Introduction

Content Construction

The powerful award-winning content extension for Joomla with more than 3 million downloads (and counting)!

  • Favourite
  • Report


WHAT IS K2?

K2 provides an out-of-the box integrated solution featuring rich content forms for items (think of Joomla articles with additional fields for article images, videos, image galleries and attachments), nested-level categories, tags, comments, a system to extend the item base form with additional fields (similar to CCK for those acquainted with Drupal), a powerful plugin API to extend item, category and user forms, ACL, frontend editing, sub-templates & a lot more!

Using K2, you can transform your Joomla website to a news/magazine site with author blogs, product catalogs, work portfolio, knowledge base, download/document manager, directory listing, event listing & more, all this bundled under one package!

Give K2 a try & you'll instantly love it! It's easy to use and fun to develop websites with! If you need any help or want to contribute to the project, join us at the K2 community.


FEATURES

Since K2 is extensible with additional fields to its base item form, you can easily create category-specific content types, e.g. article, blog post, product page, directory listing.

K2 offers as standard:
- nested-level categories
- commenting, integrated with Google's reCaptcha & Akismet
- tags
- distinct item image (useful for articles/catalogs)
- image galleries
- videos
- attachments
- user pages (author blogs/user profiles)
- smart ACL for frontend editing
- unique plugin system to extend item, category & user forms
- AJAX based frontend editing & comments moderation
- Rest-like JSON/JSONP content output
- Native advanced SEF options
- Flexible sub-templates (for every content output)

K2 fully supports the Joomla API, which means any Joomla plugins will function properly within the K2 component & modules, either in the frontend or backend.


AMAZING PERFORMANCE

Pixeden, Groupama, Harvard, High Court of Australia, Amnesty International, Arturia, Vivaldi Web Brower & the Joomla Magazine are just some of the thousands of top Joomla sites around the world, fully powered by K2.


DEPENDENCIES & LICENSE

To utilize the built-in video & gallery features you need to install AllVideos (free) & Simple Image Gallery Pro, both provided by JoomlaWorks.

K2 is developed by JoomlaWorks & licensed under the GNU/GPL license.


WHAT NEXT?

Try K2! Install it, hit the "import" button to bring your Joomla articles inside K2, start playing with the component to see the flexibility it provides first-hand. Moreover? You no longer need a dozen of components & even more modules to do things like run a news site or a blog. Drupal & Wordpress have certainly met their match now!

Visit the K2 Community website: getk2.org

K2 seems like a nice extension, it looks good in the advertisement and it probably would have worked great, if it worked.



But it has a lot of bugs. I have tried it before, it did not work and was messy. I gave up. This time I decided to try it once more with the new version in Joomla 2.5.8. It does not work and has bugs. You can not post items, you can not change any items from Joomla, because of errors and bugs.



When you ask for support at Joomlaworks, they do not want to help you out. In the forum nobody can help you with this issue either, because nobody is there.



I will probably give up for the second and finale time with K2 if it is so messy. It takes a lot of time and effort to come anywhere with this.



Not good at all!
Owner's reply: Well, this is strange. K2 has a vibrant and active community yet you couldn't find any help. Now let me wonder, was it because you posted questions like "K2 doesn't work" without actually mentioning "what" doesn't work? Trust me on this, if K2 "didn't work", it wouldn't power the most high profile sites in the Joomla! community...

It's a fact that a lot of Joomla! newbies go straight into K2 and thus face issues that are some times related to the "Joomla! way". We can't do much with the current version 2.x which was largely based on the "Joomla! way", but we are going into a whole new direction of user friendliness and ease of use with the upcoming version 3.x. A blog post will soon unveil more in getk2.org.
I have refrained from posting this review up until now, but seeing a year old serious SEO issue not addressed by the developers leaves me with no other choice.



K2 produces for any items, tags multiple, in fact endless duplicated URLs.



For over a year people were desperately trying to get help from the developers, but they simply didn't respond.



