click and forget component. The default settings (without running the wizard) are enough for basic protection but if you want the best protection you need to tailor it. For what it's worth, the problem you have with the Quick Setup Wizard is that you are enabling the .htaccess Maker which creates a security tightening .htaccess file. Your host being very low quality doesn't support the minimum of security settings that come enabled by default. Our documentation does tell you how to deal with it and so could we had you actually requested support.

Speaking of which, we have never offered support by email. As a matter of fact when you subscribed you indicated that you have read, understood and unreservedly agree to our Terms of Service which of course include the support policy of our company. The support policy literally begins with the phrases "We only provide support to our subscribers through our site's Support section. We will not provide support by any other means including, but not limited to, email, regular mail, telephone, Twitter, Facebook, Skype and so on." Proof: https://www.dropbox.com/s/p6dwyz8hka3o4hx/Screenshot%202016-06-06%2022.38.38.png?dl=0 This information was also included in the email you received upon subscribing.

For the record, you have not submitted any support ticket at all. Therefore telling us that we do not offer support comes as a surprise, especially considering that me and my staff type in an average of 60 support posts every single weekday and I personally reply to a dozen support tickets every weekend when my support staff is not working. As for the emails you sent, you hit the one day of the last seven or so years that Google Apps decided to act up and not deliver any of my mail. That also happened to be the one Sunday I had to go to bed early and wake up at 4 am for personal reasons. Of course I fixed the email issue Monday morning –despite being sleep deprived– but yeah, any email you sent to my work email address on Sunday went nowhere thanks to Google acting up. Which sums up perfectly the reasoning behind asking you to NOT email me directly but file a support ticket that cannot get lost and which any one ofmy support staff can pick up on days like this when I cannot be available. Had I received your email I'd have asked you to file a support ticket anyway so we could help you.

Yours truly,
Nicholas K. Dionysopoulos
Director and lead developer
Akeeba Backup

Akeeba Backup

Free | Site Security | Akeeba Ltd
3
Score:
100
1003 reviews
Akeeba Backup Core is the most widely used open-source backup component for the Joomla! CMS. Its mission is simple: create a site backup that can be restored on any Joomla!-capable server, making it ideal not only for backups but also for site transfers or even deploying sites to your clients' servers. Akeeba Backup creates a full backup of your site in a single archive. The archive contains all the files, a database snapshot and an installer similar in function to the standard Joomla! installer. The backup and restore process is AJAX powered to avoid server timeouts, even with huge sites. Alternatively, you can make a backup of only your database, or only your files. Akeeba Backup is the reliable, easy to use, open source backup solution for your Joomla! site. Akeeba Backup has won six J.O.S.C.A.R. awards at J and Beyond. Download it for free to find out why! Joomla! 3.4 and later, PHP 5.4 and later (including PHP 7). We have older versions for Joomla! 1.5 to 3.3 and older PHP versions on our site. Features: The Configuration Wizard configures itself for optimal operation with your site, automatically. The fastest and most reliable native PHP backup engine. One click backup. Integrated restoration for same server restoration. Site transfer wizard. Transfer your site between servers fast and easily. Restore with Akeeba Kickstart (free of charge script): restore extracting the backup directly on the server; no need to upload thousands of files by FTP! Choose between standard ZIP or highly efficient JPA archive format. Exclude specific files, folders. Exclude specific database tables or their contents. Unattended backup mode (CRON job scheduling), fully compatible with Webcron.org Archives can be restored on any host. Useful for transferring your site between subdomains/hosts or even to/from your local testing server (e.g. XAMPP, WAMPServer, MAMP, etc). and much, much more! Note: The Akeeba Backup Core component is free of charge, its support is not. We can't tell you what you need to get support because of JED censorship, but you can find out about it on our site. In any case, Akeeba Backup's documentation, video tutorials, troubleshooting wizard and reading the public tickets is free of charge. *** IF YOU CAN'T FIND HOW TO ENABLE A FEATURE LISTED HERE, PLEASE READ THE (FREE) DOCUMENTATION AND WATCH OUR VIDEO TUTORIALS! ***
c m p
Admin Tools

Admin Tools

Free | Site Security | Akeeba Ltd
3
Score:
99
188 reviews
Admin Tools is a true Swiss Army knife for your site. Our freely available Admin Tools Core will detect, notify you about new Joomla! releases, fix your files' and directories' permissions, protect your administrator directory with a password, change your database prefix, migrate links pointing to your old domain on-the-fly and perform database maintenance, all with a single click. Written and maintained by the same developer as Akeeba Backup and the Joomla! updater component of Joomla! 2.5.4 and later. Note: a commercial edition (Admin Tools Professional) with extra security-oriented features is also available from our site for a fee. This listing is about the free version, Admin Tools Core. Note 2: The software is free of charge, its support is not. You need a subscription to request support. However, its documentation, the troubleshooting wizard and searching the public tickets is free.
c m p

Admin Tools Professional

Version:
4.0.2
Developer:
Akeeba Ltd
Last updated:
Dec 12 2016
Date added:
Nov 18 2014
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Paid download
Related free extension :
Admin Tools
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

DemoNot available Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support

  • Value for money