logo
main-image-2
main-image-3
main-image-4
main-image-5
main-image-6

Introduction

Content Construction

The powerful award-winning content extension for Joomla with more than 3 million downloads (and counting)!

  • Get this
  • Favourite
  • Report


WHAT IS K2?

K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


FEATURES

Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- distinct item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- AJAX based frontend editing & comments moderation
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options
- Flexible sub-templates (for every content output)

K2 fully supports the Joomla API, which means any Joomla plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


AMAZING PERFORMANCE

Pixeden, Groupama, Harvard, High Court of Australia, Amnesty International, Arturia, Vivaldi Web Brower & the Joomla Magazine are just some of the thousands of top Joomla sites around the world, fully powered by K2.


DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE

To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


WHAT NEXT?

Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 Community website: getk2.org


K2


Posted on 26 April 2013

The templates are so perfect. If you are designer or make custom templates you will know what I'm talking about.



Everything has a class and ID, you can have multiple templates, overrides. Get extrafields where you want...



Best extensions!


Must have


Posted on 08 April 2013

K2 will save you a lot of time and work.



If you build complex sites with different views and etc. then this is best tool for you.



Thank you joomlaworks.


K2 is really nothing special on its own.



All it does is that it allows you to add extra fields to its own articles called items (which is something that should exist in joomla on its own, but no, they're more concerned about making a responsive back-end, like someone is gonna run their website from a mobile).



Now, when you couple that with a good filter for k2 and a related items filter, you get something.



But its also missing guest article submission with extra feilds (the one for reg users exists but sucks) that an admin could approve and it would appear in selected category.



All these things are simple and should be in Joomla core but they're not, which keeps joomla from being a great CMS.


The Best CCK


Posted on 05 April 2013

I have been using K2 for years. The is a small learning curve but intelligence usually prevails. Its well structured and easy to manage once you use it extensively. My customers love the ease of use through the front end. A very powerful component that should get the respect it truly deserves! Thanks for the hard work on such a brilliant component.


Love K2


Posted on 27 March 2013

Great Extension. I love it and I cannot wait for updates.



I installed k2 on a domain I was experimenting with. I found it to be very buggy. I even paid a developer to help me with my issues. I then just got fed up and uninstalled everything including joomla. I did a fresh and clean install of both Joomla and K2. That fixed the problems I was having except that I noticed that there were still some issues with SEF extensions. Not anything that worries me too much. I don't absolutely have to have them right now and I'm sure soon there the issue will be resolved...



I must say though I am completely turned off by the owners replies he/she are giving. Free extension or not, hold a professional demeanor. You are doing JoomlaWorks a great disservice. Maybe you should see how other developers respond and aide and take notes.


Good Extension


Posted on 01 March 2013

I have tried this extension,and this is good to use.I feel that it is also easy.

GOOD Extension!


Must have!


Posted on 26 January 2013

K2 is my best buddy when I buld joomla sites.



I can't live without K2 anymore.



Thank you JoomlaWokrs!!!


K2 component is easy to use and easy to set up. It is mighty, you can built many powerful things with it. Thats the good side.



The dissatisfied side is: if you need help from K2 community or developers, you lost. K2 team doesn't care about community. Very very important bugs with thousends affected users, like duplicated urls issue, are not answered from team till year. The answers, which was given, was just "go away"-answers, they gave no real solution. Active users are just spamers for K2 team, which must kept away from posting through filling captchas, even after registering and more then 40 topics. In the forum with more then 13k threads is 1 (one) active moderator, who isn't knowledgable enough, like team members must be.



Yes, K2 is free. You can use it, there are many good extentions for it too. If you good know, how k2 works, you will be happy with it. And you can let it be, if you plan a project, which must earn money and you need developers help.



I use k2 at a commercial project and i'm really scared, what will happens with the project, if my knowledge will be once not enough and i haven't somebody to help.

Owner's reply: First off, the right place to post verified bugs is not on the forum, as they can easily get lost inside any kind of request. The proper way to submit a bug in the K2 Bug Tracker at http://getk2.org/bugtracker - in there you'll see that we address ALL bug reports. If you have a valid bug please post it there.

The K2 Community moderators are doing a great job, far better than many other communities. If they don't reply to some request, that's probably because you didn't search first.

Now as for K2 credibility, I'll never stop repeating that: a) K2 is supported by a company that's been around since 2006, is profitable and going strong year after year and b) K2 is used by the most high profile Joomla! websites being built since 2009.

K2 seems like a nice extension, it looks good in the advertisement and it probably would have worked great, if it worked.



But it has a lot of bugs. I have tried it before, it did not work and was messy. I gave up. This time I decided to try it once more with the new version in Joomla 2.5.8. It does not work and has bugs. You can not post items, you can not change any items from Joomla, because of errors and bugs.



