Introduction

Content Construction

The powerful award-winning content extension for Joomla with more than 3 million downloads (and counting)!

  • Favourite
  • Report


WHAT IS K2?

K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


FEATURES

Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- distinct item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- AJAX based frontend editing & comments moderation
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options
- Flexible sub-templates (for every content output)

K2 fully supports the Joomla API, which means any Joomla plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


AMAZING PERFORMANCE

Pixeden, Groupama, Harvard, High Court of Australia, Amnesty International, Arturia, Vivaldi Web Brower & the Joomla Magazine are just some of the thousands of top Joomla sites around the world, fully powered by K2.


DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE

To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


WHAT NEXT?

Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 Community website: getk2.org

Excellent



Posted on 29 May 2013
This extension is installed in every single Joomla! Website that I ever delivered, because it's so elastic and complete that it makes it fundamental.
Works perfect. Just download this component and you don't need anything else.

Great!!!!

K2



Posted on 26 April 2013
The templates are so perfect. If you are designer or make custom templates you will know what I'm talking about.



Everything has a class and ID, you can have multiple templates, overrides. Get extrafields where you want...



Best extensions!

Must have



Posted on 08 April 2013
K2 will save you a lot of time and work.



If you build complex sites with different views and etc. then this is best tool for you.



Thank you joomlaworks.
K2 is really nothing special on its own.



All it does is that it allows you to add extra fields to its own articles called items (which is something that should exist in joomla on its own, but no, they're more concerned about making a responsive back-end, like someone is gonna run their website from a mobile).



Now, when you couple that with a good filter for k2 and a related items filter, you get something.



But its also missing guest article submission with extra feilds (the one for reg users exists but sucks) that an admin could approve and it would appear in selected category.



All these things are simple and should be in Joomla core but they're not, which keeps joomla from being a great CMS.

The Best CCK



Posted on 05 April 2013
I have been using K2 for years. The is a small learning curve but intelligence usually prevails. Its well structured and easy to manage once you use it extensively. My customers love the ease of use through the front end. A very powerful component that should get the respect it truly deserves! Thanks for the hard work on such a brilliant component.

Love K2



Posted on 27 March 2013
Great Extension. I love it and I cannot wait for updates.



I installed k2 on a domain I was experimenting with. I found it to be very buggy. I even paid a developer to help me with my issues. I then just got fed up and uninstalled everything including joomla. I did a fresh and clean install of both Joomla and K2. That fixed the problems I was having except that I noticed that there were still some issues with SEF extensions. Not anything that worries me too much. I don't absolutely have to have them right now and I'm sure soon there the issue will be resolved...



I must say though I am completely turned off by the owners replies he/she are giving. Free extension or not, hold a professional demeanor. You are doing JoomlaWorks a great disservice. Maybe you should see how other developers respond and aide and take notes.

Good Extension



Posted on 01 March 2013
I have tried this extension,and this is good to use.I feel that it is also easy.

GOOD Extension!

Must have!



Posted on 26 January 2013
K2 is my best buddy when I buld joomla sites.



I can't live without K2 anymore.



Thank you JoomlaWokrs!!!
K2 component is easy to use and easy to set up. It is mighty, you can built many powerful things with it. Thats the good side.



The dissatisfied side is: if you need help from K2 community or developers, you lost. K2 team doesn't care about community. Very very important bugs with thousends affected users, like duplicated urls issue, are not answered from team till year. The answers, which was given, was just "go away"-answers, they gave no real solution. Active users are just spamers for K2 team, which must kept away from posting through filling captchas, even after registering and more then 40 topics. In the forum with more then 13k threads is 1 (one) active moderator, who isn't knowledgable enough, like team members must be.



Yes, K2 is free. You can use it, there are many good extentions for it too. If you good know, how k2 works, you will be happy with it. And you can let it be, if you plan a project, which must earn money and you need developers help.



I use k2 at a commercial project and i'm really scared, what will happens with the project, if my knowledge will be once not enough and i haven't somebody to help.
Owner's reply: First off, the right place to post verified bugs is not on the forum, as they can easily get lost inside any kind of request. The proper way to submit a bug in the K2 Bug Tracker at http://getk2.org/bugtracker - in there you'll see that we address ALL bug reports. If you have a valid bug please post it there.

The K2 Community moderators are doing a great job, far better than many other communities. If they don't reply to some request, that's probably because you didn't search first.

Now as for K2 credibility, I'll never stop repeating that: a) K2 is supported by a company that's been around since 2006, is profitable and going strong year after year and b) K2 is used by the most high profile Joomla! websites being built since 2009.
K2 seems like a nice extension, it looks good in the advertisement and it probably would have worked great, if it worked.



But it has a lot of bugs. I have tried it before, it did not work and was messy. I gave up. This time I decided to try it once more with the new version in Joomla 2.5.8. It does not work and has bugs. You can not post items, you can not change any items from Joomla, because of errors and bugs.



When you ask for support at Joomlaworks, they do not want to help you out. In the forum nobody can help you with this issue either, because nobody is there.



I will probably give up for the second and finale time with K2 if it is so messy. It takes a lot of time and effort to come anywhere with this.