You can read everything in this thread: http://getk2.org/community/New-to-K2-Ask-here-first/6472-K2-SEO-issue---Can-it-be-fixed



The developer responded though to a bad review about K2 addressing these SEO issues, but all he had to say is praising K2 for its SEO (although he apparently lacks some SEO knowledge himself because there are tons of things to optimize SEO-wise) and saying that these duplicated URLs are Joomlas fault. Later he said that these duplicated URLs can be resolved by



a) making menu items for each item (meaning hundreds of menu items for each tag)



2) install a third-party SEO component.



So basically he admitted that a K2 vanilla installation is not usable for production sites because of the horrific SEO issues.



Ironically a user later submitted a K2 core hack that apparently resolves those issues, but it has some side effects on other parts of K2.



Other components such as flexicontent prove that those issues can be resolved without installing a 3rd party SEO extension.



Support is horrific, the developer makes false claims and people are loosing traffic due to the mentioned SEO issues.



So unless you are willing to pay for an SEO extension, I strongy discourage anyone from using K2. But even then, hundreds and thousands of duplicated URLs will be stored in the database.



I highly recommend the developer to overthink his attitude and finally address those duplicated URL issues. And please, if you don't have a clue, ask other developers for help.
Owner's reply: What you fail to understand is that K2 simply follows the Joomla! framework guidelines when it comes to URLs. For example, take this URL from a recent Joomla! announcement on joomla.org (it's the core Joomla! article system):

The URL is http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released.html

But one can easily do this too:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/release-news/5471-joomla-3-0-2-released-wow-some-extra-stuff-on-the-URL

Both URLs will render the same page of course. Now, this is not a bad thing SEO wise. SEO - which you fail to understand obviously - is not related in any way to how one or more users can manipulate a site's URLs. This is stupid if you think about it... SEO is about ordering/organizing a site's content so that search engines can pick up that content easily. The easiest the better for a site.

Anyone can read the URL you posted back to the K2 Community, but sorry, I'm not admitting anything.

As for the other claims...
a) "other extensions offer better URLs": if they are native extensions, no they don't
b) "K2 support is bad": define bad support for a free extension first. We're not elitists. If we were, we wouldn't have released K2, better yet, we wouldn't have launched a community.

You might wanna look for some other CMS perhaps. I strongly suggest Google's Blogger cause a) it's built by Google (= "beautiful" SEO for the paranoid ones) and b) it's free like K2.

Give us a break will ya?

Must have tool!



Posted on 29 November 2012
K2 is life saver tool!



You have well done categories, inherit of parameters, image fields, extra fields, many views, plugin events..



Everything that is missing in joomla articles.



I can't imagine to build new site without the support of K2!

Easy to use



Posted on 08 November 2012
K2 is simple to use, and a great way to extend the functionality of your content. I disagree that it's hard to use if you plan out your content & requirements.



Great job to the DEV guys, thanks for keeping this one free.
It seemed like a fantastic tool, but it is complicated and there is no help on how to manage this. This has taken me a lot of time and I have not managed to make this tool work properly. At the moment I will not use K2, because it take to much time to make this thing work without support.
Owner's reply: K2 has a very active forum monitored both by the dev team and by hundreds of pro/expert volunteers. I find it hard to believe you couldn't find help...

Makes life much easier



Posted on 14 October 2012
Great component, a must for Joomla instalations where you will have categories and articles. It's so versatile and keeps everything neat and tidy. Thanks!
I'll repeat the title. I will give my first born to the creators of K2. Never in my entire life with Joomla have I encounter a better coded component. It is so unbelievably well structured and named that I almost cried when I first saw it. It's so well created, that I was able to customise the layout in ways I didn't know how... K2 improved my coding. You might think this is an over exaggeration, but if you had the amount of experience with extensions that lack even basic structural coding... well... you would be in tears before you even knew what hit you.

The BEST CCK of joomla



Posted on 19 September 2012
I worked with K2 since 1 year and a half. And I can honestly say, the experience has been excellent.



The user experience was easy and confortable. The firt days, I spend a couple of hours understanding the K2 panel. But it was so easy to work with, that I never asked the documentation. Also, the new demo page is very useful.



The support was (is) very good, whereas it is "free". Nowdays, the supports is much better than the past. You can go to the forum and check it yourself.