When you ask for support at Joomlaworks, they do not want to help you out. In the forum nobody can help you with this issue either, because nobody is there.



I will probably give up for the second and finale time with K2 if it is so messy. It takes a lot of time and effort to come anywhere with this.



Not good at all!

Owner's reply: Well, this is strange. K2 has a vibrant and active community yet you couldn't find any help. Now let me wonder, was it because you posted questions like "K2 doesn't work" without actually mentioning "what" doesn't work? Trust me on this, if K2 "didn't work", it wouldn't power the most high profile sites in the Joomla! community...

It's a fact that a lot of Joomla! newbies go straight into K2 and thus face issues that are some times related to the "Joomla! way". We can't do much with the current version 2.x which was largely based on the "Joomla! way", but we are going into a whole new direction of user friendliness and ease of use with the upcoming version 3.x. A blog post will soon unveil more in getk2.org.

I have refrained from posting this review up until now, but seeing a year old serious SEO issue not addressed by the developers leaves me with no other choice.



K2 produces for any items, tags multiple, in fact endless duplicated URLs.



For over a year people were desperately trying to get help from the developers, but they simply didn't respond.



You can read everything in this thread: http://getk2.org/community/New-to-K2-Ask-here-first/6472-K2-SEO-issue---Can-it-be-fixed



The developer responded though to a bad review about K2 addressing these SEO issues, but all he had to say is praising K2 for its SEO (although he apparently lacks some SEO knowledge himself because there are tons of things to optimize SEO-wise) and saying that these duplicated URLs are Joomlas fault. Later he said that these duplicated URLs can be resolved by



a) making menu items for each item (meaning hundreds of menu items for each tag)



2) install a third-party SEO component.



So basically he admitted that a K2 vanilla installation is not usable for production sites because of the horrific SEO issues.



Ironically a user later submitted a K2 core hack that apparently resolves those issues, but it has some side effects on other parts of K2.



Other components such as flexicontent prove that those issues can be resolved without installing a 3rd party SEO extension.



Support is horrific, the developer makes false claims and people are loosing traffic due to the mentioned SEO issues.



So unless you are willing to pay for an SEO extension, I strongy discourage anyone from using K2. But even then, hundreds and thousands of duplicated URLs will be stored in the database.



I highly recommend the developer to overthink his attitude and finally address those duplicated URL issues. And please, if you don't have a clue, ask other developers for help.

Owner's reply: What you fail to understand is that K2 simply follows the Joomla! framework guidelines when it comes to URLs. For example, take this URL from a recent Joomla! announcement on joomla.org (it's the core Joomla! article system):

The URL is http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released.html

But one can easily do this too:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released-wow-some-extra-stuff-on-the-URL

Both URLs will render the same page of course. Now, this is not a bad thing SEO wise. SEO - which you fail to understand obviously - is not related in any way to how one or more users can manipulate a site's URLs. This is stupid if you think about it... SEO is about ordering/organizing a site's content so that search engines can pick up that content easily. The easiest the better for a site.

Anyone can read the URL you posted back to the K2 Community, but sorry, I'm not admitting anything.

As for the other claims...
a) "other extensions offer better URLs": if they are native extensions, no they don't
b) "K2 support is bad": define bad support for a free extension first. We're not elitists. If we were, we wouldn't have released K2, better yet, we wouldn't have launched a community.

You might wanna look for some other CMS perhaps. I strongly suggest Google's Blogger cause a) it's built by Google (= "beautiful" SEO for the paranoid ones) and b) it's free like K2.