Not good at all!
Owner's reply: Well, this is strange. K2 has a vibrant and active community yet you couldn't find any help. Now let me wonder, was it because you posted questions like "K2 doesn't work" without actually mentioning "what" doesn't work? Trust me on this, if K2 "didn't work", it wouldn't power the most high profile sites in the Joomla! community...

It's a fact that a lot of Joomla! newbies go straight into K2 and thus face issues that are some times related to the "Joomla! way". We can't do much with the current version 2.x which was largely based on the "Joomla! way", but we are going into a whole new direction of user friendliness and ease of use with the upcoming version 3.x. A blog post will soon unveil more in getk2.org.
I have refrained from posting this review up until now, but seeing a year old serious SEO issue not addressed by the developers leaves me with no other choice.



K2 produces for any items, tags multiple, in fact endless duplicated URLs.



For over a year people were desperately trying to get help from the developers, but they simply didn't respond.



You can read everything in this thread: http://getk2.org/community/New-to-K2-Ask-here-first/6472-K2-SEO-issue---Can-it-be-fixed



The developer responded though to a bad review about K2 addressing these SEO issues, but all he had to say is praising K2 for its SEO (although he apparently lacks some SEO knowledge himself because there are tons of things to optimize SEO-wise) and saying that these duplicated URLs are Joomlas fault. Later he said that these duplicated URLs can be resolved by



a) making menu items for each item (meaning hundreds of menu items for each tag)



2) install a third-party SEO component.



So basically he admitted that a K2 vanilla installation is not usable for production sites because of the horrific SEO issues.



Ironically a user later submitted a K2 core hack that apparently resolves those issues, but it has some side effects on other parts of K2.



Other components such as flexicontent prove that those issues can be resolved without installing a 3rd party SEO extension.



Support is horrific, the developer makes false claims and people are loosing traffic due to the mentioned SEO issues.



So unless you are willing to pay for an SEO extension, I strongy discourage anyone from using K2. But even then, hundreds and thousands of duplicated URLs will be stored in the database.



I highly recommend the developer to overthink his attitude and finally address those duplicated URL issues. And please, if you don't have a clue, ask other developers for help.
Owner's reply: What you fail to understand is that K2 simply follows the Joomla! framework guidelines when it comes to URLs. For example, take this URL from a recent Joomla! announcement on joomla.org (it's the core Joomla! article system):

The URL is http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released.html

But one can easily do this too:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released-wow-some-extra-stuff-on-the-URL

Both URLs will render the same page of course. Now, this is not a bad thing SEO wise. SEO - which you fail to understand obviously - is not related in any way to how one or more users can manipulate a site's URLs. This is stupid if you think about it... SEO is about ordering/organizing a site's content so that search engines can pick up that content easily. The easiest the better for a site.

Anyone can read the URL you posted back to the K2 Community, but sorry, I'm not admitting anything.

As for the other claims...
a) "other extensions offer better URLs": if they are native extensions, no they don't
b) "K2 support is bad": define bad support for a free extension first. We're not elitists. If we were, we wouldn't have released K2, better yet, we wouldn't have launched a community.

You might wanna look for some other CMS perhaps. I strongly suggest Google's Blogger cause a) it's built by Google (= "beautiful" SEO for the paranoid ones) and b) it's free like K2.

Give us a break will ya?
Simple Image Gallery
Free

Simple Image Gallery

By JoomlaWorks
Galleries
Simple Image Gallery (by JoomlaWorks) is truly the simplest and most effective way to add image galleries into your Joomla content and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. WHY SIMPLE IMAGE GALLERY? Adding image galleries inside your Joomla articles, K2 items, Virtuemart/HikaShop products or any other component that supports "content" plugins is dead-simple. The plugin can...
AllVideos
Free

AllVideos

By JoomlaWorks
Multimedia Players
AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) is truly THE all-in-one media management solution for Joomla and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. You can use the plugin to easily embed media hosted on popular services like YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, Facebook Videos, SoundCloud (and many more) inside your Joomla articles, K2, Virtuemart, Kunena and any other Joomla component that supports...
Disqus Comments
Free

Disqus Comments

By JoomlaWorks
Social Comments
* NEW version 3.7.0 released on Sept. 21st, 2018 featuring Joomla 3.x improvements & various bugfixes Disqus Comments (for Joomla) integrates the popular Disqus comments system & service into any Joomla! based website. Disqus (pronounced 'discuss') is a service and tool for web comments and discussions - currently the most popular comments-as-a-service provider worldwide. It makes commenting...
Simple RSS Feed Reader
Free

Simple RSS Feed Reader

By JoomlaWorks
Social Display
Adding RSS/Atom syndicated content inside your Joomla! website is now super-easy and simple with the 'Simple RSS Feed Reader' module from JoomlaWorks. All you have to do is add a few feeds to the module parameters, publish the module in some position and that's it! You can even publish multiple feeds at the same time (meaning in the same module instance) and have them display combined! The "Simpl...

K2

Version:
2.9.0
Developer:
JoomlaWorks
Last updated:
Sep 21 2018
Date added:
Apr 14 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review