But, the BEST part is the features of the Content Consruction itself. The level of development and editing, to the way the articles are presented, is TOO FLEXIBLE. With only a few of html (most) and php knowledge, can create articles with custom extra fields, custom data, videos, images, and rich format content, like schema.org. The overriding of templates and modules, is REALLY SIMPLE and you can create unique styles.



The only CONS that I found is some things related of SEO, I mean there are a few of duplicates by page, and this is worse when using tags. But I bought the SH404SEF component, and this resolve my problems. Others things that lacks is an advance search (like live ajax finder), that include extrafields (but I think that there are some extensions that achieve this).



But I can't complain of K2... it's ismply THE BEST CCK out there... admit it
I think everything has been said about K2's value. let's face it. Joomla with K2 beats wordpress and drupal. joomla without K2 simply lags behind.

When J!1.6 was announced, I though that many of K2's briliant workflow and usability features might had been incorporated (or even K2 itself replacing com_content). It didn't happen. When J!3 alpha was lauched, I hoped more of it was incorporated in the core. Not again.

K2 has been, by far, the best "off-the-shelf" com_content joomla has had in years - seblod is too complicated and Zoo is not integrated with many other extensions, standard com_content is really a usability challenge for customers both in the front and in the backend and the other CCK's are in between these.

K2 really adds value to Joomla and I simply feel it's getting further away from joomla in J's most recent releases: more and more extensions rely mostly on com_content (for example, multilanguage, native translation or light cck's) and if one has such needs for customers, well, then it's "plain vanilla Joomla com_content" or wordpress (which, by the way, customers love).

So I think this has been mostly a missed opportunity: a briliant content creation component that should have become part of J! core or at least most it's solutions incorporated. And joomla (apparently) becoming more and more like Drupal in terms of complexity and less "end-customer" friendly.

Ιrreplaceable



Posted on 29 August 2012
I am a huge fun since the day that i found K2.

I think that without K2 Joomla! would be very poor.



BTW i dont understand the bad critics that i read... strange people! Theres nothing, and i mean NOTHING wrong with K2. It came to make our life easier.
Simple Image Gallery Simple Image Gallery
Free

Simple Image Gallery

By JoomlaWorks
Galleries
Simple Image Gallery (by JoomlaWorks) is truly the simplest and most effective way to add image galleries into your Joomla content and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. WHY SIMPLE IMAGE GALLERY? Adding image galleries inside your Joomla articles, K2 items, Virtuemart/HikaShop products or any other component that supports "content" plugins is dead-simple. The plugin can...
AllVideos AllVideos
Free

AllVideos

By JoomlaWorks
Multimedia Players
AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) is truly THE all-in-one media management solution for Joomla and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla based website. You can use the plugin to easily embed media hosted on popular services like YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, Facebook Videos, SoundCloud (and many more) inside your Joomla articles, K2, Virtuemart, Kunena and any other Joomla component that supports...
Disqus Comments Disqus Comments
Free

Disqus Comments

By JoomlaWorks
Social Comments
* NEW version 3.7.0 released on Sept. 21st, 2018 featuring Joomla 3.x improvements & various bugfixes Disqus Comments (for Joomla) integrates the popular Disqus comments system & service into any Joomla! based website. Disqus (pronounced 'discuss') is a service and tool for web comments and discussions - currently the most popular comments-as-a-service provider worldwide. It makes commenting...
Simple RSS Feed Reader Simple RSS Feed Reader
Free

Simple RSS Feed Reader

By JoomlaWorks
Social Display
Adding RSS/Atom syndicated content inside your Joomla! website is now super-easy and simple with the 'Simple RSS Feed Reader' module from JoomlaWorks. All you have to do is add a few feeds to the module parameters, publish the module in some position and that's it! You can even publish multiple feeds at the same time (meaning in the same module instance) and have them display combined! The "Simpl...

K2

Version:
2.9.0
Developer:
JoomlaWorks
Last updated:
Sep 21 2018
Date added:
Apr 14 2009
License:
GPLv2 or later
Type:
Free download
Includes:
c m p
Compatibility:
3
Download

Uses Joomla! Update System

Score:


Write a review