Give us a break will ya?
Simple Image Gallery

Simple Image Gallery

Free | Galleries | JoomlaWorks
3
Score:
95
252 reviews
Simple Image Gallery (by JoomlaWorks) is truly the simplest and most effective way to add image galleries into your Joomla content and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. WHY SIMPLE IMAGE GALLERY? Adding image galleries inside your Joomla articles, K2 items, Virtuemart/HikaShop products or any other component that supports "content" plugins is dead-simple. The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla website into a grid-style image gallery with lightbox/modal previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery} or {gallery}some/folder/myphotos{/gallery}. So for example, if we have a folder of images called "mytriptoParis" and located in images/mytriptoParis, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}mytripto_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla article. The galleries created are presented in a grid of thumbnails. When your site visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original (source) image in a lightbox/modal popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results. The plugin is ideal for any type of website: from personal ones (where you'd post a photo gallery from your last summer vacation), to e-shops (for product presentation) to large news portals. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside your content. FEATURES So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: - You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images and thus you don't need to tell your visitors "to see photos of XYZ click here". - You can place one or more image galleries anywhere within your content giving you total layout freedom. - The gallery layout is fluid by default which means it'll fit both responsive and adaptive website layouts. - You can set a "root folder" in the plugin's parameters if you have all your gallery folders under a single long path in your Joomla site (e.g. images/content/galleries). This way you won't have to type the full path to each gallery folder inside the {gallery}...{/gallery} plugin tags but just the gallery folder name. The default "root folder" in the plugin's parameters is "images" because that's the default folder for uploading media files in Joomla as well. - You can use MVC overrides to change how the thumbnail grid looks in your site. Simply copy the folder /plugin/jwsig/tmpl/Classic into /templates/YOURTEMPLATE/html/jwsig/ so that you can access its files in /templates/YOURTEMPLATE/html/jw_sig/Classic/. You can then modify both the HTML and CSS code included there to match your template's design and colors. - Uses the core Joomla updater. - Uses Fancybox 3 for the lightbox/modal previews. - Allows printing the image gallery grid (as of v3.6.0) when using the print preview feature available in most Joomla components (including the default article system and K2). COMPATIBILITY & LICENSE Simple Image Gallery is PHP5 and PHP7 compatible (as of v3.5.0) and fully compatible with Joomla versions 1.5 to 3.x. Joomla 1.5 must have the "Mootools Upgrade" system plugin enabled to avoid JavaScript conflicts between Mootools and newer jQuery releases used by the plugin. Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License. DEMO You can see a demo of the plugin here: http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery LEARN MORE Visit the Simple Image Gallery product page at: https://www.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery If you want to contribute to the plugin or report any bugs/issues on GitHub, have a look here: https://github.com/joomlaworks/simple-image-gallery
p
AllVideos

AllVideos

Free | Multimedia Players | JoomlaWorks
3
Score:
92
278 reviews
AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) is truly THE all-in-one media management solution for Joomla and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. You can use the plugin to easily embed media hosted on popular services like YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, Facebook Videos, SoundCloud (and many more) inside your Joomla articles, K2, Virtuemart, Kunena and any other Joomla component that supports "content" plugins. Additionally, it allows you to playback almost any video/audio file format hosted on your server or even a remote server, providing great flexibility when it comes to media content embedding. Fun videos, product presentations, audio podcasts, you name it! WHY ALLVIDEOS? You don't have to copy/paste huge blocks of HTML code, just to get a video from YouTube to playback on your Joomla website! Your WYSIWYG editor loves it and so will you and your clients! You use simple plugin tags like (or just ),
or
. Allows for mobile/tablet compatible media embedding where supported. AllVideos means dead-simple media embedding and/or streaming for anyone. You can use, for example, YouTube to upload your videos and then embed them inside your site without consuming your server's bandwidth or having to spend money on expensive video conversion software! FEATURES Dozens of media providers supported like YouTube (videos & playlists), Vimeo, Dailymotion, Facebook Videos, SoundCloud, MySpace Videos, Flickr Videos, Yahoo Videos, Twitch, Ustream, Funny Or Die, Vine & more. Stream your own media content, using the 20+ web compatible video and audio formats like flv, swf, mov, mp4, wmv, wma, mp3, 3gp, webm, mkv, oga, ogv, ogg, divx and more. Easily embed your media content either directly from your server or a remote server by utilizing the popular Clappr and JW Player (v7) players! Simple controls inside the plugin's parameters page provide layout consistency on all the videos shown in your Joomla website. Set your preferences in seconds, publish the plugin and you're ready to start streaming content! Easy, descriptive syntax for media embedding - {format/provider}filename{/format/provider}. You can also use syntax like {format/provider}filename|width|height|autoplay{/format/provider} (e.g. an "autoplaying" ) to display videos at different dimensions! Uses MVC templating. Just copy the /tmpl folder included in the plugin, move it to your template's /html folder and rename it to "jw_allvideos", then style the output as you wish. Mobile/tablet friendly: if you use MP4 for uploaded videos or if you use services like YouTube, Vimeo & Dailymotion, your videos are mobile ready. Includes 3 templates: Classic, Framed and Responsive Fully responsive players when using the "Responsive" template. Uses the core Joomla updater (since version 4.5.0). Since v4.8.0, you can now use entire video URLs for any sypported video provider, without having to cut video IDs or other "identifier" elements for a video URL. This feature will pave the path for simpler embedding in upcoming updates of AllVideos. COMPATIBILITY AllVideos is PHP5 and PHP7 compatible as of v4.8.0. AllVideos is fully compatible with Joomla versions 1.5, 2.5 & 3.x. LEARN MORE Visit the AllVideos product page at: http://www.joomlaworks.net/allvideos
p
Simple RSS Feed Reader

Simple RSS Feed Reader

Free | Social Display | JoomlaWorks
3
Score:
85
43 reviews
Adding RSS/Atom syndicated content inside your Joomla! website is now super-easy and simple with the 'Simple RSS Feed Reader' module from JoomlaWorks. All you have to do is add a few feeds to the module parameters, publish the module in some position and that's it! You can even publish multiple feeds at the same time (meaning in the same module instance) and have them display combined! The "Simple RSS Feed Reader" module is based on the same feed parsing engine that powers JoomlaReader.com, the most popular Joomla! news aggregator in the Joomla! Community. The feeds are stored inside your Joomla! site's cache folder and refreshed in a specific time interval, which you set in the module's parameters. This feed cache is different to Joomla!'s cache, as you may need to have your site refreshed every 5 minutes, but have the feeds the module retrieves stored longer than 5 minutes. NOTABLE FEATURES one input box for feeds enables you to add unlimited feeds per module instance combine multiple feeds into one output list show or hide the first image inside each feed content extract and resize remote images for more layout control - we use Mobify's world class image resizing service for fast loading times and without stressing your server additional content options include pre-text, post-text and a custom link option at the bottom of the feeds block MVC templating is now standard, module comes pre-packed with 2 generic templates that will fit most sites - they also serve as a great starting point if you want to create your own one input box for feeds enables you to add unlimited sources to your module (previously limited to 20 feeds only per module instance). option to redirect all external feed links through your site's domain (slighly improves your SEO). GETTING STARTED After you install the module, add one or more feed sources in the related box under "Fetch Options" and simply adjust the "Feed Content Options" in the module parameters. Then publish into some module position. STYLING The module installs with 2 generic templates (default and compact), which should be sufficient for most websites. If you want more control, you can simply override both the generated HTML and CSS, using MVC template overrides within your Joomla! template. Or you can create new folders with new module templates inside your template's /html/modjwsrfr/ folder and just select the new ones in the module's parameters. The compact template is inspired by: http://joomlareader.com DEMO Demo for "default" sub-template: http://demo.joomlaworks.net (right column)
m
Disqus Comments

Disqus Comments

Free | Social Comments | JoomlaWorks
3
Score:
69
65 reviews
* NEW version 3.7.0 released on Sept. 21st, 2018 featuring Joomla 3.x improvements & various bugfixes Disqus Comments (for Joomla) integrates the popular Disqus comments system & service into any Joomla! based website. Disqus (pronounced 'discuss') is a service and tool for web comments and discussions - currently the most popular comments-as-a-service provider worldwide. It makes commenting easier and more interactive, while connecting websites and commenters across a thriving discussion community. In short, the most important features of the service are realtime comments, inline media embedding, mobile commenting, social integration with Twitter, Facebook & other services and great moderation & anti-spam tools. You can learn more about all Disqus features at: https://disqus.com/features Signup for a free account at: https://disqus.com WHY CHOOSE DISQUS? HIGHLIGHTS OF THE DISQUS COMMENT SYSTEM Web comments can be difficult for both websites and their readers. We think Disqus is the solution. Disqus makes it easier for people to comment and track their contributions on a single profile which they can display as a comment blog. After all, there is no difference between a great comment and a great published article. Disqus makes managing discussions on one or multiple websites painless. With a powerful and intuitive admin interface, Disqus allows website owners to spend time elsewhere while Disqus takes care of the comments. Key benefits for Websites, Publishers, Bloggers * Threaded comments and comment ratings * Powerful moderation and admin tools * Filter out spam, trolls, and unwanted commenters * Enable your visitors to become a real community * Moderation by email or mobile * More comments and increased engagement * Connected with a large discussion community * Increased exposure and readership Key benefits for Commenters, Readers * Track and manage comments and replies * Verified commenter reputations across sites * More control over your own comments on websites * Never lose your comments, even if the website goes away * Build a global profile, or comment blog, to collect and show off what you're saying * Easier to comment on websites using Disqus * Reply to comments through email or mobile * Edit and republish comments with one click EXTENSION FEATURES Options for comments counter/anchor link for listing and article pages Choose to integrate Disqus comments in specific categories and/or menu items Neutral design for easy integration on any template design. Use CSS for total design control: https://help.disqus.com/installation/disqus-appearance-tweaks Fully MVC skinnable. Just copy the /plugins/content/jw_disqus/tmpl folder (in Joomla! 1.5) or /plugins/content/jw_disqus/jw_disqus/tmpl (in Joomla! 2.5+) inside your Joomla! template's /html folder, rename to /html/jw_disqus and start tweaking the HTML and CSS! Option for testing Disqus comments plugin locally before going live. Enjoy one more fine release from JoomlaWorks!
c p

K2

Version:
2.9.0
Developer:
JoomlaWorks
Last updated:
Sep 21 2018
Date added:
Apr 14 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
Compatibility:
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Demo Support Documentation
  • Overall
  • Functionality

  • Ease of use

  • Documentation

  • Support